Food Science and Nutrition Collections A to Z
The collections A-Z provides summary details of named print and archive collections. Names in the index are inclusive of people, organisations and subjects, arranged by first or most commonly known name.
Special Collections holds many individual and smaller groupings of manuscripts. These are represented in the A-Z within artificial collections, based on types of material for example deeds, scrapbooks.
Entries in the index link to full catalogue records with digitised images where these exist. The A-Z continues to grow as new collection descriptions are created. Researchers are advised to explore other search options or contact us if items do not appear here.
Restrict the list of collections to a particular subject area:
Miscellaneous books published in England in the second decade of the 18th century. Includes subjects on Great British history, kings and rulers, politics and government, church and state and foreign relations. Also religion, sermons, literature and poetry.
Alphonse James Albert Symons, the author, bibliophile, and gastronome, was born on 16 August 1900 in Battersea, London, of Jewish parentage, and died in Colchester, Essex, on 26 August 1941. For fuller details of his life and achievements see the Dictionary of National Biography.
Sir Alan Patrick Herbert (1890-1971), the English author, wit, and MP for Oxford University. For fuller details of his life and achievements see the Dictionary of National Biography.
Adolph Jacobs (successors) Limited, of Manor Row, Bradford, were wool and noil merchants
Adrian Christopher Hastings (1929-2001) was a theologian, church historian, and priest. Born on 29 June 1929 in Kuala Lumpur, where his father practised law, he was brought up in Great Malvern, Worcestershire as a Roman Catholic and educated at Douai Abbey, from where, in 1946, he went up to Worcester College, Oxford. There he read history, but felt a growing call to go to Africa as a missionary. He was trained for the priesthood in Rome, where he was ordained in 1955, before going to Africa to work for the church in Uganda, Tanzania and Zambia. In 1972 he returned to Britain to take academic posts in Selly Oak College, Birmingham, then (1973-1976) the School of Oriental and African Studies, London, and later (1976-1982) Aberdeen University. Between 1982 and 1985 he was professor of religious studies at the University of Zimbabwe, before taking up the professorship of theology at the University of Leeds, which he held until his retirement in 1994. His best-known writings include 'The Church in Africa 1450-1950' and 'A History of English Christianity 1920-1985', and he edited 'The Oxford Companion to Christian Thought' and the respected 'Journal of Religion in Africa'. Throughout his life he was a forthright commentator on the contemporary church and its leaders and also involved himself with political causes both in Africa, such as the Wiriyamu massacre in Mozambique, and in Europe, most recently Bosnia and Kosovo. Rejecting the church dogma of compulsory celibacy for the priesthood, he married Ann Spence in 1979. He died on 30 May 2001.
Martin Banham, formerly Professor of Theatre and Drama Studies at the University of Leeds, taught at University College, Ibadan, Nigeria from 1956 to 1966. Maintaining an interest in the theatre and performance culture of Africa, he has published works including 'African Theatre Today' (London, 1976), 'The Cambridge Guide to African and Caribbean Theatre' (Cambridge 1994, 2004), and 'A History of Theatre in Africa' (Cambridge, 2005).
Airedale Mill Company Limited of Rodley, Leeds were commission scribblers, spinners and finishers, incorporated on 24 July 1860
Sir Alan Ayckbourn, the playwright, was born in 1939 in London. He has written over 60 plays and has worked since 1971 as the Artistic Director of the Stephen Joseph Theatre, Scarborough, which was named after his chief mentor. He has been the Cameron Mackintosh Professor of Contemporary Theatre at Oxford University, is a fellow of the RSA, and holds many honorary university degrees and fellowships. He was knighted in 1997 for his services to theatre.
Alan Bennett, draft of the introduction written for the dramatisation of 'The Wind in the Willows' at the National Theatre in 1991.
Alan Bennett, the actor and writer, was born in Leeds in 1934 and educated at Leeds Modern School and Exeter College, Oxford. He made his stage debut at the Edinburgh Festival in 1959, and in 1960 wrote and appeared in the acclaimed comedy revue 'Beyond the Fringe'. Since 1968 he has worked as a writer, actor, director, and broadcaster for the stage, television, radio, and films, for which he has won many awards.
Albert Edward Leak spent his life working in the textile industry, principally in rope manufacture and associated fields. He lived in Leeds, but spent some time working in Lille. His daughter, Dorothy Mary Leak became a sub-librarian at the Brotherton Library in the University of Leeds
Albert Edward Tebb (ca. 1864-1943) was a London physician who attended the Conrad, Hueffer, and Rothenstein families, and other families with connections with the literary, musical and artistic worlds
Alberta Vickridge (1890-1963), the Bradford poet and editor, was educated at Bradford Grammar School for Girls and had nine books of poetry published in her lifetime, the first when she was just fourteen years old. In 1924 she was awarded the bardic chair at the Southern Counties Eistedfodd for her poem, 'The Forsaken Princess', the only Yorkshire woman writer ever to be so crowned. She single-handedly mastered the craft of printing and worked from an attic in her home at Beamsley House, Frizinghall, for over thirty years editing and printing a range of limited editions, including the literary journal, 'The Jongleur', which gained a reputation nationally for the excellence of its poetry and printing quality, and also the journal, 'The Wayfarer', in which she used the editorial pseudonym 'J.E. Beamsley'.
Aldred Farrar Barker (1868-1964) was Professor of Textile Industries at the University of Leeds from 1914 to 1933
Alec Baron, archive compiled by Baron relating to theatrical life in Leeds from the late 1920s to the 1950s, principally Leeds Unity Theatre, supplemented by material relating to Leeds Film Theatre and world cinema.
Alec Baron was a prominent figure in amateur and professional theatre and film in Leeds from the 1930s to 1980s. He was born on 29 November 1913, and as a schoolboy he developed a keen interest in cinema and theatre. He was one of the founders of the Leeds Film Group, the first film society in England outside London. He later formed the Leeds Film Institute Society (later Leeds Film Society) with a group of film enthusiasts, and acted as the secretary of the Society during many seasons. After leaving school, Baron started his own theatre company called the Astra. He also directed the annual University Students Rag Show at many occasions. In the late thirties Baron discovered left movement drama in Leeds, and enthusiastically started to write political revue. Consequently, with a group of people he formed a Unity Theatre in Leeds, on the model of the one already in London. The Unity Theatre created and performed plays dealing with the political situation of the time with a clear anti-fascist message. When Baron was called up to the army, Kate Plenty took over from him as the director. Baron and Plenty wrote a successful full-length play, "Comrade enemy", which ran for thirteen weeks at Unity in 1942. In the same year the Unity Theatre was transferred to the Civic Theatre. As of Jewish background Baron also had an interest in Jewish theatre and directed plays with Jewish themes. Baron was also the first administrator of the Leeds Playhouse, which he left in 1972 to pursue writing. He died on 27 October 1991.
Alfred Tennyson, 1st Baron Tennyson (1809-1892) was poet laureate in succession to Wordsworth from 1850. For a full account of his life and work see the Dictionary of National Biography.
Alfred Orage was born at Dacre, near Bradford in 1873, but following the death of his father, the family moved to Fenstanton in Huntingdonshire. He became a pupil teacher at the village school and then attended a teachers' training college at Culham, Oxfordshire. In 1893 he became an elementary school teacher in Leeds and began to develop wider interests, particularly in literature and socialism, co-founding the Leeds Art Club in 1900. He moved to London in 1906 as a freelance journalist and bought (with the financial backing of George Bernard Shaw and others) a weekly review, the 'New Age', which he edited until 1922. In 1923 Orage began to work on behalf of George Gurdjieff and subsequently went to America, where in 1927 he married for a second time, Jessie Richards Dwight, daughter of a dealer in building supplies, from Albany. He returned to England in 1930 and in 1932 founded the 'New English Weekly', which he edited until his death in 1934.
Alfred Yockney (1878-1963) was primarily associated with West End picture galleries. He was editor of 'Art Journal' and a director of the Exhibitions Bureau, a precursor to the Arts Council.
Algernon Charles Swinburne (1837-1909), the poet, playwright, novelist, and essayist. For fuller details of his life and achievements see the Dictionary of National Biography.
Successive members of the Alibert family lived in Conques-sur-Orbeil, a small town 8 kilometres north of Carcassone, Aude, south-west France, for several centuries between the 1680s and 1915. Michel Alibert, son of Olivier Alibert, was born in 1667 in Villepinte, but was living in Conques by the 1680s. He married his second cousin, Marie Laurens, in 1692, and, after her death, Marie Estaville in 1714. He made his will in 1724. He was guardian to a certain Etienne Alibert. Michel Alibert's son by his first marriage, Olivier, became a merchant in Carcassonne. In the middle of the nineteenth century another member of the family, Jean-Antoine Marie Olivier Alibert, was a prominent local businessman and public figure. For many years the family owned a mill in Conques called the Mill of the Tournal.
Books and journals, originating principally from the 17th century, covering many different aspects of science. Subjects include astronomy, botany, geometry, mathematics, medicine, chemistry and physiology. Also includes early works on types of medical therapy, such as hydrotherapy and wine therapy, and works on poisons, anatomy, and communication for the deaf.
Works from the late 16th century to the late 20th century, covering religious subjects, old and new testament Bible commentaries and criticisms, theology, Jesus Christ, apologetics and Judaism. Also includes some Socinian literature.
Works published from 1613 to the present day, with well over two-thirds of the collection dating from the 19th and 20th centuries. Subjects include antiquities, tombs, vases, architecture, art, excavations, mural painting and decoration, mythology, sculpture, social life and customs of Greece and Rome, and temples.
Angela Margaret Thirkell (née Mackail), the novelist, was born on 30 January 1890 in Kensington, London, and died on 29 January 1961. For fuller details of her life and achievements see the Dictionary of National Biography.
Privatisation of water supplies was originally proposed in 1984, but because of public opposition to the plans, implementation was delayed until 1988 when the Water Act was passed.
Works printed before 1830 (with a few later exceptions) which illustrate the influence of Great Britain on France. All the works are translations into French from English or, occasionally, from British authors writing in Latin on subjects of literature, criticism, political science, philosophy and economics. The collection also includes accounts of Scotland, Anne Boleyn, Mary Queen of Scots and the execution of Charles I. Amongst the authors are Locke, Swift, Defoe, Pope, Milton, Fielding and Shakespeare. There are also translations of medical, scientific and travel works.
Books in German and English published from 1654 to 1971, although the bulk of the collection dates from the 18th and 19th centuries. It consists mainly of translations into German of works in English on literature, philosophy and travel in Great Britain, and illustrates the influence of Great Britain on Germany. Authors particularly strongly represented in the collection include William Shakespeare, Henry Fielding, William Hogarth, Alexander Pope, Samuel Richardson, Jonathan Swift, Edward Young, James Macpherson, Walter Scott and Charles Dickens.
Anthony Rowland (b.1970) is Professor of Literary Studies in English at the University of Salford. He studied at Leeds, received a Gregory award in 2000 and completed his PhD on the poetry of Tony Harrison (published in 2001).
Small collection of books. Dates of publication range from 1851 to 1926 covering subjects of American Indians, ethnology, mythology and Maoris
The Department of Arabic and Middle Eastern Studies has deposited its collection of Arabic, Persian, and other Oriental manuscripts in Special Collections. There are over 370 Arabic manuscripts covering language, literature, history, law and religion.
Works span the years 1755 to 1977, although the majority were published in the 19th and 20th centuries. Subjects include monuments, Stonehenge, palaeontology and antiquities. The collection also contains issues of the journal of the Society of Antiquaries of London from 1770 onwards.
Books published between 1611 and the last decade. British architecture is the subject of the majority of the books, but French and Italian architecture are also covered; some 100 of the books are in Italian, French or German. The collection contains an early (1767-1777) Vitruvius Britannicus by Colin Campbell, and the 10-volume Dictionnaire raisonné de l'architecture française, by E E Viollet-le-Duc.
(Enoch) Arnold Bennett (1867-1931), the novelist, playwright, and man of letters. For a fuller account of his life and achievements see the Dictionary of National Biography.
Arnold Smith was a Canadian diplomat, who served as High Commissioner to Britain from 1956 to 1958, and as Ambassador to the Soviet Union from 1961 to 1963. He was appointed the first Secretary General of the Commonwealth in 1965 and held the post until 1975.
Thomas Arnold (1795-1842), who became headmaster of Rugby in December 1827, married Mary Penrose (1791-1873) in 1820. They had eleven children, of whom nine survived. Matthew Arnold, the poet and critic was the eldest son.
Arnold Wesker, autograph typescript and manuscript drafts of contribution to a composite play entitled 'Consequences', with related correspondence between him and Simon Reade.
Arnold Wesker, Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature, the playwright and director, a past President of the International Playwrights' Committee, was born on 24 May 1932 in Stepney, London, to Jewish parents. For fuller details of his life and achievements see 'Who's who'.
Includes books published between 1608 and 1998, although most of the works date from the 19th and 20th centuries. It includes biographies and works of criticism and interpretation of individual artists and artistic schools and movements, as well as museum and gallery collection and exhibition catalogues. Some of the other main subjects covered are sculpture, art history, painters and painting in Great Britain, France and Italy, modern art, renaissance art, embroidery and needlework, furniture and manuscript illumination.
Miscellaneous collection relating to art, chiefly published in the 19th and early 20th centuries, with a few of earlier date. Amongst the more notable groups of works are books illustrated by Thomas Rowlandson, by George Cruikshank (including two volumes with original drawings and other material inserted) and by Thomas Bewick.
Arthur George Green, 1895-1951, was Professor of Applied Chemistry (Dyeing) in the University of Leeds from 1904 to 1916
Arthur Joseph Brown was born on 8 August 1914 in Cheshire, but educated at Bradford Grammar School and, as Hastings Scholar, at Queen's College Oxford, where he graduated in 1936 with first class honours in PPE. In 1937 he became a Fellow of All Souls and also a Lecturer at Hertford College until 1939, when he took his D.Phil. He spent the Second World War in Government service, first in the Foreign Research and Press Service and then in the Research Department of the Foreign Office. Between 1945 and 1947 he was in the Economic Section of the Cabinet Office working on the implications of German re-armament and on the creation of the Government Statistical Service. In 1947 he was appointed to the Professorship of Economics at Leeds University, a post he held until his retirement in 1979. Between 1975 and 1977 he was Pro-Vice-Chancellor, and, after retirement, an honorary lecturer until 1988. Throughout his time at Leeds he continued with part-time Government service. He was involved with the de-colonization of Africa in the early 1960's as a member of the East Africa Economic and Fiscal Commission, and later as a member of the Secretary of State's Advisory Group on Central Africa. His extensive experience of the economics of wartime led to him being a UK appointee to the UN Consultative group on the Economic and Social Consequences of Disarmament in 1961-1962. He was a member of the Hunt Committee on Intermediate Areas in 1967-1969 and of the University Grants Committee between 1969 and 1978. He was President of Section F of the British Association for the Advancement of Science in 1958, was elected a Fellow of the British Academy in 1972, and was awarded a CBE in 1974 and honorary doctorates by four universities. He was on the Council of the Royal Economic Society 1950-1968 and 1974, and was its President 1976-1978. He also served the second Wilson government between 1966 and 1970. As an applied economist he did significant work in international trade theory, monetary theory, inflation, and regional economics. He wrote seven books and numerous journal articles, in addition to over 50 articles on the economics of warfare during his time in government service. His 1948 book 'Applied economics, aspects of the World economy in war and peace' was a standard text for many years. His other major work was 'The Great Inflation', 1956. He died on 28 February 2003.
Arthur Ransome (1884-1967), the journalist and writer. For fuller details of his life and achievements see the Oxford Dictionary of National Biography.
Arthur Ravenscroft resigned from the University of Stellenbosch in 1957 and then spent five years at University College, Rhodesia, before joining the School of English at the University of Leeds in 1963. He was a specialist in Commonwealth literature and was the first editor of the 'Journal of Commonwealth literature' from 1964 until 1976.
Arthur Smithells (1860-1939) was born at Bury in Lancashire. He graduated in chemistry at Owen's College, Manchester, in 1881 (B.Sc., London), and continued his training in Heidelberg, under R.B. von Bunsen, and in Munich. He returned to Manchester as an assistant lecturer in 1883 but in 1885 was appointed professor of chemistry at the Yorkshire College in Leeds. Here he not only pursued his research into the structure of flames, which was his main contribution to pure science, but also played a full part in the broader development of the College and of the University of Leeds which it became in 1904. He was elected FRS in 1901 and was vice-president of the Royal Society in 1916. In 1913-14 he was a special visiting lecturer in chemistry at the Punjab University, Lahore. In the First World War he offered his services as an instructor in scientific matters to the Northern Command and soon became (1916-19) chief chemical adviser on anti-gas training for the Home Forces, with an office in the Horse Guards in London. He was granted the honorary rank of lieutenant-colonel, and was appointed C.M.G. in 1918 in recognition of his services. He resigned his chair at Leeds in 1923 to become the director of the Salters' Institute of Industrial Chemistry in London, and subsequently he was president of the Institute of Chemistry from 1927 to 1930. He devoted much time in his later years to encouraging the training of chemists and to arousing public concern at the dangers of chemical warfare and the need to make preparations against it.
Arthur Stanley Turberville (1888-1945) was Professor of Modern History at the University of Leeds, 1929-1945.
Dr A.T. (Jimmy) Austin was a graduate of the University of Melbourne. He was appointed as a lecturer in the Department of Chemistry at the University of Leeds in 1950. He died in 1984.
The Association for Science Education evolved through amalgamations of various voluntary bodies with an interest in science education, including the Association of Public School Science Masters, later known as the Science Masters' Association, and the Association of Women Science Teachers.
The Association for the Reform of Latin Teaching was formed in 1912.
Association of Directors and Secretaries for Education, the Association of Education Officers, and the National Association of Education Officers (papers)
The Association of Directors and Secretaries for Education was formed after the Education Act 1902 had created elected local education authorities in England and Wales. It addressed issues of recruitment, qualification, experience and professionalism for local education officers and administrators. In 1946 it was reorganised as the Association of Education Officers and, in 1970, it merged with the Association of Chief Education Officers to form the Society of Education Officers. The National Association of Education Officers, formed in 1908, also represented local authority education officers, and later met jointly with ADSE.
The AEC was the chief organisation for education authorities from the time of the 1944 Education Act until its dissolution in 1977. The Executive committee comprised Chief Education Officers and the chairmen of local authority Education Committees. Sir William (later Lord) Alexander served as General Secretary to the Committee for more than 30 years
The Leeds Association of Engineers (formerly known as the Leeds Association of Foremen Engineers and Draughtsmen) was established in 1865 to bring together those involved in engineering to discuss matters relating to the industry; for the circulation of information on technical and scientific subjects; and to provide assistance to members in need. An annual programme of lectures, works visits and social functions was also arranged.
The Association of Heads of Secondary Technical Schools was formed in 1951. It adopted a new constitution and name in 1964 to become the Association for Technical Education in Schools.
The Association of Teachers in Colleges and Departments of Education was established in 1943, following the amalgamation of the Training College Association and the Council of Principals. In 1976 it merged with the Association of Teachers in Technical Institutions to form the National Association of Teachers in Further and Higher Education.
The Association of Tutors in Adult Education, which began in the early 1920s as the Tutors' Association, had links with the Co-operative Movement and the Workers' Educational Association. The World Association for Adult Education was founded in London in 1919, with the stated purpose 'to dispel the melancholy belief that grown men and women have nothing left to learn'. Its first chairman was Albert Mansbridge and the provisional committee included Margaret McMillan.
A meeting of manufacturers connected with the woollen and worsted trade was held in the Council Room of the Chamber of Commerce, Royal Exchange, Leeds, on 10 January 1899. There it was unanimously resolved that "in view of the number of questions arising from time to time affecting the interests of manufacturers connected with the woollen and worsted trade of the City of Leeds and District...it is desirable to form an association exclusively representative of such manufacturers."
Aubrey Vincent Beardsley (1872-1898), the artist. For fuller details of his life and achievements see the Dictionary of National Biography.
The Authors' World Peace Appeal was set up in 1951 as a response to Cold War political tension by a group of British writers, including A.E. Coppard, Alex Comfort, Compton Mackenzie, Naomi Mitchison and Enid Starkie. Some, such as Alex Comfort, left the movement after a comparatively short time, because of the suspected influence of Communist sympathisers.
Aylmer Maude was educated at Christ's Hospital, London, from 1868 to 1874, and then at the Lyceum in Moscow, 1874 to 1876. From 1877 to 1880 he worked as a tutor in Moscow, before becoming business manager of the Russian Carpet Company and subsequently its director in 1880 - a post he held until his return to England in 1897. He went back to Russia, 1918-1919, as a lecturer for the Universities' Committee of the YMCA. He published many translations of, and works about, Tolstoy.
The Baines family played a prominent part in local affairs in Leeds in the late 18th and 19th centuries, and at one time were the owners of the 'Leeds Mercury'.
Barbara Sabey led the safety work at the Transport and Road Research Laboratory (TRRL), subsequently TRL. She had a large variety of interests and passions, but two areas for which she was particularly renowned were research on road friction and in-depth accident studies (she was responsible for two pioneer investigations). She was also very influential in establishing the first set of UK targets on casualty reduction. Her work and that of her colleagues at TRRL continues to be cited.
Barbara Taylor Bradford, the novelist, was born in Upper Armley, Leeds, Yorkshire, on 10 May 1933, the only child of Winston and Freda Taylor. At 16 she became a reporter for the Yorkshire Evening Post, and by the age of 20 was both an editor and a columnist on London's Fleet Street. After her marriage to American film producer Robert Bradford in 1963, she moved to the USA, where she continued her journalistic career with great success and also wrote children's books and eight books on interior design. Her career as a writer of fiction, however, really began in 1979, when she had her first novel, 'A Woman of Substance', published and it became an enduring bestseller. Since then she has written many other successful novels, of which some have been made into television mini-series, and many have been translated into other languages. Her achievements have been recognised by several universities, including the University of Leeds, which honoured her with an Honorary Doctorate of Letters in 1990, and she has also received many other cultural awards. Now an American citizen, she lives in New York.
Originally the working library of Paul Barbier, Professor of French at the University of Leeds, 1903-1938. It consists of lexicographical works, mostly in French, although other European languages such as German, Italian and Spanish are also represented. The oldest book in the collection was published in 1603, but the bulk of the works date from the 18th, 19th and 20th centuries. Subjects include French language and dialects, foreign words and phrases, slang, proverbs, Spanish, German and Italian language and dialects, English language and provincialisms, Walloon dialect, dictionaries, glossaries, and vocabularies, etymology and grammar.
Frederick William Rolfe (1860-1913), the English novelist and eccentric, who was better known by his assumed name 'Baron Corvo'. For fuller details of his life and achievements see the Dictionary of National Biography.
Barry Eric Odell Pain (1864-1928) was an English journalist and humorous author who also wrote popular fiction and contributed to the 'London Magazine' and the 'Strand Magazine'.
Barry Tebb (b.1942) is a poet and publisher from Leeds. He founded Sixties Press in 1993. He edited The Sixties Press Anthology of Gregory Fellows Poetry.
Sir Ben Turner (1863-1942) was an English trade unionist and Labour Party Member of Parliament for Batley and Morley. He was a founder member of the INdependent Labour Party in 1893.
J. Sheridan Le Fanu (1814-1873), the author. In 1844 he married Susan Bennett, the younger daughter of George Bennett, Q.C., a successful Dublin barrister. His writing was deeply affected by her early death in 1858. For fuller details of his life and achievements see the Dictionary of National Biography. Other details of this particular branch of the Bennett family are not available in reference sources.
Bernard Barton was born in Carlisle in 1784 and attended a Quaker school in Ipswich, before being apprenticed to a shopkeeper at Halstead in Essex in 1798. In 1806 he moved to Woodbridge in Suffolk and went into business with his brother. Apart from a short time spent in Liverpool following the death of his wife, Barton remained in Woodbridge until his death in 1849. He was a minor poet, the friend of Lamb and Southey, and author of ten volumes of verse and also of a number of hymns.
Founded in 1998, publishing wide-ranging interviews with poets. Between the Lines is an imprint of The Waywiser Press.
Books on bibliography. Dates of publication range from 1669 to 1997, with the majority of works dating from the late 19th and early 20th centuries. Contains works on such subjects as libraries, Roxburghe Club, manuscript catalogues, rare books, book collecting, incunabula bibliography, English literature bibliography, manuscript illumination, penguin books, palaeography, type and typefounding, the paper industry, and classification systems.
The subject matter is not confined to Great Britain but also covers the bibliography of other European countries to some extent, especially France and Germany. The collection contains major reference works, including bibliographies of European printed books (especially of the 15th and 16th centuries), catalogues of national, university and other libraries in Great Britain and Europe, bibliographies of individual authors, and many works relating to the history of the book.
The books in this small collection were originally in the Library's lending collections, and consist mainly of publications in the series by the Ray Society for the Publication of Works on Natural History. They span the 19th and early 20th centuries. These volumes complement other, later volumes in the series which are to be found in the Library's lending collections.
Originally formed by Maurice Birkbeck (1734-1816), and was deposited by the Yorkshire General Meeting in 1981. It consists of over 4,500 books both by and about the Quakers, most of the materials dating from around 1650 to the mid-18th century. Subjects include Society of Friends history, apologetic works, doctrinal and controversial works, and Quakers biography. The Birkbeck Library is one of two important collections assembled by Yorkshire Quakers and housed by the Brotherton Library, the other being the Leeds Friends' Old Library.
Blake Morrison, autograph manuscript and revised typescript drafts of the poem 'Whinny Moor' with a related letter to Michael Holroyd.
(Philip) Blake Morrison, the poet, critic, journalist, writer of non-fiction, and novelist, Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature, was born on 8 October 1950 near Skipton, Yorkshire, and educated at Nottingham University and University College, London. Since then he has worked as a literary editor in London for several different newspapers. For fuller details of his life and achievements see Who's who.
The son of Bonamy Dobrée and Violet Chase, Bonamy (the younger) was born in 1891 and educated at Haileybury and the R.M.A., Woolwich. Commissioned in the Royal Artillery in 1910, he served in France and Palestine, and in the Second World War attained to the rank of Lt.Col. He graduated in 1921 from Christ's College, Cambridge, then lived mainly in France until 1925, when he was appointed a lecturer in English at Queen Mary College, London. There he was active in journalism and as theatre critic for the 'Nation & Athenaeum'. Between 1926 and 1936 he was Professor of English at Cairo before coming to his professorship at Leeds. After retirement in 1955 he became Gresham Professor of Rhetoric in London. He died in 1974. Dobrée is particularly remembered for his work on Restoration dramatists, eighteenth-century English literature, and Kipling. He was also a member of the Central Advisory Council for Education (England) and of the editorial board of 'Universities Quarterly'. Valentine Dobrée (née Valentine Gladys May Pechell in 1894) married Bonamy Dobrée in 1913. She became an artist, poet, and novelist in her own right, with such works as 'Your cuckoo sings by kind', 'The emperor's tigers', 'To blush unseen', and 'This green tide' to her name, and died in the same year as her husband. Their daughter Georgina was born in 1930.
Botanical works dating from the late 18th century to the middle of the 20th century. Although the emphasis is on works which deal with British botany, French and German botany are also covered in the collection. Cultivated plants, algae and ferns are covered and there are works on other types of plants, such as the rose, and parasitic plants.
Bram (Abraham) Stoker (1847-1912), the novelist and manager of the Lyceum Theatre, London. For fuller details of his life and achievements see the Dictionary of National Biography.
The British Association for the Advancement of Science sets out to present to the public the latest discoveries made by scientists and to debate the impact these innovations will make on people's lives. It was founded about 160 years ago.
William Denison Roebuck (1851-1919) was a distinguished amateur naturalist, who was a founder member of the Leeds Shell Club in 1876. This society evolved into the Conchological Society of Great Britain and Ireland and the Yorkshire Conchological Society, which affiliated to the Yorkshire Naturalists Union. An obituary notice by J.W. Taylor appeared in the 'Journal of conchology', vol.16, 1919, pp.37-39
Founded in 1947, the British Society for the History of Science is the main organisation in the British Isles working to bring together people with an interest in the histories of science, technology and medicine and their changing relationships with society.
Founded in 1988, the purpose of the British Society for the Philosophy of Science is to study the logic, methods and philosphy of science, as well as those of the various special sciences, including the social sciences.
First and other early editions of works by the Brontë sisters, their father Patrick and their brother Branwell, together with critical and biographical studies of them, mostly dating from the 1930s and earlier. The rarest item is a copy of the Aylott and Jones first edition of the Brontë sisters' poems. The printed books accompany the collection of manuscripts and correspondence of the Brontës.
The Brontë family of Haworth, the subject of numerous biographies.
In 1878 Edward Allen Brotherton, later Lord Brotherton of Wakefield, founded (with the backing of relatives) the first chemical company in Wakefield. It opened under the name of Dyson Sons and Brotherton at Calder Vale Road and formed the basis of an expanding and successful business, which later became Brotherton & Company.
Formerly in the library of Charles A Buckmaster and purchased for Leeds University Library in 1950. The collection brings together French books, the great majority published in the 18th century, which were printed outside France, or printed in France with fictitious non-French imprints. The subjects are very wide-ranging. Many of the works are translations from English and other languages. The collection is of value for the study of the book trade, censorship, and French influence outside France.
This artificial collection reflects individual and small groups of manuscripts relating to the business and financial activities of named organisations and people. It includes 50 individual accessions to Special Collections. Material of a similar nature can be found in more substantial named archival collections.
Calverley papers : petitions, letters and other documents from Sir Walter Calverley and others, concerning the Broadcloth Acts of 1725, 1733, 1741 and 1765
The papers mainly concern the renewal of the Broadcloth Acts in 1733 and 1741. Sir Walter Calverley (ca.1670-1749), who had been created a baronet in 1711, was involved in the presentation to Parliament of a petition advocating a better observance of the Cloth Acts. The petition, framed as a bill, was passed by the House of Commons, but rejected in the Lords.
The Carlton Hill collection contains the records of meetings of the Society of Friends for the mid-part of the old West Riding of Yorkshire and a few records of the county Quarterly Meeting. The collection gets its name from the Carlton Hill Meeting House, where the records were originally held. A catalogue of the safe at Carlton Hill Meeting House was prepared in manuscript in 1910 under the supervision of Gervase Lawson Ford on the basis of earlier catalogues. Amendments and additions were made over the next half-century, and an inventory in abbreviated form was prepared and duplicated in 1972, and appeared as no. 26 in the Brotherton Library Special Collections Handlist series. That inventory was replaced by an expanded record (Handlist 55, 1983; and Addenda, Handlist 79, 1987), excluding from notice archives which had been removed (for one reason or another) from the Safe at Carlton Hill between 1910 and the transfer of documents to Leeds University Library (Special Collections) in 1979. The current catalogue has provided the opportunity to update the contents in various ways. Material continues to be added to the collection, and it is intended that the handlist should reflect new additions as quickly as possible.
This artificial collection reflects individual and small groups of manuscript case and lecture notes accessioned in Special Collections. It includes medical and scientific notes, notes on gardening, agriculture, textiles and literary history. Similar case and lecture notes can be found in larger named archival collections.
Cecil Howard Lay, the Suffolk poet, painter, and architect, was born in the village of Aldringham on 3 April 1885. His father, who came from an Essex sea-faring family, was the village schoolmaster for forty years. C.H. Lay was educated at the Queen Elizabeth School at Ipswich and the Architectural Association, London. He was elected an Associate of the R.I.B.A. in 1912 and a Fellow in 1925. After visits to Belgium and Holland to study paintings, he returned to live in Aldringham until his death on 6 February 1956. He married his wife Joan (née Chadburn) in 1932, but they had no children. Apart from his poetry, painting, and architecture, his chief interests were the local countryside and his friends there. He was also an antiquarian. His first collection of poems, 'Sparrows', was published in 1927, and was followed by several other collections, but his 'Collected poems' was not published until 1962, posthumously. He is buried in Aldringham village churchyard.
Cecil Roth (1899-1970) was a British Jewish historian. He was editor in chief of Encyclopedia Judaica from 1965 until his death.
Covers aspects of Celtic language and culture. It includes books dating from the late 17th century, with an example of the Book of Common Prayer, in Welsh, dating from 1679, but the majority of books in this collection date from the late 18th century to the early 19th century. Welsh dictionaries, books on grammar and theology feature. Folklore and superstition in Scotland and Bretton language are included. Some of the later works also cover Irish language and grammar, examples of Welsh hymns, and Welsh laws.
Personal collection of works relating to the Channel Islands of John Le Patourel, Professor of Medieval History at Leeds University from 1945 to 1970. It includes works on many aspects of the history of the Channel Islands (Guernsey, Jersey, Alderney, Sark, Herm, Jethou), including their topography, flora and fauna, as well as their political, economic and administrative history. There are numerous guidebooks and publications of the Islands' local historical societies. Professor Le Patourel's academic papers and correspondence are also held by the Library.
Charles Benjamin Tayler (1797-1875), the writer for the young. For fuller details of his life and achievements see the Dictionary of National Biography.
Charles Stanley Causley, CBE, (1917-2003) was a Cornish Poet and writer. He contributed poems and articles to the Listener and London Magazine. In 1958 he was made Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature.
Charles Dickens (1812-1870), the Victorian novelist. For fuller details of his life and achievements see the Dictionary of National Biography.
Charles Edwyn Vaughan (1854-1922) was Professor of English Literature at the University of Leeds from 1904 to 1913.
Charles Larcom Graves (1856-1944) was an Oxford graduate, author, and political satirist, especially as a member of the editorial staff of 'The Spectator' and 'Punch'. For fuller details of his career see Who Was Who, vol.4, 1941-1950.
Charles Thomas Whitmell practised as a member of Her Majesty's Inspectorate of Schools in the Cardiff and Leeds areas.
Charles Whitehead, the writer. For fuller details of his life and achievements see the Oxford Dictionary of National Biography.
Mr Chaston Chapman collected works for two libraries; his working library, based at his laboratory in London, and a private, historical collection. Subjects include brewing and the brewing industry, wine and winemaking, beer, distillation and distilling industry, drinking customs, liquors, ciders and whiskey, and legal issues surrounding alcohol. The brewing section represents part of Mr Chaston Chapman's library, along with the Chaston Chapman Royal Society collection, which concerns books of a more scientific nature. The collection contains works on brewing and alcohol which date from 1578, with A Perfite platforme of a Hoppe Garden, to 1986.
Alfred Chaston Chapman was educated at Leeds Grammar School and University College, London. He was President of the Society of Public Analysts, 1914-1916; President of the Institute of Brewing, 1911-1913, and President of the Institute of Chemistry, 1921-1924. His collection of books on the history of brewing was donated to the University of Leeds.
Consists mainly of sets of the Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society of London for the improving of natural knowledge from the founding of the Society in the 1660s onwards, along with some later histories and memoirs of the Society. There are also early texts on alchemy such as Roger Bacon's The Mirror of Alchimy, 1597, and Dutch and German works on chemical lore, hermetic philosophy, astrology and religion.
Books and periodicals dating from the 19th century. The entire range of subjects covered is wide ranging but includes biochemistry, chemical dictionaries, agricultural chemistry, analytical chemistry, organic chemistry and electricity. There are examples of educational works, such as chemistry for children, and textbooks detailing a variety of chemical experiments. Some specific aspects of chemistry are also covered, such as individual works dealing with nitrous oxide, and atomic theory. Finally there are some works which cover the application of chemistry, such as wine-making.
Cheryl Frances-Hoad (b.1980) is a composer. She was the first DARE Cultural Fellow in the Opera Related Arts in association with Opera North and the University of Leeds (2010-2012). Her work has been premiered in some of the world's most important chamber music venues.
Books and periodicals including works which date from 1677 through to the present day. The collection covers many aspects of Chinese language and culture, and the works are principally in Chinese. The earlier books deal with such subjects as Chinese philosophy and ethics. There is also a 19th century work dealing with Chinese characters.
Christopher Waud and Company, of Britannia Mills, Bradford, were worsted spinners, using mohair and alpaca, established in 1825.
The Church Socialist League was founded in 1906 by Conrad Noel, Percy Widdrington and others. The League of the Kingdom of God was founded in 1922-1923.
City of Leeds Training College, Leeds College of Art and Leeds College of Music, papers on higher education, held by Leeds City Council Education Committee
Leeds Education Committee was formed as a result of A.J. Balfour's Education Act of 1902. The City of Leeds Training College for teachers was founded in 1907 and later in the twentieth century became part of the University of Leeds. The Leeds College of Art and Design was founded in 1846. The Leeds College of Music was founded in 1880 and is now one of the largest of such colleges in this country.
Collection of political tracts published between the years 1639 and 1660. Places of publication include both London and the regions; several were printed in York and Hull. The tracts include petitions to Parliament and to the King, petitions by Parliament to the King, Parliamentary and Royal decrees, speeches by Cromwell, anonymous tracts by individuals in support or refutation of arguments or accusations, petitions on behalf of the army, and other topics.
Many are texts of ancient classical literature; there are also some medieval religious texts. Most of the books are in Latin, but some of the Latin texts are translated from the Greek. Publication dates range from 1606 to 1988, and there are a good number of earlier works printed before 1700. The collection includes some two dozen facsimiles of Latin and Greek manuscripts in the series Codices graeci et latini photographice depicti, and a 10-volume set of the works of the Greek Fathers in Latin translation, dated 1677. Subjects include works of reference in classical antiquities, texts of classical authors and early religious authors, and Greek and Latin facsimile mauscripts.
Clement K. Shorter, the journalist and magazine editor. For fuller details of his life and achievements see the Oxford Dictionary of National Biography.
The Clifford Street collection contains the records of the meetings of the Society of Friends for the Yorkshire General Meeting (1665-1966 Yorkshire Quarterly meeting) and York and Thirsk Monthly Meetings of the Society of Friends, formerly preserved in the Safe at the Friends’ Meeting House, Clifford Street, York.
The earliest surviving catalogues of the archives of Yorkshire Quarterly meeting and York Monthly Meeting date from the middle of last century (original references VIII 11.1 & VIII 12).These catalogues served until the early years of the twentieth century when a card catalogue of the contents of the Safe at Clifford Street Friends' Meeting House was prepared (original references VIII 11.6). The current catalogue has provided the opportunity to update the contents in various ways. Material continues to be added to the collection, and it is intended that the handlist should reflect new additions as quickly as possible.
Sir Andrew Bryan was HM Chief Inspector of Mines during the mid-twentieth century.
In 1846 a group of schoolmasters in Brighton, concerned about professional standards, set up a Society of Teachers, which was incorporated by Royal Charter in 1849 and became the College of Preceptors. A Supplemental Charter of 1998 allowed the College and a number of specialist organisations to form the College of Teachers.
The Community Development Project was formed by the Home Office as 'a modest attempt at action/research into the better understanding and more comprehensive tackling of social needs, especially in local communities within the older urban areas, through closer co-ordination of central and local official and unofficial effort, informed and stimulated by citizen initiative and involvement'. It was the first time that central and local government had made a joint venture into this field. Started in 1967, the programme in Britain had by 1973 reached the planned total of twelve areas.
The Consumer Council, based in London, was founded in 1963 to study consumer problems and to formulate proposals to deal with them.
This artificial collection reflects individual manuscript volumes accessioned in Special Collections. The material is managed as part of the Designated Cookery Collection.
Principally made up from two separate collections. Blanche Legat Leigh, Lady Mayoress of Leeds, made a gift in 1939 of cookery books which included not only historical works published in Britain but also a large number of foreign, particularly Italian and French, works on cookery. John F Preston made another major gift in 1962. Among many other smaller gifts and bequests is that of over 100 Chinese cookery books, presented by Frank and Margaret Leeming. This collection contains works which date from the late 15th century until the present day on a variety of subjects, including gastronomy, home economics, medicine, confectionery, recipes, menus, and vegetarianism.
Elsie Wright (d. 1988) and Frances Griffiths (d. 1986), who were cousins living in Cottingley, West Yorkshire, took photographs of supposed fairies in 1917, when they were respectively 16 and 10 years old. Two photographs were published in the Strand Magazine in 1920, and two more in 1921. They were described in the magazine by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, who believed them to be genuine. Finally in 1983 came a public admission that the photographs were fakes, and that the two girls had made them with paper cut-out fairies held with hat-pins. However, Frances maintained until her death that one of the photographs was genuine, and that they had seen fairies in Cottingley.
The Leeds-based firm of Crockatt's dyers and dry cleaners was founded in 1875 by John Crockatt after his apprenticeship as a dyer. As well as being a businessman, he was a senior member of the Churches of Christ, and in his later years he and his wife travelled extensively. His son Douglas followed in his father's footsteps and saw the company through difficult times. Crockatt's became part of the Johnson Group in 1935 and Douglas became Chairman of the Group in 1952. He served in the First World War and was a Liveryman of the Dyers' Company. He was also involved with the Court and Council of Leeds University, in politics in the 1920s, and a magistrate for forty years. Like his father, he travelled a great deal. His son Douglas Allan later followed in his footsteps and was a director of Johnsons from 1961-1984 after a distinguished career in the Royal Navy. He was a well-known magistrate, Vice Lord Lieutenant of West Yorkshire and was awarded both the OBE and MBE. In 1975 to commemorate the firm's centenary, a history of the family firm was written by Colonel Ewart Clay, the family's archivist. Clay's book 'A Century of Crockatt Cleaning' is a useful introduction to both the family and firm. The Crockatt name finally disappeared from the high street in 1997, a year after D. Allan Crockatt's death, to be replaced by Johnson's Cleaners
Colonel Cyril Banks (1901-1969) was Conservative MP for Pudsey (Yorkshire) from 1950 to 1959.
Cyril Leslie Oakley was born in 1907 and educated at Portsmouth and Westminster before graduating from the University of London in 1930 in both zoology and medicine. He worked at the Wellcome Research Laboratories from 1934 to 1953, latterly as head of the Department of Immunology and Experimental Pathology. He was appointed Brotherton Professor of Bacteriology at the University of Leeds in 1953, a post from which he retired in 1970. He was a founding fellow of the College of Pathologists and at various times edited the Journal of Pathology and the Journal of Medical Microbiology. He was awarded a D.Sc. by the University of London in 1953, elected a Fellow of the Royal Society in 1957 and made a CBE in 1970. He died in 1975. Apart from bacteriology, he was interested in certain marine parasites, in medieval churches and in science fiction literature. He presented his own extensive collection of science fiction literature to the Brotherton Library.
Books, pamphlets and periodicals chiefly relating to Danish language, literature, history and culture. They form part of the important Scandinavian collections, wholly housed within Special Collections. Publication dates within the Danish Collection range from 1762 to 2001. Over half of the collection was published between 1900 and 1950, and a further quarter between 1850 and 1900. Subject coverage is extensive, including literature translated into Danish, Danish bibliography, religion, philosophy and sociology, education, law and politics.
(Arthur) David Beaty, the novelist and aviation writer, was born in Ceylon on 28 March 1919 and educated at Kingswood School, Bath, and Merton College, Oxford, where he took an M.A. in history in 1940. During the Second World War he served with distinction in the Royal Air Force, then afterwards became a Senior Captain with BOAC and later a Foreign Office principal. He had earlier resigned his post with BOAC in order to concentrate on his writing career, which began in 1948 with his novel 'The take-off' and continued with many other novels on aviation themes and a number of non-fiction works on aviation, such as 'The water jump: the story of transatlantic flight', and others which analyse the human factor in aircraft accidents, the classic work on the subject being his 'The naked pilot', first published in 1991. His wife Betty Smith, a Leeds University graduate, whom he married in 1948, and who is a novelist in her own right, assisted her husband in the writing of his autobiographical work 'Wings of the morning', 1982. Betty Beaty has often written under the pseudonyms 'Catherine Ross' and 'Karen Campbell', her husband sometimes under the pseudonym 'Paul Stanton'. In 1992 David Beaty was awarded the MBE for services to aviation, and he was a member of the Royal Aeronautical Society. He died on 4 December 1999.
David Edward Jenkins was Professor of Theology in the University of Leeds between 1978 and 1984 before becoming Bishop of Durham.
David Forsyth (1844-1934), a pioneering educationist, was a successful headmaster of the Leeds Central High School (1889-1918), and received an honorary degree from the University of Leeds in 1915 for his extensive contribution to improving education in higher grade schools.
David Hare, the English playwright and theatre and film director, was born in St Leonards, Sussex on 5 June 1947, and educated at Lancing College, Sussex, and Jesus College, Cambridge. He served as literary manager and resident dramatist at several theatres before beginning to write for the National Theatre in 1975. In 1982 he founded a film company, Greenpoint Films. As well as numerous stage plays he has written television plays and screenplays, of which 'Wetherby' (1985) is one.
David (John Murray) Wright, the poet and writer, was born on 23 February 1920 in Johannesburg, South Africa. He became deaf at the age of seven, was brought to England at the age of fourteen to attend the Northampton School for the Deaf, and graduated from Oriel College, Oxford, in 1942. Between 1965 and 1967 he was a Gregory Fellow in Poetry at the University of Leeds. His first poetry collection, 'Poems', was published by Poetry London in 1949. He subsequently published numerous other books of poetry and also edited several anthologies. In 1969 he wrote his autobiography, 'Deafness: a personal account'. He also wrote a few critical works and three books on Portugal. He lived for some years in the Lake District and died in 1994. See also, Leeds Poetry biography of David Wright: http://www.leeds.ac.uk/library/spcoll/leedspoetry/wright.htm
Delires was a small press operated by Lynette Hunter and Geoff Ward in Liverpool in the 1980s. It was established to publish high quality modern poetry and prose, with strong emphasis on design and illustration by new artists. The press was launched with publications by two poets connected with Cambridge, John Wilkinson and Geoff Ward.
Denis ApIvor (1916-2004) is typically associated with the small circle of British composers that emerged in London during the mid-1930s, which also included names like Humphrey Searle and Elisabeth Lutyens (contemporaries of Walton, Tippett and Britten). He was one of the first British composers to explore modernist composition techniques (particularly serialism) in the early post-war period, preparing the ground for the more radical experiments of such groups as the Manchester School during the 1960s. A medical man (an anaesthetist) by profession, ApIvor retained a distance from the music establishment for much of his career, composing without recourse to the musical dictates of the time. His stylistic decisions were in and out of step with developments in British music, making his compositions difficult to categorize or contextualize, yet at the same time highly individual and often innovative.
ApIvor's public career reached its peak during the mid-1950s: he achieved his first major breakthrough with a highly original choral-orchestral setting of T. S. Eliot's The Hollow Men (1939), which was broadcast by the BBC in 1950. He then proceeded to make his reputation as a composer for the stage, receiving several commissions from the Royal Ballet, of which the most successful was his adaptation of Lorca's play Blood Wedding (1953). ApIvor continued to receive commissions and broadcasts of his music from/by the BBC during the 1960s and 1970s (benefitting from the pro-modernist William Glock climate in particular), but by the mid-1980s his work was beginning to fall into obscurity. In recent years there has been a revival of interest in ApIvor's music, marked in particular by an increased frequency of public performances of his smaller chamber and vocal works. Much of ApIvor's music is notable for its drawing on extra-musical sources, literature and art in particular. He is particularly known for his adaptations of Lorca plays for opera and ballet and his settings of T. S. Eliot and also composed a number of pieces that were inspired by the work of the painter Paul Klee.
Dennis Yates Wheatley (1897-1977) was an English author, one of the world's best-selling writers of thriller and occult novels from the 1930s-1960s.
Diana Allen campaigned for local authorities to be obliged to provide caravan parks for the Romany community and other Travellers. She graduated as a solicitor at the age of 65 and worked for the Romany community, specialising in planning law.
Publication dates range from the 1606 Thresor de la langue française, by Aimar de Ranconnet, to the 1901 Dictionnaire de l'Académie française. A dozen or so of the dictionaries were published before 1650, some 70 between 1700 and 1750, and nearly all the rest between 1750 and 1850. About 150 were published in France and another 100 in Great Britain, and there are also some Italian, German, Spanish and Dutch volumes. Some 30 are in Latin. There are single-language dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, and also specialist dictionaries covering terms in commerce, shipping, fishing, philosophy, mathematics, architecture, comedy and satire, etc. Among the more esoteric items are an Italian-Turkish dictionary published in Rome in 1641, and a Latin-Armenian dictionary of Scripture and Armenian Divine Office books published in 1695 by the Vatican.
Dominic Francis (Dom) Moraes, the Indian poet and writer, was born in Bombay on 19 July 1938, the only child of the editor and author Frank Moraes and his Roman Catholic wife. As a child, Dom travelled with his father throughout South-East Asia and Australasia and began to write poetry at the age of twelve. He went to England in 1954 and became a student at Jesus College, Oxford. He published his first book of poems, 'A Beginning', while he was there, and with it became the first non-English and the youngest person to win the Hawthornden Prize for poetry in 1957. His second book of verse, 'Poems' (1960), became the Autumn Choice of the Poetry Book Society. Apart from these, he published eight other collections of poems, the last being his 'Collected Poems' (1987), and twenty-three prose books, including a biography of Mrs Gandhi and his memoirs, 'Never at Home' and 'My Son's Father'. He edited magazines in London, Hong Kong, and New York, was a correspondent in various wars, and served as an official of a United Nations agency. He also scripted and directed over twenty television documentaries for the BBC and ITV. He returned to India in 1979 and lived in Mumbai until his death on 2 June 2004.
Dora Sigerson Shorter (Mrs Clement Shorter), the poet and journalist. For fuller details of her life and achievements see the Oxford Dictionary of National Biography.
Doris Goerner was a leading textile designer and Lecturer in the Department of Textile Industries at the University of Leeds.
Dorothy Mary Leak (1903-1989) was a sub-librarian in the Brotherton Library until her retirement in 1968.
E. Fox and Sons Limited, of Calder Bank Mills, Dewsbury, were shoddy and mungo merchants, established in 1845.
The firm of E.J. Arnold Ltd began in 1863 when Edward James Arnold, a Dorset man, founded a small printing business at Barnstaple in Devon. In 1870 he transferred the business to Leeds, in order to broaden its scope, and shortly after this move, he decided to develop a trade with local schools, taking advantage of changes in the structure of education resulting from the 1870 Act. Within his lifetime, the company became the largest company in the field of educational publishing.
Ebenezer Elliott (1781-1849), 'the corn-law rhymer'. For details of his life and work, see the Dictionary of National Biography.
Most of the titles date from the second half of the 18th century onwards. It contains numerous editions of Adam Smith's 'An inquiry into the nature and causes of the wealth of nations', works on economic theory and economic history by 19th century authors such as Robert Owen, Karl Marx, and J R McCulloch, and 20th-century economists such as Beveridge, Keynes and the Webbs. The collection includes works on aspects of economics such as wages, prices, taxation, banking, commerce and trade, and on specific industries and sectors of the British economy, including the surveys of agriculture in (mainly) English counties produced in the late 18th/early 19th century for the Board of Agriculture & Internal Improvement.
Edgar Allison Peers was professor of Spanish at the University of Liverpool.
Edmund Charles Blunden (1896-1974), the poet, teacher, critic, and biographer. For fuller details of his life and achievements see the Dictionary of National Biography.
Edmund Clifton Stoner was born in East Molesey, Surrey and educated at Bolton Grammar School, 1910-1918, and Emmanuel College, Cambridge, 1918-1921 where he read for the Natural Sciences Tripos specialising in Physics. In 1919 he developed diabetes which entailed a restricted diet and varying periods of hospitalisation before a regular insulin regime became possible in 1927. He worked with Rutherford as a graduate student at the Cavendish Laboratory, Cambridge from 1921 to 1924 when he was appointed Lecturer in Physics at Leeds University. He remained at Leeds for the rest of his life, as Reader in Physics, 1927-1939, Professor of Theoretical Physics, 1939-1951, and Cavendish Professor of Physics, 1951-1963, in succession to Richard Whiddington. In 1928 he accepted a research fellowship at Emmanuel College, Cambridge, which he held concurrently with his post at Leeds. For most of his life (he married in 1951) Stoner was solely responsible for his ageing mother and this, taken together with his diabetes, restricted much of his activity to Leeds, and he undertook few outside activities. His research interests were in magnetism and low temperatures. He was elected FRS in 1937.
The Gosse collection includes material from five generations of the Gosse family, but is largely the archive of Sir Edmund William Gosse, the writer and literary critic. Seven members of Sir Edmund Gosse's family are represented in the collection. His grandfather, Thomas Gosse (1765-1844), was an engraver and itinerant portrait painter. His father, Philip Henry Gosse (1810-1888), was a well-known natural historian and religious writer. In 1848 Philip Henry married Emily Gosse (1806-1857), who was also a popular devotional religious writer. Sir Edmund Gosse's wife, Ellen "Nellie" Gosse (1850-1929), was an artist and writer. All three of Edmund and Nellie Gosse's children are present in the collection; their only son, Philip Henry George Gosse (1879-1959), was a writer and physician, who gave many additional items to the Gosse collection in the 1950s. His sister, Emily Teresa "Tessa" Gosse is represented by some reminiscences about her father. Laura "Sylvia" Gosse (1881-1968) was an artist and painter, especially well-known for her etchings.
The dates of publication span the years 1650 to 1993, although the majority of the collection dates from the 19th and 20th centuries. Many of the works are concerned with educational philosophy and methods. The collection also contains the writings and biographies of prominent educationalists, histories of schools and other educational bodies, and a large number of annual reports and prospectuses published by a wide variety of educational organisations. Most of the 20th-century works in the collection are examples of children's literature.
Books and periodicals date from between the years 1625 and 1988. The bulk of the collection (around three-quarters) was published in the 19th- and late 18th-century. The collection consists mainly of school textbooks and works on teaching methods and the philosophy of education. Latin and English language grammars feature strongly. There are also many examples of readers (collections of prose and poetry); textbooks on mathematics, scripture, history, geography, natural history, science and other subjects; and works on the conduct of life, especially for young women (or ladies). Many of the later 19th-century and 20th-century books are examples of children's fiction.
Edward Charles Gurney Boyle, Baron Boyle of Handsworth, P.C., C.H., was born in 1923, the eldest child of Sir Edward Boyle, a lawyer and prominent member of the Balkan Committee, and of Beatrice (née Greig). He was educated at Eton and Christ Church, Oxford. War service in intelligence at Bletchley Park intervened between his school-days and undergraduate career. He went up to Oxford in 1945 and became president of the Oxford Union Society in 1948. He was elected Conservative M.P. for the Handsworth (Birmingham) constituency in November 1950 and retained the seat until he left politics in 1970. He obtained his first government post in 1954 as Parliamentary Secretary at the Ministry of Supply and later served as Economic Secretary to the Treasury. Despite resigning over the Suez affair he soon returned to government, rising to cabinet rank and privy counsellor as Minister of Education in 1962. After the Conservative Party's defeat in the October 1964 general election he became opposition spokesman on education and science. In October 1969 he resigned from the shadow cabinet having accepted the post of Vice-Chancellor of the University of Leeds in succession to Sir Roger Stevens who was due to retire in September 1970. In the dissolution honours list that year he was made a life peer. While at Leeds he served on the Top Salaries Review Body, and was chairman of the Committee of Vice-Chancellors and Principals from 1977-1979. He died in September 1981.
Clodd, Edward (1840-1930), the banker and popular anthropologist. For fuller details of his life and achievements see the Oxford Dictionary of National Biography.
Sir Edward Lucas Gardner QC, the Conservative politician, was born in Preston, on 10 May 1912, the son of a businessman He was educated at Hutton Grammar School and worked as a journalist on the Lancashire Daily Post and the Daily Mail. During the Second World War he served in the Royal Navy, surviving the sinking of both HMS Fiji and HMS Coventry, reaching the rank of commander in the Royal Naval Volunteer Reserve as Chief of Naval Information in the East Indies. He qualified for the bar at Gray's Inn in 1947 and became a QC in 1960. He unsuccessfully contested Erith and Crayford in the 1955 general election, but sat as MP for Billericay from 1959 until 1966. He was appointed PPS to the Attorney General in 1962, but also established a successful legal practice and was a Crown Court recorder, 1972-1985. In 1970 he returned to parliament representing Fylde South until 1983, and then the revised constituency of Fylde, until he retired in 1987. He was knighted in 1983 and was Chairman of the Home Affairs Select Committee, 1984-1987. He died on 2 August 2001.
The Longbottom family were dyers in Hunsworth from ca.1831, before moving to Birstall some time between 1841 and 1844. In 1850/51 Edward Longbottom leased land in Howley Park, Morley, but by 1873 the address had changed to Howley Beck, Batley (Howley is on the border between Batley and Morley).
Edward Ripley and Son, of Bowling Dye-Works, Bradford, were dyers and finishers, established ca. 1830, originally as George Ripley and Son. Edward Ripley's son Henry discovered a system of dyeing superior to that used by their competitors, a factor which made the firm and the family wealthy. They built the model village called Ripleyville for their workers ca. 1863. Edward Ripley himself eventually became a Conservative MP in 1874 and was created a baronet in 1880, shortly before his death in 1882.
Elizabeth Cook (b. 1952) is a poet and writer. Editor of the Oxford Authors John Keats and author of Achilles. She has contributed poetry, short fiction and critical review to many journals, including Stand.
Elizabeth Gaskell (1810-1865), the novelist and short-story writer. For fuller details of her life and achievements see the 'Oxford Dictionary of National Biography'.
Elizabeth North read English and Philosophy as a mature student at Leeds University. She wrote a number of radio plays, produced by the BBC, and published eight novels.
Multilingual collection, mainly spanning the years 1750-1950. It consists of some two dozen titles, all but a few of which contain many volumes. The largest is the mighty Encyclopédie méthodique (the enlarged version of Diderot's Encyclopedia), published 1782-1832, which consists of 200 volumes. Over 250 volumes of the collection belong to half a dozen Russian titles, which include two editions of the large Bolshaia sovetskaia entsiklopediia. German is represented by the Allgemeine deutsche Real-Encyklopädie für die gebildeten Stände, 1843-45, Hungarian by the Révai nagy lexikona: az ismeretek enciklopédiája, 1911-35. The English-language encyclopaedias, of which there are some dozen, include a 1797 edition of the Encyclopaedia Britannica. The books are also of interest for their many illustrations.
The English Collection forms the largest subject section within Special Collections and contains many old and rare materials dating from the mid-17th century onwards. Its classification follows that of the English loan collection which it complements. Authors whose works are particularly strongly represented in the collection include: Shakespeare; Ben Jonson; Milton; Pope; Swift; Samuel Johnson; the Romantic poets such as Wordsworth, Coleridge, Byron, Keats and Shelley; Scott; Dickens; Thackeray; Yeats; Stevenson; Shaw; and Wodehouse. 20th century poetry is also a strength of the collection, from Eliot, Auden and Belloc through to the present day. The collection also features many works written in, or about, Yorkshire dialect; a section of American literature; and a wide range of literary journals containing both creative work and criticism.
The English Stage Company is the resident company of the Royal Court Theatre in Sloane Square, London. Greville Poke was founding secretary, and later chairman of the English Stage Company.
Ernest Bradbury was born in Leeds on 3 March 1919. Having played the piano and organ since he was a boy, he studied composition privately under Sir Edward Bairstow, the organist and choirmaster at York Minster, and wrote a number of songs, some of which were broadcast on the BBC. During the Second World War, as a pacifist, he worked as a forester and with Jewish refugees. In his early twenties he started his long association with the Yorkshire Post, initially as a freelance contributor. In 1947 Bradbury joined the staff as the paper's music critic. During his long career Bradbury sometimes wrote for other newspapers or magazines, like "Music and Musicians", "Musical Times", and the "Radio Times". He was a champion of the composers Peter Warlock and Edmund Rubbra. Ernest Bradbury's work includes introductions to concert programmes and articles on subjects other than music, notably art and drama. He also wrote broadcasts for BBC music programmes, and, whilst working on the Yorkshire Post, covered music in London and numerous British and International music festivals. In 1966 Bradbury was awarded the Hannen Swaffer Award for his consistently high standards of music criticism. In 1984 he retired, but continued to write occasional articles on music. During his career and also after his retirement he lectured in the extra-mural departments of Leeds and Bradford Universities. In 1977 he became a deacon at Bradford Cathedral. Ernest Bradbury died on 18 November 1994.
Sir Ernest Gordon Cox FRS (1906-1996), the chemical crystallographer and science administrator, was born on 24 April 1906 in Twerton in Somerset, and educated at the City of Bath Secondary School and the University of Bristol, where he graduated with first class honours in physics in 1927. In the same year he joined W.H. Bragg's team in the Davy-Faraday Laboratory at the Royal Institution in London and began his career there as a practising crystallographer. In 1929 he was recruited to the staff of the Chemistry Department at Birmingham University, where he did pioneering work on the structures of sugars and compounds of metals. In 1936 he was awarded his D.Sc. by the University of Bristol and in 1941 was promoted to Reader in Chemical Crystallography at Birmingham. During the Second World War he led an advisory group on explosives for the Ministry of Supply and also worked for the secret service supporting resistance in occupied countries. In 1945 he was appointed as one of the Professors of Chemistry at the University of Leeds, where he built a strong Department of Inorganic and Structural Chemistry. He contributed to the wider running of the university and served on several national and international committees on crystallography. For many years he advised government on scientific matters as Secretary of the Agricultural Research Council, and, in retirement between 1971 and 1976, he served as honorary general secretary of the British Association and honorary treasurer to the Royal Institution. In 1929 he married Lucie Baker, by whom he had a daughter and a son. Lucie Cox died suddenly in 1962 and he later married Mary Rosaleen Truter in 1968. He was elected FRS in 1954 and knighted in 1964. He died on 23 June 1996.
Ernest John Tinsley (1919-1992) was ordained priest in 1943, and taught at the University of Hull from 1946 to 1962. He was Professor of Theology at the University of Leeds from 1962 to 1976, and was subsequently Bishop of Bristol (1976-1985).
Eshton Hall estate, near Skipton, belonged to the Wilson and Richardson-Currer families during the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries. Several generations of the families included sons with the name Mathew who all became influential public figures in their days. The estate documents give a detailed picture of the financial history of a family estate during the nineteenth century and cast light on numerous points of economic and social history.
This artificial collection reflects individual and small groups of manuscript essays and lectures accessioned in Special Collections. Subjects include medicine, science, politics, retail, agriculture, industry and economics. Similar material can be found within larger named archival collections.
Esther Simpson was born in Leeds, as Esther Sinovitch, in 1903. She was gifted musically and already had medals and certificates in violin playing from Leeds College of Music before she entered the University of Leeds in 1921. She graduated from Leeds with first class honours in French with German in 1924 and took a diploma in education in the following year. Soon after taking her diploma she turned from teaching to secretarial work in Europe. She was living in Geneva in 1933 when she received and accepted an offer of employment in England as secretary to the newly-formed Academic Assistance Council (later, the Society for the Protection of Science and Learning) whose purpose was to help resettle scholars who had fled from totalitarian regimes, initially Nazi Germany. In the same year she changed her name to Simpson. Her employment with the AAC developed into a vocation. She was awarded an OBE in 1956 and after her retirement in 1966 she received honorary doctorates from London (1984) and Leeds (1989). She died on 19 November 1996.
Evelyn Waugh, autograph letters and manuscripts, including the manuscript of 'Vile Bodies', with related material.
Evelyn Arthur St John Waugh (1903-1966), the novelist. For fuller details of his life and achievements see the Dictionary of National Biography.
Father Thomas Dawson (fl. ca. 1900) was an Irish priest and friend of Henry George, the American social reformer.
Felicia Hemans (1793-1835) commenced writing at an early age, and when fourteen published 'England and Spain, or Valour and patriotism, a poem'. In 1812 she married Captain Hemans, who left her in 1818. She paid two visits to Scotland where she met Sir Walter Scott and Lord Jeffrey. She died in 1835 and was buried in Dublin. Amongst her works are:- 'Forest sanctuary', 'Songs of the affections', 'Hymns for childhood' and several plays.
Books, mainly in Finnish and English, covering many different aspects of Finnish language and culture. The works date from the late 19th century to the late 20th century. The collection includes 19th century works on Finnish politics, particularly foreign relations with Russia; Finnish military history; and modern works on Finnish dialects.
Firebird 1-4, the annual publication of short stories by the Penguin Books, correspondence and praparatory material
Firebird was a Penguin series of contemporary writing in four issues, 1-4, published between 1982 and 1984. The first two issues were edited by T.J. (Tim) Binding, and the last two by Robin Robertson.
Fleur Adcock, the poet, was born in 1934 in New Zealand, but has lived in England since 1963. Her 'Selected Poems' were published by Oxford University Press in 1983, and her edition of 'The Faber book of twentieth-century women's poetry' was published in 1987.
Florence Mary Woodruffe Peacock had a book of poems published in Hull in 1893.
Alan Gordon Ward was Professor of Food Science at the University of Leeds from 1959 to 1977.
The prominent Quaker families of Ford and Pease were related by marriage and had connections with the Leeds area in the nineteenth century.
The Foreign section of the Brotherton Collection, consisting of books in European languages other than English, is divided into three categories. The 16th century section, the earliest title (French) of which is dated 1501, has a preponderance of Latin texts: these cover religious subjects (Bibles, works of Augustine, Bede and others) and Classical literature. Italian is represented by 31 titles, and there are a few others in French and German. The 17th and 18th century section, of which the earliest title is dated 1620, contains many French (mainly literary) works. There are a good number of Latin titles in this section also, 77 Italian and 36 Spanish, and some 20 German and 6 Greek. The subjects range widely, with emphasis on literature but also covering history, topography, natural history and religion. The 55 books printed in Great Britain are mostly French literature, though there is some history also.
Frances Egerton Arnold-Forster (1857-1921) was a granddaughter of Dr Thomas Arnold of Rugby School. Following the early death of her parents, she and her sister and brothers were adopted by her aunt Jane and the latter's husband, the statesman W.E. Forster, and they all subsequently took the surname Arnold-Forster. Frances Arnold-Forster is best known for her work 'Studies in Church Dedications' (1899). For an account of her life, see the Oxford Dictionary of National Biography.
Frances Crofts Cornford (1886-1960), the Cambridge poet, wife of the classical scholar, F.M. Cornford, and granddaughter of Charles Darwin. For fuller details of her life and achievements see the Dictionary of National Biography.
Francis Berry, the poet, was born on 23 March 1915. He held chairs in English at the University of Sheffield (1947-1970) and at Royal Holloway College, University of London (1970-1980), and formed a close friendship with Professor George Wilson Knight, to whom the majority of the letters in his collection were sent. He has published numerous collections of poems, besides criticism, radio plays, and a novel. For fuller details of his life and achievements see 'Who's who'.
Francis Leslie Watson, OBE, the biographer, critic, and radio feature writer, was born on 7 August 1907 to Major Frank Leslie Watson and his wife Charlotte Ethel (née Barber), a Yorkshire-based family, and educated at Giggleswick School and Downing College, Cambridge, where he read Modern Languages, mainly French and German. After work on the Yorkshire Post, he found his bent as an independent writer, mainly of biography. 'Lord Dawson of Penn' (1936) was followed by 'Wallenstein' (1938), before he went to India in 1938 and for the duration of the Second World War was assigned to intelligence with the General Staff at Delhi. He subsequently worked as Director of Counter-Propaganda to the Government of India, for which he was awarded his OBE, and it was in India that he met his wife, Claire, by whom he had a son, Giles Hugh Shirburn, in 1950. His time in India influenced much of his later career, publications, and broadcasting. In 1957 he was awarded the Italia Prize for a programme on Mahatma Gandhi, and he wrote a history of India and other related works, such as, 'Gandhi', 'The Trial of Mr Gandhi', and 'The Frontiers of China'. Whilst living back in London, he scripted for broadcasting many programmes with literary and historical themes, including some on his native county of Yorkshire. In 1974 he published his book 'The Year of the Wombat', which portrayed Victorian life in the England of 1857. He died in the autumn of 1988.
Frank Beckwith (1904-1977) was born in Leeds and spent his entire working life there. After leaving Leeds Central High School he became an assistant in Leeds University Library in 1921 and later concurrently read for a degree. He graduated in 1928 and took his M.A., with distinction, in 1936. From 1937 until his retirement in 1969 he was Librarian of the Leeds Library. He helped to found the Association of Yorkshire Bookmen in 1945, and edited its 'Broadsheet' for many years. Apart from routine work at the Leeds Library, he pursued various antiquarian and historical interests especially Baptist church history and the history of 18th-century libraries.
Franklin Gollings was born in Llandudno. His association with the film industry began in the 1930s as a cinema manager. During the Second World War he served in the Royal Marines and also assisted in the production of a number of public information films. After resigning his commission in 1948, he worked in film, television and theatre.
The Schubert Institute (UK) is a society for anyone with a special interest in the music of Franz Schubert. It produces a quarterly journal, 'The Schubertian', promotes conferences and organises events, and manages the Schubert Institute Research Centre at Leeds University Library.
Frederick Keith Jackson, assembled pamphlets, offprints and correspondence about flax growing and processing
Frederick Keith Jackson was Director of the Flax Experiment Station (University of Leeds), Selby, from 1913 to 1917.
Theological works collected by WT Freemantle. The majority of the works dates from the 17th century and many works have associations with Sheffield. Works by Robert Sanderson and Richard Baxter are strongly represented. Subjects include sermons, Christian life, conscience, biography, works on the Bible, Church history and Sheffield (England).
The earliest book in the collection is dated 1654, the latest 1957. The subject matter covers all literary periods from the Medieval onwards, but the collection is particularly rich in works relating to the period 1715-1789. Included in the collection, but not yet catalogued, are some 750 French grammars and readers, mostly published in the early 20th century, donated by Dr T V Benn.
Small collection of books, in French and (chiefly) about France and French subjects, is part of a larger section, much still uncatalogued, of material in the Brotherton Collection relating to European countries. The earliest of the French books is dated 1611, the latest 1934, and the great majority are dated 1850 onwards. The subject-matter is mainly French literature, but there are also some books on travel and on history. Some of the books are of interest for their fine bindings and/or illustrations (eg Verlaine's 'Fêtes galantes', with illustrations by A. Gerardin). Of interest also are three substantial (uncatalogued) volumes lettered on the spines 'Napoleonana' and containing many cuttings and periodical articles (dating from the end of the 19th to the early 20th centuries) relating to the life and times of Napoleon.
Works in French published between 1567 and 1899, the great majority falling between the dates 1650-1800. They were mainly purchased from special grants made to Paul Barbier, Professor of French at the University of Leeds 1903-1938, for his distinguished lexicographical work. The subjects are very wide-ranging and include travel and topography, French language and literature, European history, philosophy, politics, economics, education, natural history, horticulture and science. Most of the works in the collection are by French authors, but there are some translations, and also some foreign imprints.
Dr Friederich Eurich (1867-1945) was a German bacteriologist. He set up a general practice in Bradford, England in 1896. Eurich was appointed bacteriologist at the Pathological and Bacteriological Laboratory set up by Bradford Council to counter the problem of cutaneous anthrax (wool sorter's disease). He became Professor of Forensic Medicine at Leeds Medical School in 1908 and retired in 1932.
Friedrich Fischbach (1839-1908) was a German textile designer. He founded many societies for the advancement of industrial art and was a great influence on textile design in Germany.
George Thomas Clapton was Professor of French Language and Literature at the University of Leeds from 1949 to 1964.
Consists mostly of 18th, 19th and 20th century periodicals and multi-volume works, some of which are popular and topical (eg Punch) and others more learned and/or specialised (eg Proceedings of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences). There are one or two curiosities - eg Loyal Order of Ancient Shepherds' monthly magazine. Most are in English, but nearly a third are in French, and there are also one or two German, Italian and Spanish titles. Many are present in long runs, some in only one or two issues. There are many 19th-century titles.
Works chiefly dating from the middle of the 18th century to the present day, with each century represented by a large number of works. It supplements other, more specialised sections of the Brotherton Collection which focus on the period 1600-1750. History is well represented, as is literature. Other works in the collection cover aspects of early science, travel, poetry, drama, British politics and government. Authors include Lord Byron, Walter Scott, William Blake and Shakespeare.
Although some training records exist from 1856, the history of the Nurses' Training School begins with the opening of the present Leeds General Infirmary in 1868, with just 20 nurses. In 1905 a 4-year training scheme was introduced, and as the standard of academic training was raised, a Preliminary Training School for Probationers was established in 1919, following the passing of the State Registration Act. Leeds was the first university in Europe to introduce, in 1921, a University Diploma in Nursing.
This articifical collection reflects accessions of individual and groups of manuscripts on wide ranging subjects with a wide date range.
Geoffrey Hill, the poet, was born in Bromsgrove, Worcestershire in 1932. After teaching for many years at the universities of Leeds and Cambridge, he moved to the United States in 1988 to fulfil the duties of Professor of Literature and Religion at Boston University. His volumes of poetry have received critical acclaim and he has been awarded numerous honours and prizes, including the Hawthornden Prize in 1969 and the Whitbread Award in 1971. In 1996 he was elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. He retired in 2006. See also: http://www.leeds.ac.uk/library/spcoll/leedspoetry/hill.htm.
Geoffrey Woledge was a graduate of the University of Leeds. He began his professional career in librarianship in 1919 as an assistant in the University Library, remaining in Leeds until 1931. After a number of appointments he became Librarian at Queen's, Belfast in 1938, and finally became Librarian of the British Library of Political and Economic Science in 1944 until his retirement in 1966.
Consists mainly of books on travel and topography. A wide range of countries is covered, notably the United Kingdom, France, Spain, Italy, Germany and the Middle East, though this list is by no means exhaustive. Also present are a number of gazetteers and atlases. The majority of the works were published in the 19th century, but there are also a good number of earlier ones. The earliest books in the collection are two Latin travel books dated 1619.
George Augustus Sala (1828-1895) was a journalist associated with Charles Dickens during much of his career and noted for his turgid style. He also published novels and other works, and much of his journalistic writing reappeared in book form. For a full account and assessment of his life see the Dictionary of National Biography.
George Granville Barker (1913-1991), the English poet, was born in Essex. He taught in Japan and the United States as well as in England. His highly dramatic poems, often concerned with themes of remorse and pain, led critics to place him, perhaps misleadingly, among the 'New Apocalypse' movement. Barker's published works include: '30 Preliminary Poems' (1933); 'Eros in Dogma' (1944); 'News of the World' (1950); 'The True Confession of George Barker' (1950); 'The View From a Blind I' (1962); 'Thurgarton Church' (1969); 'The Alphabetical Zoo' (1972); and 'Collected Poems' (1987).
George Henry Borrow (1803-1881), the author and traveller. For details of his life and achievements see the Oxford Dictionary of National Biography.
George Gordon Byron, 6th Baron (1788-1824), the poet. For fuller details of his life and achievements see the Oxford Dictionary of National Biography.
George Caunt was Harold Wilson's election campaign manager and later worked as a researcher for Lord Wigg
George Crabbe (1754-1832) was an English poet, surgeon and clergyman.
George Crowther and Company, of Lane Side Mills, Churwell, near Leeds, were woollen manufacturers, established in the late 1830s.
George Eliot, autograph letters to her by celebrities of her time, relating to literary and personal matters
George Eliot (1819-1880), the novelist, real name Mary Ann or Marian Evans, later Cross. For fuller details see the Dictionary of National Biography.
George Hattersley and Sons Limited, of Mytholmes, Providence, and Springhead Mills, Haworth and Keighley, were worsted spinners and manufacturers, established in 1850.
Captain George Nicholls (1781-1865) was Officer of the Guard on St Helena during part of Napoléon Bonaparte's detention on the island.
George Wilson Knight (1897-1985), the literary scholar, was Professor of English Literature at the University of Leeds between 1956 and 1962 and wrote many works of literary criticism, notably on Shakespeare. He formed a close friendship with Professor Francis Berry, who is the recipient of many of the letters held in this collection. For fuller details of his life and achievements see the Oxford Dictionary of National Biography.
Books and periodicals relating to German language and literature. Dates of publication range from 1602 (Jean de Cartigny, Dess irrenden Ritters Raiss der Welt Eitelkeit, Munich: Adam Berg) to 1988. The collection is particularly strong in 18th and early 19th century works.
The Rev. Gilbert Binyon wrote a number of books on religion and social issues. He was active in the Christian Socialist movement in England.
The Glenesk-Bathurst papers revolve around the Morning Post, an influential Conservative newspaper which eventually merged with the Daily Telegraph, and relate mainly to the Edwardian period though the coverage extends back into the later years of Queen Victoria and forwards to the early 1920s. The Morning Post had been acquired in 1877 by Algernon Borthwick (Conservative MP for South Kensington, 1885-1895; knighted in 1880 and raised to the peerage as the first Baron Glenesk in 1895). In his later years much of the management of the paper devolved upon his son, Oliver (1873-1905). Upon the death of Lord Glenesk in 1908 control of the paper passed to his daughter, Lilias, who married Seymour Henry, 7th Earl Bathurst, in 1893. In 1924 Lord and Lady Bathurst sold the paper to a consortium headed by the Duke of Northumberland.
Glyn Hughes, the West Yorkshire poet, novelist, and playwright, was born in Middlewich, Cheshire, in 1935 and educated at Altrincham Grammar School and the Regional College of Art, Manchester. He taught art and liberal studies at schools and colleges in Lancashire and Yorkshire until 1972, since when he has been a freelance writer. He has won several prizes for his novels, and has also written stage plays and verse plays for radio.
This extensive collection (about 10,000 images) was donated to the University in 1913 by Bingley himself and is an archive of his life's work.
Spanning the years 1884-1913 (when he gave up photography due to failing eyesight) the images cover a wide range of subjects. There are many Yorkshire scenes, including places such as Kirkstall Abbey, Fountains Abbey, Headingley, Bolton Abbey and Scarborough. However, the collection also covers the rest of the UK and some of Europe, America and the West Indies.
Professor P.F. Kendall, in accepting the gift in 1913, described the archive as 'probably the most magnificent collection ever made of lantern slides, illustrating architecture, archaeology, geology and scenery in all parts of England, but especially Yorkshire...'
A particularly noteworthy feature of the collection is the inclusion of Bingley's notebooks in which he detailed the place and date of each shot.
Godfrey Bingley Chronology: 3 July 1842, Godfrey Bingley born in Skinner Lane, Leeds; 1849, living in 4 Cowper Street; April 1854, moved to Grove Mill, Headingley, the home of his maternal grandfather with whom his father went into business as a carpet yarn spinner; 14 April 1858, went to learn the business of an engineer with Uncle John Bingley at Harper Street Foundry, Leeds; May 1858, moved to Thorneville, Headingley Lane.
The Gotts were a prominent Leeds family, and were partners in firms of woollen merchants and manufacturers from 1780 to 1867.
The Göttingen British Society was formed in December 1886 when a number of 'gentlemen resolved to form a society to promote social intercourse among the English (speaking) people of Göttingen'. Many of the members were language students or lecturers at the University. The outbreak of the First World War put an end to the Society's activities.
Grace Stuart (1898-1971) was the author of four books on psychology and three children's books. She was born Agnes Grace Croll in Sheffield in 1898, and was the older of two daughters. Educated at state schools and the University of Sheffield, who awarded her a first class degree in English literature and French in 1919, Stuart hoped to become a teacher, but suffered debilitating rheumatoid arthritis which limited her opportunities. Grace Stuart was married to Gordon Stuart, a Unitarian minister; the couple had no children. Grace Stuart died in 1971. Her nephew, Professor Jon Glover, is her literary executor. Some of her papers and a manuscript of 'The Minister's Wife' are housed at the Smith College library in the United States.
Graham Greene (1904-1991), the author. For fuller details of his life and achievements see the Oxford Dictionary of National Biography.
Language, literature, philosophy and history of ancient Greece. The earliest book in the collection is one of a number of grammars and is dated 1602. The 17th, 18th and 19th centuries are all well represented. Subjects include Greek language, especially dictionaries and grammar, Greek literature, poetry (especially Homer), drama (especially Aeschylus, Euripides, Sophocles and Aristophanes), historians (especially Xenophon), Alexandrian and Roman historians and philosophers and Byzantine authors.
Anthony Astbury (1940- ) was a schoolmaster at Emscote Lawn School, Warwick, when in 1975 he founded a small English poetry press, the Greville Press, named after Sir Fulke Greville (1554-1628). The playwright Harold Pinter, amongst others, has assisted him in the administration of the company, which is non-profitmaking. In May 2000 the press celebrated its 25th anniversary. It is noted in literary circles for its fine productions of chiefly shorter twentieth-century English poems with small print-runs.
Books from the library of Field Marshal Douglas Haig. Later material added by family members.
Harrogate Londesboro' Working Men's Club was in operation from at least 1914, since the earliest extant members' subscription book begins in that year.
Harry John Scott was the author of a number of books on Yorkshire, including 'The changeless dale', London, Blandford Press, 1946, and 'View of Yorkshire', London, Hale, 1975.
Sir Harry Legge-Bourke (1914-1973) was educated at Eton and RMA Sandhurst. He was commissioned into the Royal Horse Guards in 1934 and served throughout the Second World War, rising to the rank of major. As the earliest of these papers show, he had already developed an interest in current affairs and in 1945 he was elected Conservative MP for the Isle of Ely, a seat which he retained until his death. He never took high office and remained a back-bencher but his experience and qualities gained him much respect: he became chairman of the 1922 Committee of Conservative back-benchers and in 1971 chairman of the Parliamentary and Scientific Committee. He was awarded the KBE in 1960.
The Harveys were one of the prominent Quaker families in Leeds in the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. They were related, by marriage, to several other local Quaker families, including the Fryer, Firth and Jowitt families.
Mainly 19th century publications. An earlier work, however, is John Hunter's 'The natural history of the human teeth', published in 1771, and both this volume and the collection's three copies of Joseph Fox's 'The natural history and diseases of the human teeth' (1803) boast fine sets of plates.
Books printed between 1606 and c1950. A small number are dated before 1650, and a larger number between 1650 and 1700, but the majority are dated 1700-1800. Most are written in English, but a substantial number are in Latin and a few in French. The subject-matter ranges widely, covering anatomy and physiology, surgery, diseases, midwifery and health remedies. There is an early book of local interest, published in 1627 and written by Michael Stanhope: 'Newes out of York-shire, or, An account of a journey, in the true discovery of a soveraigne minerall, medicinall water.neere...Knaresborough'.
This scroll of Esther was probably written during the thirteenth century for synagogue use during the Jewish feast of Purim.
Henry Booth and Sons Limited, of Moorhead Mill, Gildersome, near Leeds, were woollen cloth manufacturers, established in 1806.
The company was based at Whitwood and Methley Junction collieries, near Normanton, Yorkshire.
Henry Céard was born in Paris in 1851. He was a naturalistic writer and author of two novels: 'Une belle journée' (1881) and 'Terrains à vendre au bord de la mer' (1906). He was one of the original members of the Académie Goncourt.
Henry Green (1905-1973) was an English novelist, whose real name was Henry Vincent Yorke. For a fuller account of his life and achievements see the Dictionary of National Biography.
Henry Illingworth was President of the Bradford Chamber of Commerce in 1882-1883 and died in September 1895.
Henry James Hodsman, miscellaneous papers in connection with his early studies in Leeds, Karlsruhe and Paris, 1903-1914
Born in York and educated there at Archbishop Holgate's School, Hodsman graduated in chemistry at the University of Leeds in 1906. He took his MSc a year later and then, supported by the award of an 1851 Exhibition, studied applied chemistry at the Technische Hochschule, Karlsruhe, under Professor Haber and at the Sorbonne in Paris. He returned to England and after a short period of employment in industry, rejoined the University of Leeds as a lecturer in 1912. He eventually became senior lecturer in the Department of Coal, Gas and Fuel Industries. He died on 31st January 1951 shortly before his planned retirement.
Henry Drummond-Wolff was educated at Radley and the Royal Military College, Sandhurst. During the First World War he served in the Royal Flying Corps, 1917-1919. He was elected as the Conservative MP for Basingstoke at a by-election in March 1934, but stood down at the 1935 General Election due to ill-health. Throughout his life he maintained an interest in world affairs and economic policy, with particular reference to free trade and the Commonwealth.
Sir Herbert Read, the poet, literary critic, and writer on art. For details of his life and achievements, see the Oxford Dictionary of National Biography.
Personal library of Sir Herbert Read (1893-1968), reflecting his career as art critic, theorist, advocate and administrator, poet, novelist and publisher, and much else. The contents range from the rare and unique - such as a proof copy of 'Finnegans Wake', presentation copies of T S Eliot's works, scarce volumes by Marcel Duchamp - to relatively commonplace books annotated by Read himself. Read's own works are well represented and his collection of art exhibition catalogues is extensive. A large collection of Read's professional and personal papers is also held.
Herbert Thompson was born at Hunslet, Leeds, on 11th August 1856, son of John Thompson, bank manager and amateur flautist, and Jane, daughter of William Thurnam. He was educated privately, partly at Wiesbaden in Germany, and at St. John's College, Cambridge, where he graduated in 1878 and later took the degree of LLM in 1881. He entered the Inner Temple in 1876, read for the Bar and was called on 25th June, 1879; he joined the North-eastern Circuit and practised for a few years, especially at Leeds Quarter Sessions. Whilst living in London between 1878 and 1885 he assisted Alfred Emden in the editing of 'The Complete annual digest of every reported case' and other legal literary works. The collaboration lasted until 1894. Meanwhile Thompson's deep interest in music was drawing him away from the law and having returned to Leeds, he soon had the good fortune to be offered a position on the Yorkshire Post as music and art critic, by Charles Pebody its editor, in October 1886. The work was congenial and the connection was cemented. Thompson married in 1897 Edith Mary, daughter of F R Sparks, JP, a Leeds printer, publisher and wholesale stationer, who was also honorary secretary of the Leeds Musical Festival. Two years later he seems to have given up regular work at the Bar. As well as working for the Yorkshire Post, Thompson also became the Yorkshire correspondent of the Musical Times and contributed copiously to the critical notes in the programmes of the Leeds Musical Festival and of other festivals. He wrote a study of Wagner, published in 1927, and edited several musical works besides contributing to Grove's Dictionary of music and musicians. He was awarded an honorary LittD by the University of Leeds in 1924 and retired from the Yorkshire Post in 1936. He died on 6th May 1945. Obituaries appeared in The Times (11th May, p7 column 5), the Yorkshire Post (8th May 1945, p3 columns 1-2) and the Musical Times (June 1945, p191 and July 1945, pp207-208). There is a notice of him in Grove's Dictionary, (5th edition, volume viii (1954), p429). During his life-time he gave many volumes and musical scores to Leeds University Library, and after his death his widow presented, in accordance with his wishes, most of the papers recorded below. This collection has not been listed hitherto though its existence was briefly mentioned at the end of the entry for Thompson in J A Venn's Alumni Cantabrigiensis, part II. 1752-1900 (volume vi (1954), p163).
H.C. Hillmann left Germany in the 1930s and worked in the Foreign Office Research Department during World War II as an expert on German economic affairs. In 1948 he became a lecturer in the School of Economic Studies at the University of Leeds. He retired in 1976.
Dame Hermione Lee (b. 1948) has written widely on women writers, American literature, life-writing, and modern fiction. She is Goldsmiths' Professor of English Literature.
Hilda Squire was a hospital almoner. She was the daughter of a London doctor, Edward Squire, who had been interested in issues of public health and hygiene. Her grandfather, Dr. William Squire, was physician to Lord Cardigan (of the Crimean campaign).
A large collection of school and college biology textbooks relating to the history of scientific education, reflecting the approaches to teaching and aspects of the subject which were popular at the time of publication.
Several multi-volume series recording British parliamentary proceedings and debates from the mid-16th century to the mid-19th century. The bulk of the volumes are a record of the work of the House of Commons from c1660 to c1850; proceedings and debates of the House of Lords are also covered, but less comprehensively. The collection also contains volumes of public general statutes enacted by the Parliament of Great Britain during the 19th century.
Hobson, Clegg and Company, of Kings Mill Lane and Prest Royd Mills, Firth Street, Huddersfield, were woollen manufacturers established ca. 1889.
Holbrook Jackson (1874-1948), the author, editor, and editorial director of National Trade Press Ltd and of Heywood and Co. Ltd. For fuller details of his life and achievements see 'Who was who', Vol.4.
Contains books from between 1546 and 1922, with the strength of the collection being in books from the earlier centuries. Books are still being acquired for the Holden Collection in the Brotherton Library, and it is anticipated that books will continue to be transferred into Special Collections from the Brotherton Library's Holden Library Collection as their age and condition requires. Subjects include Old and New Testaments, biographies, theological doctrine, devotional literature, pastoral theology, Church history, public worship, liturgy and sacraments, non-Christian religions and aspects of Yorkshire's religious history.
The Holden Library was bequeathed to Ripon clergy by George Holden (1783-1865), a theological writer who graduated at Glasgow and became the incumbent at Maghull, Liverpool, 1811-1865.
Holly Park Mill Company, of Calverley, were dyers, scribblers, carders, slubbers, spinners, and fullers, established in 1867.
The project "Making a New Life: Holocaust Survivors in Yorkshire" is a research collaboration between the Holocaust Survivors Friendship Association (Leeds) and the University of Leeds Centre for Cultural Analysis, Theory and History (CentreCATH).
Comprises books acquired by Lord Brotherton from the library of Thomas Evelyn Scott-Ellis, 8th Baron Howard de Walden (1880-1946). All items in the collection were bound in Rivière bindings early in the 20th century, imitating much earlier binding styles. The works themselves were published between 1471 (including five incunabula) and 1889, although most date from the 16th and 17th centuries, including subjects of art, travel, British history, geography and poetry.
Hugh MacDiarmid, autograph manuscript of 'A drunk man looks at the thistle', together with other literary papers and some letters.
Christopher Murray Grieve (1892-1978), the Scots poet and prose writer, who used the pseudonym Hugh MacDiarmid. He wrote his poem 'A drunk man looks at the thistle' in 1926. For fuller details of his life and achievements see the Dictionary of National Biography.
Humphrey Moore (1913-1968) was a poet, schoolmaster and biologist. After studying biology at Corpus Christi Cambridge, he first became a public school teacher at Dauntsey's, then worked in Shrewsbury, and later moved to Clayesmore School in Dorset where he taught for the rest of his life, until his early death in 1968. His poetry was inspired by W.H. Auden, Rupert Brooke, A.E. Housman and Matthew Arnold. John Bridgen, who later studied at King's College Cambridge, was a pupil of Moore at Clayesmore School, and he was left Moore's literary archive (with instructions to publish his poetry if possible) and Moore's W.H. Auden and 1930s poetry collection.
The basis of the Icelandic Collection was acquired by the University in 1929, when Sir Edwin Airey, a former Lord Mayor of Leeds, provided the money for the purchase of the private library of the author and historian Bogi Thorarensen Melsteð (1860-1929). It is one of the best Icelandic collections outside Iceland and Scandinavia and includes works dating back to the 16th century. Subjects include dictionaries, folklore, Iceland travel, history, literature, language and Vikings. The collection is supported by collections of Norwegian, Finnish, Swedish and Danish literature, all of which continue to grow.
Ichabod Charles Wright (1795-1871) was a translator of Dante and of Homer's Iliad. For full details of his life and work see the Dictionary of National Biography.
Isaac Holden and Sons Limited, of Pitt Lane Mill, Bradford (1846-9), St Denis, Croix, and Rheims, France, were woolcombers, established in 1846. Sir Isaac Holden (1807-1897) had a varied and interesting career. Born in humble circumstances, in his early life he invented, but failed to patent, the lucifer match. He was in partnership with S.C. Lister and later on his own in wool combing mills both in Bradford and in France. He was Liberal Member of Parliament for Knaresborough, 1865-68, when he was described as one of the richest men in the House. Throughout his life he was a staunch Wesleyan, and in the later years of his life was an active philanthropist. The Holden family were closely associated with the City of Bradford, Sir Isaac Holden's eldest son being Lord Mayor.
Isabella Augusta Gregory, original autograph manuscript of 'The golden apple', with related correspondence with Lord Brotherton.
Isabella Augusta Gregory, Lady Gregory (1852-1932), the Irish playwright and poet. For a fuller account of her life and achievements see the Dictionary of National Biography.
Strong in works by literary authors dating from 1300-1800. The largest section covers the period 1600-1800. The collection is complemented by Italian works held in other Special Collections sections, for example the Brotherton Collection Foreign section, the Ripon Cathedral Library and the Strong Room Collection, which contain many early editions of major authors - Petrarch, Dante, Boccaccio and many others. The Brotherton Collection literature section also contains early English translations of many major Italian works. The Brotherton Collection Incunabula section contains over 100 books printed in Italy.
J.C. Waddington and Sons Limited, of Crown Point Dye-Works, East Street, Leeds, were woollen and worsted dyers, established as such in 1869. The firm was formerly (to April 1869) known as Wm Brayshaw and Sons, to which most of the nineteenth-century records refer.
J.T. Clay and Sons Limited, of Crow Trees Mills (Holme Mill, Raistrick Mill, Brighouse Mill), Raistrick, were worsted and woollen manufacturers, established in the late 1830s (formerly Clay and Earnshaw).
Joseph Watkin (Joe) Belton was a graduate of the University of Liverpool and also obtained his doctorate there, before joining the staff of the Chemistry Department of the University of Leeds. He was appointed a senior lecturer in 1952 and remained with the department until his retirement. He died in 1989.
Jacob Kramer, the artist, was born on 26 December 1892 in Klincy, Ukraine, but was brought to England as a child when his parents immigrated in 1900 and settled in Leeds, with which city Kramer was always associated. After attending Manchester School of Art, the School of Art in Leeds in 1908-1911, and Slade School of Fine Arts in 1913-1914, he joined the London Group of artists. He became a highly successful portrait painter and had a small but impressive output of prints. His portrait of the sculptor Jacob Epstein is one of his best-known prints. He held many exhibitions in Yorkshire and London, and the Victoria and Albert Museum, the British Museum, and the Tate Gallery all hold his work. He died on 5 February 1962.
James Alexander Manson (1851-1921) was editor of Cassell's Encyclopaedia and of The Makers of British Art Series. For a fuller account of his life and achievements, see 'Who Was Who, 1916-1928'.
Born on 18 August 1923 in Ipswich, Suffolk, James Clifford Brown became assistant organist at the Civic Church when aged 15 and organist and choirmaster at All Hallows, Ipswich, at 16. He was a choral student at St John's College, Cambridge in 1941. His war service between 1942-1945 was with the Royal Signals. He returned to Cambridge after the war and was appointed first organ student of St John's College. A member of the Footlights Club, he wrote the music for and took part in its first production after the war. At 24 he gained his F.R.C.O. with the Read Prize for the highest aggregate of marks for the year. In 1948 he came to Leeds as a member of the University Music Department staff, serving also as University organist until his retirement in 1983. During his early years in Leeds James Brown was official accompanist and organist of the Leeds Philharmonic Society, and was subsequently Staff President of both the University Music Society and the University Union Light Opera Society. In 1961-1962 the University granted him leave of absence to study contemporary compositional techniques in Rome. James Brown died in December 2004.
James Dalton (1764-1843), a Yorkshire clergyman, was a naturalist noted mainly for his expertise on mosses.
James Digby Firth was Honorary Curator of the University of Leeds Stamp Collection. He was the local president of a number of learned societies and was presented with an honorary MA in 1956.
James Williams received his MA from the University of Leeds in 1951. His book 'The Derbyshire miners: a study in industrial and social history' was published by Allen & Unwin in 1962.
James Elroy Flecker (1884-1915), the poet and dramatist, entered consular service in 1908 after graduating at Oxford. He died at Davos in Switzerland, and much of his literary work was published posthumously. For details see the Dictionary of National Biography.
James France and Company Limited, of Albert Mills, Savile Town, Dewsbury, were carpet and woollen manufacturers and yarn spinners. They were established ca. 1790 in Coxley Valley and moved several times before settling at Albert Mills.
James (Falconer) Kirkup, the travel writer, poet, novelist, playwright, translator, and broadcaster, was born in South Shields, Co. Durham, on 23 April 1918 and educated at South Shields High School and Durham University. He became the first Gregory Fellow in Poetry at Leeds University, 1950-1952, and subsequently filled numerous academic posts, mainly abroad and especially in Japan. He has won many awards for poetry and other branches of literature.
Dr James (Jim) Walsh (1930-2008), Emeritus Registrar at the University of Leeds, was born in Lancashire in 1930. Walsh was a pupil at Nelson Grammar School before coming to Leeds in 1948 to read English. Graduating with first class honours in 1951, he was awarded a research scholarship and completed a thesis on Edmund Burke for his MA degree, which he received in 1953. Two years of National Service in the RAF followed, after which he entered university administration in 1955, at the University of Manchester. Successive promotions came his way, and in 1969 he was appointed Assistant Registrar. In 1971 Walsh took up appointment as Deputy Registrar at the University of Leeds. When Dr James MacGregor retired in 1979, Walsh succeeded him as the fifth Registrar in the history of the University. He was to remain in office for the next thirteen years. Walsh was a founder member, in 1961, of the Meeting of University Academic Administrative Staff (MUAAS), its first Secretary and later, with Geoff Lockwood, Joint Secretary. MUAAS later metamorphosed into the Conference, and subsequently the Association of University Administrators. He also served on the Administrative Training Committee of the Committee of Vice-Chancellors and Principals and, in conjunction with Ken Kitchen, was responsible, in 1969, for initiating and devising what became the Northern Universities' Administrative Training Programme. In 1975 Walsh was appointed to serve as an adviser to the Bangladesh Universities' Commission and in the following year was awarded a Commonwealth Travelling Fellowship to give seminars in India, Australia and the USA. He visited a number of other countries at the invitation of the British Council, often as part of a delegation of specialists in higher education. One of the outstanding University Registrars of his generation, Walsh retired from his post in September 1992. On his retirement, the title of Emeritus Registrar was conferred upon him and in the following year he was awarded the honorary degree of Doctor of Letters by the University. Walsh died in 2008. Source: Obituary, Campusweb, University of Leeds, 5 February 2008.
A very small collection consisting of items which were formerly a part of the Library's lending collections. The collection will grow as older, rarer materials are transferred to the collection over time from the main library.
Jay George Blumler (1924-) is Emeritus Professor of Public Communications at the University of Leeds.
Jeremiah Ambler and Sons Limited of Midland Mills, Bradford, were combers, spinners and weavers of all kinds of wool and hair, established ca. 1783-1789.
Jethro Bithell was educated at Owens College, Manchester, in the Victoria University, where in 1900 he graduated with first-class honours in Modern Languages (proceeding to the MA in 1903). He continued his studies in Munich and Copenhagen, and in 1904 returned to Manchester as Lecturer in German, a post he vacated in 1910 when he became Head of the Department of German at Birkbeck College, London. He was appointed Reader in 1921 and remained at Birkbeck until his retirement in 1938. He acted as external examiner in the University of Leeds. He died at Paignton on February 26, 1962; an obituary appeared in The Times for March 6. A Festschrift issue of German Life & Letters (NS 11, July 1958) includes (pp 252 ff) a biographical note, a photograph and a list of his publications. A short account of the bequest was published in the University of Leeds Review 8 (December 1962), 146-53.
John A. MacKinnon, a Labour councillor for many years, was first elected to the former Normanton Urban District in 1947, then represented Normanton on Wakefield Metropolitan District Council. He was Founder President of Normanton Civic Society and Mayor of Normanton from 1978 to 1979. In 1977 he was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society of Antiquaries of Scotland in recognition of his historical research. He died in 1981.
John Armstrong Davison (1906-1966) was professor of Greek language and literature at the University of Leeds from 1951 until his death in December 1966. He was educated at Haileybury and Corpus Christi College, Oxford, where he graduated in 1929. He immediately became assistant lecturer in Greek and Latin at Manchester, where he was promoted to a senior lectureship in 1950. He also held several visiting professorships in Canada and Germany. His first interest was the Greek lyric poets, but later he turned to Homeric studies. He wrote numerous articles and reviews in learned journals, and contributed to 'A Companion to Homer' (1962), edited by A.J.B. Wace and F.H. Stubbings, namely chapters 6 and 7, respectively entitled 'The transmission of the text' and 'The Homeric question'. His posthumously-published volume of essays, 'From Archilochus to Pindar' (1968) completed his works.
John Bancroft and Company Limited, of Charles Mill, Oxenhope, Keighley, were worsted spinners, established in 1810.
John Betjeman, autograph manuscripts and poems, together with typed drafts of poems and typed letters
Sir John Betjeman (1906-1984), the poet laureate, writer on architecture, and broadcaster. For fuller details of his life and achievements see the Oxford Dictionary of National Biography.
John Bowling & Co. Ltd operated in south Leeds as a general ironfounderers between 1878 and 1954.
John Gerard Braine (1922-1986), the Yorkshire-born writer. For a fuller account of his life and achievements see the Dictionary of National Biography.
John Crabtree and Sons Limited, of Thornton Road, then Wigan Street and Sunbridge Road, Bradford, were established in 1840 as mohair merchants, to become by the twentieth century wool, noils, laps and waste merchants.
John David Ivor Hughes was born in Nottingham in 1885. He attended Nottingham High School and in 1904 went to Aberystwyth to attend lectures in law with a view to qualifying as a barrister. He soon moved to London and was called to the bar at Middle Temple in 1910. In 1911 he went up to Balliol and took a first in law in 1914. He then read for a B.C.L., which he took in 1915, and was awarded the Vinerian Scholarship. During the First World War he served with a Friends' Ambulance Unit and in 1919 was appointed Professor of Law at Leeds, where he remained until his retirement in 1951. He died in 1969.
John Drinkwater (1882-1937), the poet, biographer, dramatist and theatre manager, was born in Leytonstone, London. He had a distinguished theatrical career, founding and becoming the manager of the Birmingham Repertory Theatre in 1913. His first verse-play was 'Copetua' (1913), which was followed in 1918 by his more successful 'Abraham Lincoln'. Drinkwater produced numerous popular biographies and autobiographies and wrote the poetry for many musical pieces and special events. His 'Collected poems' were published in 1923, and his 'Collected plays' in 1925.
John Foster and Son, of Black Dyke Mills, Queensbury, near Bradford, were worsted, alpaca and mohair spinners and manufacturers, established in 1819.
John Gawsworth, pseudonym of Terence Ian Fytton Armstrong (1912-1970), the bohemian poet. For fuller details of his life and achievements see 'Who was who', Vol. 6.
John Harry Jones was Professor of Economics at Leeds 1919-1946. He was born in Wales and graduated from Cardiff in 1903. After further study at Leipzig and Berlin he lectured at Liverpool and Glasgow before coming to Leeds. During the First World War he served in the Ministries of Munitions and of Labour. Later he served on a number of Royal Commissions and Boards, notably the Nova Scotia Royal Commission of Economic Enquiry in 1934.
John Francis Alexander Heath-Stubbs, the poet, was born in London in 1918 and educated at Worcester College for the Blind and The Queen's College, Oxford. He published his first poems in the wartime volume, 'Eight Oxford Poets'. He was a Gregory Fellow in Poetry at Leeds University between 1952 and 1955, then taught at foreign universities for several years before becoming a lecturer in English Literature at the College of St Mark and St John, Chelsea, from 1963 to 1973, in which year he received the Queen's Gold Medal for Poetry. He was awarded several other prizes, including the Commonwealth Poetry Prize in 1989, in which year he was also awarded the OBE. John Heath-Stubbs is also noted for his translations of Middle Eastern poets, and has written plays and literary essays as well as poetry. He died in December 2006.
John Hirst and Sons, of Bankfield Mill, Dob Cross, were woollen manufacturers, established ca. 1850.
John Hodgson was Head of the Faculty of Performing Arts at Bretton Hall, University of Leeds. Bretton Hall was a teacher training college set in the Yorkshire countryside just outside Wakefield. The grounds are now the Yorkshire Sculpture Park. Hodgson taught and studied the work of Rudolf Laban for more than 25 years. He died in 1997.
John Herbert Le Patourel was born in Guernsey on 29 July 1909. His father was a lawyer and became Attorney-General for Guernsey, whilst his mother was the daughter of a Devon farmer. He was educated in Guernsey at Elizabeth College, and went to Jesus College Oxford in 1928 as King Charles Scholar. After gaining first class honours in Modern History in 1931, he continued at Jesus College as the Goldsmith's Company Senior Student until 1933, when he was appointed to an Assistant Lectureship at University College London. He became a Lecturer there in 1936. In 1937 he published the results of his doctoral research at Oxford, 'The Medieval administration of the Channel Islands, 1199-1309'. In 1938 he married Jean Bird. During the Second World War he lectured in history at University College, Leicester, at Bangor, and then back in London. In 1943 he was made Reader and in 1945 succeeded David Douglas as Professor of Medieval History in the University of Leeds. He remained there until his retirement in 1970. He continued to research and publish until his death on 22 July 1981. His magnum opus was 'The Norman Empire', published in 1976. Whilst at Leeds he took a great interest in the development of the Brotherton Library's Modern History collections and served on the Library Committee in various capacities from 1946 onwards. He was also involved in local history circles, and was President of the Thoresby Society 1949-55, of the Yorkshire Archaeological Society 1965-9, and of the Leeds Philosophical Society 1966-8. In 1966 he founded the journal 'Northern History', of which volume 10, published in 1975, was a festschrift in his honour.
John Mackendrick, the playwright, was born in Heckmondwike in 1946, brought up in the West Riding of Yorkshire, and educated at Worksop College. He studied English at Nottingham University before taking a variety of jobs in England, India, the Far East and Australia. He studied drama at Leeds University in 1975, and in 1976 became Yorkshire Arts Fellow in Creative Writing attached to Bretton Hall College of Education and Sheffield University. In 1977 he was appointed a Resident Dramatist at the National Theatre. He wrote five major plays: 'Ludd!', 'Doctor Struensee', 'Lavender Blue', 'Canticle', and 'Rules'; also some shorter plays, collections of poetry, short stories, and criticism. He committed suicide at his home in Bristol on 16 January 1979.
John Masefield (1878-1967) was Poet Laureate in succession to Robert Bridges from 1930. For a full account of his life and work see the 'Oxford Dictionary of National Biography' (2004).
John Raistrick and Sons, of Brackendale Mills, Idle, near Leeds, were woollen manufacturers, established in 1861.
John Reddihough Limited, of 21 Horton Lane, Bradford, were wool merchants, top makers, and wool combers, formerly having been operating as Reddihough and Murgatroyd, woolstaplers.
John Ruskin (1819-1900), the author, artist and social reformer. For fuller details of his life and achievements see the 'Dictionary of National Biography'.
John Ruskin (1819-1900), the author, artist and social reformer, was born in London and brought up on strict puritanical principles. He entered Christ Church, Oxford, in 1836. In 1848 he married Euphemia Chalmers Gray, who divorced him in 1855. He defended the pre-Raphaelites in 1851 and became the first Slade Professor of Art at Oxford in 1870. In 1871 he moved to Brantwood, Coniston Lake, where he remained until his death from influenza on 20 January 1900. For a full account and assessment of his life and work see the 'Dictionary of National Biography'.
John Stanhope was the eldest son of John Stanhope of Horsforth and his wife, Mary, daughter of Sir William Lowther of Swillington, Yorkshire. He matriculated at University College, Oxford in 1720 and in the same year was called to the bar at Gray's Inn, and later served as Recorder of Doncaster from 1766 to 1769. He married Barbara, daughter of John Cockroft but died without issue in 1769.
John Stanley Purvis, 1890-1968, was born in Bridlington. He was educated at St Catherine's College, Cambridge (B.A. 1912, M.A. 1918, B.D. 1943, D.D. 1948) and was ordained in 1933. After serving in a number of Yorkshire parishes, he became canon and prebendary at York Minster in 1956, and from 1956 to 1963 was the first director of the Borthwick Institute of Historical Research in York. He wrote or edited a number of historical works, mainly with Yorkshire connections, including a modern English version of the York Cycle of mystery plays, first produced at York in 1951, and an edition of the complete text in 1957.
Matthew John Stewart was Professor of Pathology, University of Leeds, 1918-1950.
John Wilfred Harvey was Professor of Philosophy in the University of Leeds from 1932 to 1954, and also served as Pro-Vice Chancellor.
John William Jacob, who died in 1934 aged 72, was born in Leeds and began a teaching career at the Oak Road Board School. After receiving professional training at the Yorkshire College, he was appointed head of Castleton Junior Board School in 1895. Further teaching posts in Leeds followed, and he ended his career in 1925 as Head of Whingate Council School, at that time one of the largest schools in the city. He served as President of the Leeds Head Teachers' Association from 1902, and in 1912 he became Vice-President of the National Association of Head Teachers.
John Wilson (1785-1854) was a Scottish author, the 'Christopher North' of 'Blackwood's Magazine', and Professor of Moral Philosophy at Edinburgh University. For a full account of his life and work see the 'Dictionary of National Biography'.
John Wilson was an antiquarian who lived at Broomhead Hall in the parish of Bradfield, near Sheffield. The Wilson family had lived in the same area for several centuries and extensive family archives formed the original basis for the collection, which was supplemented by acquiring or copying the papers belonging to other local families, such as the Kayes of Woodsome and the Bosvilles of Gunthwaite.
Jon Glover, material relating to "Sixty One: a magazine of the arts" and the Leeds Student Arts Festival 1966, compiled by Glover
The poet and academic, Jon Glover, edited "61", a student magazine concerned with the arts, while a postgraduate student at the University of Leeds. He was also involved with "Ikon", an arts magazine published by Leeds University Union, and was secretary of the Leeds Student Arts Festival in 1966.
Jon Silkin was born in London on 2 December 1930. He was educated at Wycliffe College before being evacuated to Kent and then to Wales during the Second World War. He returned to London at the end of the war and attended Dulwich College, from which he was eventually expelled for truancy. Aged 17, he worked as a filing clerk and then a journalist; at 18 was called up for National Service, during which time he served in the Education Corps as a Sergeant Instructor. In 1950, shortly after being discharged, he published his first short collection of poems, The Portrait.
On leaving the Army, Silkin worked for several years as a manual labourer/unskilled worker, his jobs including a period working as a gravedigger. In 1952 he was fired from one of these jobs for attempting to form a Union; the 5 pounds redundancy money he received enable him to found and produce the first issues of the little magazine, Stand. Early contributors included poets who held or would go on to hold the Gregory Fellowship, including James Kirkup, Thomas Blackburn and William Price Turner; Turner had also started his own little magazine, The Poet, in 1952. Silkin was forced to cease production of Stand in 1957 due to lack of funds. In 1958, he was awarded the fourth Gregory Fellowship in Poetry at the University of Leeds.
Jonathan Akroyd, a clothier, was in partnership until ca. 1782 with his younger brother James, the founder of James Akroyd & Sons, of Halifax, stuff manufacturers, worsted spinners and merchants.
Joseph Conrad, correspondence of, or relating to, and materials concerning the production of a dramatised version of his 'The secret agent'
Joseph Conrad (1857-1924), the novelist. For a fuller account of his life and achievements see the Dictionary of National Biography.
Joseph Lee, of Idle, near Leeds, was a woollen manufacturer, established ca. 1800 (Joseph with William Lee).
Katharine Mary Briggs was born in 1898 in Hampstead, London, the eldest daughter of Ernest and Mary Briggs. The Briggs family had its origins in Yorkshire and had made a fortune from the coal mining industry there. Ernest Briggs was a watercolourist who specialised in Scottish scenery. He built Dalbeathie House in Perthshire and moved his family there in 1911, but died in 1913. In 1918 Katharine went up to Lady Margaret Hall, Oxford, to read English. After obtaining her B.A. degree in 1922, she returned to Perthshire and spent the years between the Wars in writing, producing plays, running an amateur touring company (The Summer Players) and doing Guide and Brownie training. She studied folklore and the history of seventeenth-century England. When the Second World War broke out she taught for a short time in a Polish Refugee School and then joined the medical branch of the W.A.A.F. After the War she went back to Oxford to gain her D.Phil. by a thesis on Folklore in seventeenth-century literature. Having obtained this degree, she went on to publish a book called 'The Personnel of Fairyland' about British Fairies. After this she continued to write other and more scholarly books on folklore, including 'A dictionary of British folktales in the English language', 1971. She was awarded the D.Litt. in 1969 for her contribution to scholarship and lectured at various conferences and American universities. During this period of her life she lived at the Barn House in Burford. She died in 1980.
Kathleen Annie Raven was born on 9 November 1910, the oldest daughter of Fredric William Raven and Annie Williams Raven (née Mason). She was educated at Ulverston Grammar School, and trained as a nurse at St Bartholomew's Hospital, London, and the City of London Maternity Hospital, qualifying as SRN in 1936 and SCM in 1938. Starting as Night Superintendent at St Bartholomew's in 1937, she became Ward Sister, Administrative Sister, and Assistant Matron, before moving to the post of Matron at the General Infirmary, Leeds, in 1949. At Leeds she met and later (1959) married John Thornton Ingram (Physician in charge, Dermatological Department, Leeds General Infirmary, and Lecturer in Dermatology, University of Leeds, 1927-1958). From 1950 to 1957 she was an Internal Examiner for the Diploma of Nursing at the University of Leeds. In 1957 she left the LGI to take up appointment as Deputy Chief Nursing Officer at the Ministry of Health (later the Department of Health and Social Security). The following year (1958) she became Chief Nursing Officer, a post she held until her retirement in 1972. She became DBE in 1968. After her retirement as CNO she served as a Civil Service Commissioner (1972-80), and acted as Chief Nursing Adviser to the Allied Medical Group from 1974-86, making in the latter role many trips to Egypt, Saudi Arabia, the United Arab Emirates, and other countries. She also served on the Council of the Distressed Gentlefolk's Aid Association (1974-89), and, from 1992, as Vice President, Epsom College Medical Foundation. She became a Fellow of the RCN in 1986, and received honorary degrees from the Universities of Keele (1992) and Leeds (1996). Dame Kathleen Raven died on 19 April 1999.
Keith Castellain Douglas (1920-1944), the war poet and prose writer, was born in Kent, brought up near Cranleigh, Surrey, and educated at Christ's Hospital and Merton College, Oxford, where he edited 'The Cherwell' and wrote stories and poems. At the outbreak of the Second World War he volunteered for the army, was trained at Sandhurst and Wickwar, and in 1941 was posted to Palestine. The history of his time in North Africa is told in his memoir 'Alamein to Zem Zem' (1946). He returned to England in 1943 and in 1944 was sent to France. There he was killed in action in Normandy four days after the D-day landings. His 'Complete poems' and a prose miscellany were edited in 1987 and 1985 respectively by Desmond Graham, who had also earlier written his biography, 'Keith Douglas 1920-1944' (1974).
Kellett, Brown and Company Limited, of Clover Greaves Mill, Calverley, near Leeds, were spinners, commission scribblers and spinners, scourers, fullers, and tenterers, established in 1834.
Ken Smith (1938-2003) was a poet who attended the University of Leeds, studying with Geoffrey Hill, Tony Harrison and Jon Silkin. He co-edited Stand magazine from 1963-1972. He taught at the University of Leeds as a Yorkshire Arts Fellow from 1976-1978.
Kenneth Hopkins (1914-1988), the poet, novelist, and creator of the Grasshopper Press, Derby. For fuller details of his life and achievements see 'The Oxford Companion to Twentieth-Century Poetry in English'.
Anna Gordon Keown (1902-1957), the poet, novelist and playwright (Mrs Philip Gosse). For fuller details of her life and achievements see 'Who was who', Vol.5.
Containing two main elements, the personal library of the writer and physician Dr Philip Gosse (1879-1959) and a supplementary collection of works by 20th-century English poets. The former, reflecting Dr Gosse's interests in literature, pirates, cricket and many other topics, was presented to the library in memory of his wife, the novelist Anna Gordon Keown. A financial endowment from Dr Gosse has allowed development of the supplementary collection. Manuscripts and correspondence of Dr Gosse and his wife are also held.
Kevin Crossley-Holland, the poet, translator, writer of children's stories, and broadcaster, was born in Mursley, North Buckinghamshire in 1941 and educated at Bryanston School and St Edmund Hall, Oxford. After graduating he was a Gregory Fellow in Poetry at Leeds University 1969-1971, and from 1967-1978 he lectured in Anglo-Saxon literature and culture for the Tufts University London Program. He also worked as a children's book editor for Macmillan and Victor Gollancz. He later taught for extended periods in America, first as Visiting Professor of English and Fulbright Scholar at St Olaf College, Minnesota, 1990, then as Professor and Endowed Chair in the Humanities and Fine Art at the University of St Thomas, Minnesota, 1991-1995. He has published numerous volumes of adult poetry and several libretti for opera, and is well known for his version of Beowulf. 'Storm', his novella, won the Carnegie Medal in 1985.
Works which are concerned with the monarchy of Great Britain. They are mostly modern works, with titles dating from between 1930 and 1996. The works themselves are principally concerned with individual members of the Royal Family of the 20th century. However some of the works deal with other aspects of the Monarchy, including the royal residences such as Clarence House, and the rites and ceremonies associated with royalty. This collection also contains a large number of newspaper and magazine special editions, to commemorate notable events for the Royal Family.
Kurt Graupner was born on 1 May 1911 at Schonbrum near Lengenfeld in Saxony and was brought up in Falkenstein, Saxony. He worked at the local lace factory and for a short while was manager of the yarn department. In 1933 he moved to Nottingham where he had acquaintances through the lace industry, but soon moved to work in the textile industry in Bradford. For a while he taught German privately and at night school, and subsequently began to contribute to (and then to distribute) the periodical "Freies Deutschland" published by the anti-Nazi propagandist Max Sievers, who visited him in Bradford. Graupner was interned when France fell in 1940, first in the Isle of Man. He was sent to Canada but was soon released and brought back to Britain. For the rest of the war he worked in a tractor factor in Bradford. He married in 1943 and became a British subject after the war, continuing with his left-wing activities. Until his retirement he worked in the redundant yarn industry.
In the autumn of 1862 the American Civil War began to affect the supply of raw cotton to the Lancashire cotton districts. As a result, mills closed down and several thousand workers became unemployed. The Lord Mayor of London started a relief fund, and another was begun in Manchester. In Leeds a fund was opened following a public meeting held on 3 November 1862. A committee of about 60 leading citizens was appointed to organise the fund. House-to-house canvassing was organised by local ward committees, while prominent citizens and large firms were approached by the main committee. By January 1863 the main crisis was over, and the committee, which had been meeting daily, began to meet first weekly and then irregularly. In 1866 the undisbursed surplus remaining in the fund was distributed to various charitable causes in Leeds.
English language in the period 1600-1750. As well as many language dictionaries, it also contains some examples of law and medical dictionaries, dating from the 18th century, and an early example of a geographical dictionary. This collection also contains individual works which deal with other aspects of language, such as a work on wit, early works on fables, and an early work on aphorisms and apophthegms.
The dates of publication span the late 17th century to the late 19th century. The works are principally in English and German. Subjects include language and language classification, study and teaching, philosophy, and literature. It also contains works on the Turkish language and Anglo-Saxon literature.
Lascelles Abercrombie M.A. was born in 1881, and was the sixth son of William Abercrombie of Cheshire. He was educated at Malvern College, and at the Victoria University, Manchester. His education was chiefly scientific. He soon became well-known as a poet and a man of letters. From 1919-22 he was Lecturer in Poetry at the University of Liverpool, leaving there to become Professor of English Literature at the University of Leeds, where he stayed until 1929 when he left to take up a Professorship at the University of London.
Dating from the 17th century onwards, it focuses mainly on examples of reprinted Latin literature principally from authors Virgil, Horace, Cicero, Terence and Erasmus. It also contains some works of criticism and interpretation of classical authors. The works themselves cover a variety of topics including agriculture, astronomy, and early science. The works in this collection are predominantly in Latin.
(Robert) Laurence Binyon (1869-1943), the poet, art historian and critic. For fuller details of his life and achievements see the 'Dictionary of National Biography'.
The Law Collection dates from the middle of the 17th century onwards. Much of the collection consists of a large number of law reports, which date from the 17th century through to the 19th century. These law reports deal mostly with Great Britain, but Irish law reports are also represented. Other subjects include land tenure, Justices of the peace, Roman law, British conveyancing, equity, ecclesiastical law and bankruptcy. The collection also contains a small number of 19th century biographical works on lawyers and judges, and some works on other aspects of law, such as military law and maritime law.
Leeds Academic Assistance Committee was founded in 1933 by John Harry Jones, Professor of Economics, and others, to collect funds for the support of academic refugees from Nazi Germany. The Committee sponsored three scholars: Dr Robert Bloch, a Jewish botanist, who was enabled to emigrate to the United States; Dr Boris Kaufmann, a Jewish mathematician, who went to Cambridge; and Dr Lothar Richter, a Lutheran and civil servant, who went to Canada as an expert on unemployment.
Leeds and West Riding Medico-Chirurgical Society was established in 1872 by the amalgamation of the Leeds Medical Club and the Leeds Medical Society. It attained a leading position in provincial medical societies and was instrumental in setting up a library for the Leeds Medical School.
Leeds Archive of Vernacular Culture, (Survey of English Dialects, and the Institute of Dialect and Folk Life Studies)
The dialectologist Harold Orton (1898-1975) was born in Byers Green (County Durham). Following service in the Durham Light Infantry during the First World War, he studied dialectology at Merton College, Oxford University, before taking up teaching positions at Uppsala University, Armstrong College (Newcastle upon Tyne), and the University of Sheffield. Whilst based at Armstrong College, he was instrumental in a survey of Northumbrian dialects. During the Second World War Orton was seconded to the British Council. In 1946 he became Professor of English Language and Medieval Literature at the University of Leeds. In collaboration with Swiss colleague Eugen Dieth (1893-1956) he instituted the English Dialect Survey. The majority of fieldwork for the Survey was conducted between 1950 and 1961 in over 300 mostly rural localities. The Survey publication programme included an Introduction (1962), four volumes of Survey of English Dialects Basic Material (1962-1971), A Word Geography of England (1974), and the Linguistic Atlas of England (1978). Orton was instrumental in the establishment of the Institute of Dialect and Folk Life Studies at the University of Leeds, having recognised the interdisciplinary nature of the study of dialects and folklore/folk life. The Institute opened in 1964 under the directorship of folklorist Steward Sanderson (1924-), who was previously based at the School of Scottish Studies at the University of Edinburgh. The Institute's remit included the ongoing collection of research and other materials relating to dialect, folklore, and folk life, including a Folk Life Survey; and teaching and research in various aspects of these subject areas at undergraduate and postgraduate level. The Institute was closed in 1983 due to University budget cuts.
Harold Orton was born in the mining village of Byers Green, County Durham, on 23 October 1898. He attended King James I Grammar School, Bishop Auckland, before going on to study at Hatfield College, University of Durham in 1916. It was from here that he enlisted in the Durham Light Infantry, serving from 1917-1919. He was injured twice in 1918, leaving his right arm permanently damaged. Following demobilisation, Orton studied at Merton College, Oxford University, under Professor H. C. Wyld. He was awarded a B.A. in 1921, a B.Litt. in 1923 and an M.A. in 1924. From 1924-1928 he was Lektor in English at Uppsala University in Sweden.
On returning to England Orton took up a post as a Lecturer at Armstrong College, Newcastle-upon-Tyne (then a college of the University of Durham). During this time the Armstrong College Survey of Northumbrian Dialects was inaugurated. Orton was very much involved in the Survey, and as part of his fieldwork used a portable disc-cutting machine to record informants. The discs and other items produced by Orton during the course of his Northumbrian survey work now form part of the Leeds Archive of Vernacular Culture.
In 1932 Harold Orton first met Eugen Dieth, with whom he would later work on the inception, development and eventual publication of their 'A Questionnaire for a Linguistic Atlas of England' (Leeds: Leeds Philosophical and Literary Society, 1952). In 1933 he published 'The Phonology of a South Durham Dialect : Descriptive, Historical, and Comparative' , a study of the dialect of his native Byers Green. In September 1939 Orton was appointed Lecturer in charge of English Language at the University of Sheffield. Following the outbreak of World War Two, he was seconded from this post to the British Council, first as Deputy Education Director, and then Acting Education Director.
Harold Orton accepted the Chair of English Language and Medieval English Literature at the University of Leeds in 1946. It was around this time that he and Eugen Dieth began actively to discuss collaboration on an English Dialect Survey, with work on the development of a Questionnaire beginning in 1947. (Click here or see below for further information on the Survey, its history and development.) During his time at the University of Leeds Orton combined his teaching commitments and dialectal research with administrative roles and other activities. He held the post of Dean of the Faculty of Arts from 1947-1949, was Chairman of the Board of the Faculties of Arts, Economics and Commerce, and Law from 1954-1956, and was also involved in the University Senate and University Committees. He was responsible for the resurrection of 'Leeds Studies in English', and was its Editor from 1952-1964.
Harold Orton was also committed to the development of study and teaching in dialect and folklife studies at the University of Leeds. In 1959 his 'Proposals for the Inception and Development of Folklore Studies within the School of English in the University of Leeds', co-authored with Professor A. Norman Jeffares, were submitted to the University authorities. These proposals led in the following year to the employment of Stewart Sanderson as Lecturer in Folk Life Studies within the School of English, and the establishment of the Folk Life Survey (initially focussing on Yorkshire) under Sanderson's direction. In June 1963 Orton put forward a proposal for the establishment of a Research Centre for the Study of Dialectal English; and in October of that year submitted proposals for a Leeds University Institute of Dialect and Folklife Studies. The Institute opened in 1964. (Click here or see below for further information on the Institute of Dialect and Folk Life Studies, its history and development).
In September 1964 Harold Orton officially retired, and was awarded the position of Professor Emeritus. As Editor in Chief of the Survey of English Dialects, he continued to be very much involved in the Survey and its publication programme. He also undertook a number of visits to universities in the United States to lecture and to promote dialect studies. He was Visiting Professor at the University of Michigan in 1965; at the University of Kansas in 1965, 1967 and 1968; at Iowa University in 1966 and 1969; and at the University of Tennessee in 1970. It was during his time at the University of Tennessee that he began to collaborate with Nathalia Wright on the production of 'A Word Geography of England', the first linguistic atlas based on the results of the Survey of English Dialects. He was awarded a Ph.D. in honoris causa from the University of Uppsala in 1969, and an Honorary D.Litt. from the University of Durham in 1970.
Harold Orton was also involved in activities relating to English language and dialectology beyond his academic commitments. From 1934-1940 he served as a Consultant Member on the BBC's Advisory Committee on Spoken English, and from 1940-1944 as a Member of the British Council's Advisory Committee on English Overseas. He was Editor of the 'Transactions of the Yorkshire Dialect Society' from 1947-1961, and was awarded the positions of Honorary Vice President in 1963, and Honorary Life Member in 1968. He was also awarded Honorary Membership of the Linguistic Societies of America and Canada in 1964 and 1965 respectively.
Harold Orton died on 7 March 1975, aged 76. He did not live to see the publication of 'The Linguistic Atlas of England', the ultimate aim of the Survey of English Dialects.
The Survey of English Dialects.
When plans for a survey of the dialects of England were first put forward, and throughout its planning, creation, development and implementation, the Survey was known as the English Dialect Survey (EDS). The title, Survey of English Dialects (SED), historically refers to the publication programme that followed the Survey proper. It is this title that is used throughout the Leeds Archive of Vernacular Culture catalogue.
Harold Orton and Professor Eugen Dieth (the latter based at the University of Zürich) first discussed the idea of producing a survey-based Linguistic Atlas of England in the 1930s, but it was not until the period immediately after World War Two that the Survey began to take shape, following a letter from Dieth to Orton in July 1945. The changing social landscape in the War's aftermath, increasing social and geographical mobility and the growing influence of broadcast media, would inevitably alter Britain's linguistic landscape. A survey of English dialectal usage at this time was therefore felt to be of the utmost importance in linguistic terms. In Orton's own words, the time was ripe for one more, and possibly the last, coordinated large-scale investigation of the all-important English dialects.
In discussing plans for the Survey, Orton and Dieth were influenced by the methodology employed by Hans Kurath for his 'Linguistic Atlas of New England' (Providence: Brown University, 1939-1943). As a result, they recognised the need for a specially devised questionnaire with which to collect dialectal data, and the direct interviewing of linguistic informants by trained fieldworkers. In addition they hoped to glean additional data on familiar dialect forms through the recording of casual conversation, and aimed to make mechanical recordings of informants. Although the latter was not possible in the immediate post-war period, these four precepts were to form the basis of fieldwork for the Survey of English Dialects.
Work on the first version of the Survey Questionnaire began in 1947. Between 1947 and 1951, Orton, Dieth and research assistants Peter Wright and Fritz Röhrer developed and revised five versions of the Questionnaire. Each version underwent testing in the field, and by 1950 Orton and Peter Wright were able to make the first official recordings for the SED, using Questionnaire version 5 at Spofforth in West Yorkshire. Version 5 was also the first version of the Questionnaire to be published, and was issued by the Leeds Philosophical and Literary Society as part of its 'Transactions' in 1952. The complete Questionnaire consisted of 1092 numbered questions, including over 1300 individual questions, aimed at eliciting responses which would demonstrate lexical, phonological, morphological and syntactical aspects of the dialect of each locality.
From 1950 to 1961 trained fieldworkers collected linguistic data for the SED using the Questionnaire in 313 individual localities. An initial network of 300 localities was drawn up by Peter Wright in 1949-1950, which was supplemented by eleven sites investigated by Howard Berntsen and David Parry in 1960-1961, and two sites added at the editorial stage from results collected by David Parry and Peter Wright. The majority of the localities selected were rural communities, with preference given to small communities with a historically stable population. Areas of known dialect contact were avoided, and consideration was given to physical features such as hills and rivers which might at one time have formed natural dialect boundaries. Fieldworkers were responsible for finding suitable informants at each location, with the selection criteria crucial in maintaining the goal of comparability between dialects. In most cases two or three informants were selected at each location. Preference was given to non-mobile, older, rural males with a long-established presence in the community and (preferably) born of native parents. Data was recorded manually in fieldwork response books using narrow phonetic notation approved by the International Phonetic Association in 1951. Fieldwork was facilitated through the acquisition of a dialect car, which enabled principal fieldworker Stanley Ellis to conduct fieldwork throughout the UK whilst living in a caravan with his family.
The experimental tape-recording of SED informants began in 1952, using a portable tape recorder. Harold Orton, Stanley Ellis and Peter Wright all recorded informants answering the SED Questionnaire. Ideally, Orton would have liked to mechanically record the answers of all informants to the entire questionnaire, but the recording quality at this stage was unsatisfactory, and costs made it prohibitive. In 1952 Peter Wright experimented with recording samples of informants' casual speech/conversation. Following the acquisition in 1953 of a mains-operated tape recorder, and the subsequent improvement in the sound quality of the recordings, the recording of the casual speech of a selected informant at each SED location became part of the Survey structure. Some localities were revisited in order to make mechanical recordings at localities where fieldwork had been undertaken prior to the regular use of the tape recorder. In some revisited localities it was necessary to find new informants to record as the original informants had died. Tape recordings had been made in all SED localities by 1967. Fieldworkers selected samples from the field recordings, which were first dubbed onto 78 rpm shellac gramophone discs, and later 33.3 rpm 12 inch double-sided discs, by Henry Ellis, technician at the University of Leeds' Phonetics Department.
Eugen Dieth died on 24 May 1956 and thus did not live to see the fruits of the Survey's fieldwork in its published form. The first publication to come from the Survey (following the publication of the Questionnaire by the Leeds Philosophical and Literary Society) was the Introduction, published by E. J. Arnold and Son Limited in 1962. As well as giving information on the history and scope of the SED, this included a revised version (version 6) of the Questionnaire published in 1952, and outlined the SED publication programme envisaged by Orton. Such a programme was to include four volumes of Basic Material, in tabular form (The Six Northern Counties and Man; the West Midland Counties; the East Midland Counties and East Anglia; and the Southern Counties); four companion volumes of selected Incidental Material; a linguistic atlas of England; and phonetic transcriptions of the tape-recorded speech of selected informants. In addition, the programme was to have included an anthology of selected tape-recordings of informants. The Basic Material volumes, each in three parts, were published between 1962 and 1971. Although not strictly part of the SED publication programme, 'A Word Geography of England', a collaborative work based on lexical SED data compiled by Harold Orton and Nathalia Wright of the University of Tennessee, was published in 1974.
The culminating point of the SED publication programme was the production of the work that had always been the ultimate goal of Orton and Dieth's Survey, 'The Linguistic Atlas of England' (LAE). In 1968 Stewart Sanderson, Director of the Institute of Dialect and Folk Life Studies, agreed to co-edit the Atlas with Orton, and to oversee its completion should Orton be unable to. John Widdowson joined the editorial team as a third co-editor in 1971, and a grant from the Leverhulme Trust enabled the employment of research assistants Sue Powell and Clive Upton, and a cartographic draughtsman to work on the production of the LAE maps. The completed atlas consisted of 473 maps representing 300 phonological, 80 lexical, 84 morphological and 9 syntactical notions. Published in 1978, Orton did not live to see its completion.
Harold Orton and the English Dialect Survey were initially based on the University campus at 1 Virginia Road. In 1959 the Survey headquarters moved to the Arts Building, University Road, and in 1968/69 moved again to the Biology multi-purpose Building.
The Institute of Dialect and Folk Life Studies.
Harold Orton was instrumental in the establishment of the Institute for Dialect and Folk Life Studies. Proposals for the inception and development of folklore studies within the School of English in the University of Leeds were first submitted to the University authorities by Orton and Professor A. Norman Jeffares in November 1959. In the proposal, the University of Leeds is cited as the obvious place for a department of Folklore Studies following the research undertakings of the Survey of English Dialects. Orton realised that the data collected, contacts made and equipment used in the survey, could be utilised in survey work and research in folklore; and his recognition of the interdisciplinary nature of dialect and folk life studies prompted him to assert that University departments including History, Sociology, Phonetics, Geography, Economics and Agriculture, as well as the wider community, would take an interest in the activities of a department specialising in the study of folklore. He championed the establishment of an academic centre for research, study and teaching in folklore which could compete and co-operate with existing institutions in Scandinavia, mainland Europe and beyond. As such, Orton and Jeffares proposed the establishment of a specialised lectureship in Folklore and Folk Tale Studies, and the inauguration of a Folk Life Survey which would focus initially on the Yorkshire region. A copy of this proposal is held at LAVC/STA/1/1/3/6.
Orton and Jeffares' proposal was successful and in 1960 Stewart Sanderson, a folklorist previously based at the School of Scottish Studies in Edinburgh, was appointed Lecturer in Folk Life Studies in the School of English at Leeds. The Folk Life Survey was also inaugurated in this year under Sanderson's Directorship. Following an unsuccessful proposal submitted in June 1963 for the establishment of a Research Centre for the Study of Dialectal English, in October 1963 Harold Orton submitted another proposal to the University of Leeds for the establishment of an Institute of English Dialect, Folklife and Folklore Studies (a copy of which is held at LAVC/STA/1/1/3/6). It is clear from this proposal that as well as continuing to press for a centre for the academic study and research of these subjects, including survey work and the collection and preservation of archival resources, Orton was keen to find a home for the continuation of the Survey of English Dialects and its publication programme. His proposal was successful, and the Institute of Dialect and Folk Life Studies was formally opened in October 1964 under the Directorship of Stewart Sanderson.
The Institute was initially accommodated in numbers 2, 4, 6 and 8 Virginia Road, on the main University campus. In 1968/69, it was relocated to the University's Biology multi-purpose Building, and in March 1980 (as part of the School of English) moved to a building in Cavendish Road.
From the outset, the Folk Life Survey (FLS) was an integral part of the programme of Folk Life Studies at the University of Leeds. As with the dialects investigated in the SED, it was clear to both Orton and Sanderson that as society continued to change, many British oral, material and social traditions were gradually disappearing, as were the opportunities to record them. The FLS was seen as a continuation and extension of the work undertaken by the SED.
In the first instance, the FLS was to focus on the collection and analysis of oral, material and social traditions in Yorkshire. It was envisaged that the Survey would eventually extend to survey work in other counties, and in Wales and Scotland (conducted either as part of the Leeds FLS or survey work by other institutions). An archive would be created from the items collected, which would also serve as a holding repository for folk life material collected in other counties until such time as surveys of those counties were inaugurated. The objectives of the Survey were initially limited to research into whether versions of international folk tale types were still extant in oral tradition, the recording of traditional crafts and craft vocabularies, and the recording of local festivals. Fieldwork was to be undertaken by Survey (and later Institute) staff, undergraduate and postgraduate students, and voluntary collectors. There was also to be a publication programme based on the Survey's findings (see Stewart Sanderson's Memorandum on the Folk Life Survey, held at LAVC/STA/1/1/3/6). Many of the items in the archives of the Institute of Dialect and Folk Life Studies are testament to the ongoing nature of the Folk Life Survey, and the development of its archives throughout the Institute's lifetime. These include items in the LAVC photographic and audio collections, the Folk Life File and specific surveys undertaken by members of staff at the Institute.
Teaching activities at the Institute focussed on both stimulating the interest and imagination of students in aspects of folklore, folk life and dialect, and training students in fieldwork and research. A series of survey courses were offered at undergraduate level, including an introduction to the theory and principles of the study of oral, material and social traditions; oral literature; custom and belief; and ballad and folk song. Fieldwork techniques, the classification of items and other practical aspects of the study of folklore, folk life and dialect were also taught. An extended piece of research in the form of a dissertation was also expected at undergraduate level. Postgraduate teaching was initially offered at Diploma level, and aimed at the professional training of students in archive methods, fieldwork, photography and sound recording, the preservation of museum specimens, exhibition techniques, as well as involving survey courses. The postgraduate teaching programme was further developed to include an M.A. in Folk Life Studies; and also included provision for higher research degrees at M.Phil. and Ph.D. level. The production of student theses and dissertations at both undergraduate and postgraduate level, on aspects of folklore, folk life and dialects, including studies of traditional crafts, customs and oral traditions, ultimately contributed to the development of the Folk Life Survey's archives.
In addition to its general teaching activities, the Institute was involved in providing short courses for students undertaking professional training for museum work, in conjunction with the Museums Association. It was also involved in the hosting of conferences for organisations such as the Oral History Society and the British Association.
The Institute closed in September 1983 due to University budget cuts.
The Leeds Chamber of Commerce was formed in April 1851, although incomplete records exist of an earlier organisation covering the period 1785-1793.
One of two important collections assembled by Yorkshire Quakers and housed by the Brotherton Library, the other being the Birkbeck Library. The collection had formed the meeting library for about 150 years from the early 18th century, and consists of upwards of 500 volumes containing about 1,000 separate items, dated mostly between 1651 and 1850. It includes subjects of the Society of Friends' history, apologetic works, doctrinal and controversial works and Quaker biography.
Leeds General Cemetery was established in 1833 as a joint stock company, to provide and maintain a burial ground in Leeds. The site chosen was St George's Fields near Woodhouse Moor close to the road to Headingley and Otley. In the 1930s it became clear that the ground would not last much longer, and by the end of the Second World War the cemetery became rather neglected. Therefore, after some controversy, the University of Leeds, whose site and buildings had nearly surrounded the cemetery, acquired the Company in 1956, and subsequently landscaped the site under the provisions of the University of Leeds Act (1965). A photographic record of the inscriptions on tomb-stones in the cemetery was made before it was landscaped. Unfortunately the copy held by the University architects was destroyed by fire in the 1970s, while the set of negatives deposited with the Registrar General in London cannot currently be located.
Leeds Luncheon Club was founded on 12 February 1913 at the initiative of Sir Michael Sadler, then the Vice-Chancellor of the University of Leeds, and Mr Walter Parsons, a prominent citizen of Leeds. The aim of the Club was to provide for men engaged in the business life of the city, and in its literary, scientific, commercial, social, and religious activities, opportunities for personal intercourse and for the discussion of matters of common interest, in a way probably not then accomplished in any other English town. At the Foundation Meeting of the Club, held in the University, it was decided that opinions on theological and political questions should not affect eligibility for membership; and that, in the choice of subjects suggested to or proposed by invited guest speakers of the Club, topics on which strong differences of opinion might exist among the members should not be excluded. The Club, therefore, through its elected Committee, extended hospitality to the representatives of various convictions, without in any degree committing members of the Club to an endorsement of the views expressed by its guests. Membership of the Club was by election by the existing members and at one time reached about 450. In its early days the Club usually met weekly on Mondays throughout the greater part of the year for luncheon from 1pm to 2pm and always included a half-hour speech on a chosen subject by a guest speaker, who was usually a prominent public figure. Latterly, the frequency of meetings was reduced to approximately monthly. Speakers included prime ministers of the day, senior churchmen, university professors, and experts in various fields of learning or work. The Club was always regarded as a good forum for the uninhibited expression of various points of view. Latterly, the University's representation in the membership declined, and in 1987 the Club considered its own future, but has remained in existence since then.
The book collection ranges widely over all the disciplines, especially scientific subjects, and does not confine itself to British research: there are, for example, many American and Canadian publications. A handful of works date from the 17th century, and some hundred from the 18th, the rest being spread fairly evenly over the decades between 1800 and 2000. A feature of the collection is its many long runs of journals and series. It is a useful resource for students of the history of science. The Zoology section includes a remarkable number of handbooks and catalogues of species. This sizeable collection complements the Library's holdings of LPLS manuscripts (the Society's minute-books, etc which date from its origins in the early 19th century).
The Leeds Philosophical and Literary Society was founded in 1819 and played an important role in further education, in both the sciences and the humanities, in Leeds throughout most of the 19th century. The changing patterns of higher education and other circumstances were causing the Society to reconsider the scope of its activities by the time of the First World War. After the War the Society transferred its museum to the City of Leeds and its library to the University, and concentrated its efforts on publishing the results of research, issuing since 1925 two series of 'Proceedings' ('Literary and Historical' and 'Scientific').
The Leeds Russian Archive (LRA) was established in 1982. It is a management group for over 500 individual collections of archives, manuscripts and photographs.
The first hall for the sale of white cloth in Leeds was financed by merchants and tradesmen and erected in Kirkgate, Leeds, opening in April 1711. Business flourished, and in 1755 a new hall was built, financed by subscriptions from clothiers, and occupying a site on a strip of land between Hunslet Lane and Meadow Lane. By the mid-1770s this hall also had become too small. Merchants seeking to keep the cloth market centralised in Leeds initiated the building of a third White Cloth Hall which opened in October 1775. A fourth hall was established in the 1860s.
This artificial collection of individual and groups of manuscripts includes deeds, wills, petitions and other categories of legal document that do not form parts of larger archive collections. Similar types of manuscripts will be commonplace within larger named archive collections.
James Henry Leigh Hunt (1784-1859) was an essayist and poet. For full details of his life and achievements see the 'Dictionary of National Biography'.
This artificial collection reflects individual and groups of manuscript letters accessioned in Special Collections. Letters can be found within larger named archival collections and the Brotherton Collection. An extensive (but not exhaustive) letters database provides details of over 30,000 letters across the collections.
Malcolm Quin was born in 1854. He was the author of a number of books and pamphlets on positivism, religion and politics.
The Liddle Collection is an archive of First and Second World War material, which its founder, Peter Liddle, began to collect from veterans and their descendants in the early 1970s.
The Liddle Collection is an archive of First and Second World War material, which its founder, Peter Liddle, began to collect from veterans and their descendants in the early 1970s.
Works dating from 1668 to 1848. Subjects include grammar, language and languages, elocution, ethnology and phonetics. Includes individual items on phonetics and spelling reform.
Lister and Company Limited, of Manningham Mills, Bradford, were woolcombers, silk spinners, and knitting wool manufacturers, established in 1838.
The core English literary section of the Brotherton Collection (based on the bequest of Lord Brotherton's personal library in 1936), with its emphasis on English poetry and drama from 1600 to 1750. The holdings of major works (such as the four 17th-century folios of Shakespeare), of major authors like Dryden, Pope and Swift, and of work by more obscure figures are all good. Literary criticism of the period and translations from European languages into English are also important interests.
The chief feature of this collection is a body of some 580 texts of concrete poetry; purchasing and collecting in this area is a special priority. While the poetry is mainly in English, other languages are also included, especially German. Of the whole collection, about one-fifth of the texts are in languages other than English (mainly German, French, Spanish, Portuguese and Italian). The subject-matter of the collection is literature and literary movements and theories which do not belong exclusively to one language or culture.
The Little Owl society was formed in Leeds on 11 November 1879. Initially the twelve members met each week to read and discuss a work of prose or poetry; this evolved into a fortnightly programme of talks and events. Charitable activities were also undertaken, including the Flower Mission and evening entertainments or summer treats for various institutions.
The twentieth-century incarnation of the London Magazine was launched in 1954, with John Lehmann as editor. Lehmann stated that the magazine was "for those who enjoy reading stories, poems and articles by the leading authors of today; for those who want to follow the development of new talent at home and abroad; [and] for those who look for first-class criticism by a first-class team of reviewers." T.S. Eliot welcomed it as "the magazine which will boldly assume the existence of a public interested in serious literature". Lehmann was succeeded by Alan Ross, who remained editor from 1961 until his death in 2001 and broadened the magazine's scope to include all the arts. The magazine was re-launched in 2002 under the editorship of Sebastian Barker.
The twentieth-century incarnation of the London Magazine was launched in 1954, with John Lehmann as editor. Lehmann stated that the magazine was "for those who enjoy reading stories, poems and articles by the leading authors of today; for those who want to follow the development of new talent at home and abroad; [and] for those who look for first-class criticism by a first-class team of reviewers." Lehmann was succeeded by Alan Ross, who remained editor from 1961 until his death in 2001 and broadened the magazine's scope to include all the arts. The magazine was re-launched once more in 2002. London Magazine Editions were a series of individual books produced to complement the magazine itself, concentrating on works by contemporary authors and artists including novels, novellas and short stories, poetry, memoirs, biographies, criticism, and travel.
The Longman Annotated English Poets series began publishing in 1965 under the editorship of Professor F.W. Bateson.
Louis Henry Hayter died on 16 February 1953, aged 87, at Bridgewater, Somerset. He was a native of Sussex and the son of a guardsman who had fought in the Crimea. Louis spent practically all his adult life in Conservative politics, and even at the age of 22 was speaking in Midlothian against Gladstone's Home Rule proposals. Hayter was briefly Conservative agent at Barnard Castle, Co. Durham, and then spent sixteen years as the party's agent in the constituency of Westminster. He was especially active in local government and having failed to be elected at Bow in 1895, represented Westminster on the London County Council from 1897 to 1904. He subsequently moved to Taunton where he acted as Conservative agent not only for the Taunton and Bridgewater constituencies but also for Falmouth in Cornwall. He is said to have conducted twenty-two Parliamentary elections in the Conservative interest. A brief obituary of him was published in 'The Times' on 19 February 1953.
The inauguration meeting of the Yorkshire Lubricating Oil and Grease Trades' Association was held at the Hotel Metropole, Leeds, on 16 May 1923. The original objects of the Association were to negotiate with the railway companies over charges for the transport of oil; to safeguard the trade against trusts or combines who would sell directly to consumers; the mutual protection of members against selling at or below cost; representation of the Yorkshire trade in relation to issues of national interest through membership of the National Federation; and to establish bona fides for oil traders.
Maarten Maartens (1858-1915) was a Dutch novelist who wrote in English. For details of his life and works see 'Who was who, 1897-1916'.
The project was initiated in the early 1960s by research teams in Leeds and Malta universities, the principal investigators being Dr Benedikt Isserlin (Semitic Studies, Leeds) and Professor Joseph Aquilina (Malta), with the aim of recording spoken Maltese at various dialect levels and the objective of obtaining new information about spoken Maltese, its phonetics and lexis, and to acquire a better understanding of the islands and their history through the material culture. The method applied was to elicit data from local informants via questionnaires and interviews. The project remained uncompleted, though extensive fieldwork was carried out and research material collected.
This artificial collection reflects individual and groups of manuscript catalogues and bibilographies accessioned in Special Collections. Similar material can be found in larger named archival collections.
This artificial collection of individual and groups of manuscript verse reflects accessions to Special Collections. These items do not form part of the extensive 'Brotherton Collection Manuscript Verse' index, accessible in the collection guides.
The remote manor of Marrick in Swaledale, North Yorkshire, was most notable for centuries for the mining of lead in its vicinity. Although the evidence for lead mining there during the Roman occupation is slight, it was certainly being undertaken by the time of the Norman conquest. A century later, in about 1165, a priory for Benedictine nuns was established at Marrick, substantially supported by income deriving from the local lead mines. In 1540 the Priory's closure was brought about by Henry VIII's dissolution of the monasteries. A complex history of changing ownership of the valuable surrounding lands then began, continuing until the nineteenth century decline of lead production in the area.
The Leeds flax-spinning firm of Marshall and Co. was founded in 1788 by John Marshall, the son of a draper. He took complete control in 1802, and the firm remained under the control of the Marshall family until its closure in 1886.
The Marshall Family of Leeds owned a flax-spinning firm from 1788 until its closure in 1886.
Works dating from between 1737 and 1947. Subjects include astrology, geometry, calculus, algebra, fluid mechanics and probabilities. The collection also includes the periodical Journal für die reine und angewandte Mathematik, dating from 1826 to 1902.
Alf Mattison was born in Hunslet, close to Leeds, in 1868. After spending some of his early years as an apprentice engineer, he worked for most of his life at Leeds City Tramways Department. It was in his late teens that he became interested in politics and the labour movement, befriending Tom Maguire and other local labour figures. At 17 he joined William Morris' Socialist League. He was influential in the early development of the Independent Labour Party, attending the inaugural conference of the party in Bradford, in 1893. He was friends with important figures in the labour and socialist movement, including Edward Carpenter, John Lister, Philip Snowden and Ramsay MacDonald. An enthusiastic local historian in later life, he gave many talks in Leeds on local and labour history.
By the time of his death in 1944 he had amassed a large collection of books, photographs and original documents that provide a unique insight into the history of socialism, both nationally and locally.
Formerly the library of Alf Mattison (1868-1944), a Leeds socialist and local historian. It is an extensive collection concentrating on early socialism, particularly the history of the Labour Party and the Independent Labour Party. Important features of the collection are its extensive range of pamphlets and its runs of scarce socialist newspapers. Subjects include economic conditions in Britain, communism, socialism, the working class, Trade Unions and the Labour Party.
Maurice Beresford was Professor of Economic History at the University of Leeds, 1959-1985
May Sybil Leslie graduated BSc with first class honours in chemistry at Leeds in 1908. She was awarded a University postgraduate scholarship, was elected to an 1851 Exhibition Scholarship and took her master's degree in 1909. She then went to Paris to undertake research under Mme Curie where she stayed for several years and published some papers in French on radioactive thorium. During the First World War she spent some time in industry as a chemist with Messrs Brotherton at Liverpool. In 1918 she was awarded a DSc by the University of Leeds in recognition of her work on both radioactive substances and technical problems in relation to the large-scale manufacture of explosives. In the session 1918-9 she returned to Leeds as a demonstrator in the Department of Chemistry and became a full lecturer in physical chemistry in 1928. She was especially involved with the chemistry of synthetic dyestuffs. In that session she left the University, having married some years previously Alfred Hamilton Burr, a graduate in technology (applied chemistry) from Manchester. After his death she returned to the University of Leeds as sub-warden of Weetwood Hall (1935) and research assistant in her old department. She died on 3rd July 1937. Apart from various papers, she published a book on The Alkaline earth metals (1925). She bequeathed books and papers, and a sum of money, to the Brotherton Library.
The earliest work is a 1608 edition of Avicenna's Medicorum principis. Most of the books were published between 1750 and 1850, though a handful are earlier. Subjects include disease and disorders, health and health remedies.
Writer, broadcaster and parliamentarian, the Rt Hon Lord Melvyn Bragg was born in Wigton in Cumbria in 1939. After joining the BBC as a general trainee in 1962, Bragg went on to become a pre-eminent figure in arts broadcasting in Britain from the late 1960s on, editing, producing and presenting a wealth of pioneering, award-winning television and radio programmes across the cultural spectrum. Alongside his work in broadcasting, Melvyn Bragg has sustained a parallel career as a writer. He is the author of several screenplays, many works of non-fiction and more than a dozen novels. More detailed biographies can be found on the University of Leeds website at: http://library.leeds.ac.uk/info/369/leeds_lives/79/leeds_lives/8 and http://www.leeds.ac.uk/info/20015/senior_officers/33/the_rt_hon_lord_melvyn_bragg
Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy (1809-1847, the German romantic composer.
Merlyn Rees, cabinet minister and Labour Party politician, was born at Cilfynydd, near Pontypridd, on December 18 1920, the son of a miner. He was educated at Harrow Weald Grammar School and at Goldsmiths College, where he was president of the Students' Union, 1939-1941. After wartime service in the Royal Air Force, he studied at the London School of Economics. From 1949 to 1959 he was a master at his old school, teaching economics and history; and then a member of the Institute of Education at the University of London from 1959 to 1962. He stood unsuccessfully as the Labour Party candidate for Harrow East three times, before his election for Leeds South in 1963, at a by-election following the death of the Labour leader Hugh Gaitskell. He held this seat, which was renamed Leeds South and Morley in 1983, until he stood down at the 1992 general election. He was Parliamentary Private Secretary to the Chancellor of the Exchequer, James Callaghan, 1964-65. From Dec 1965 to Jun 1970 he was a junior minister at the Ministry of Defence and then at the Home Office. He became the shadow spokesman on Northern Ireland in 1972, and then Secretary of State for Northern Ireland when Labour returned to government in 1974. Following the resignation of Harold Wilson, Rees became Secretary of State for the Home Office in September 1976, and remained shadow spokeman for Home Affairs after May 1979. In 1981 he became shadow spokesman on Energy. In 1992 he was made a life peer as Baron Merlyn-Rees. He was president of the Video Standards Council from 1990 and Chancellor of the University of Glamorgan, 1994-2002. He was the author of 'The public sector in the mixed economy' (1973) and 'Northern Ireland: a Personal Perspective' (1985). He died on 5 January 2006.
Michael Bateman (1932-2006) was a writer and food journalist. He wrote for the Independent on Sunday.
Michael Hamburger, the poet, translator and literary critic, was born in Berlin in 1924 into a German-Jewish family which emigrated to England in 1933. He read Modern Languages at Christ Church, Oxford, although his studies were interrupted by war service from 1943-1947. After the war he held posts at University College, London and the University of Reading. From 1964 onwards he was a guest lecturer and visiting professor at various American universities, but mostly devoted himself to freelance writing and translation. His translations have won many prizes and awards, notably the Schlegel-Tieck prize three times, and he has translated - among others - from Baudelaire, Celan, Hölderlin and Enzensberger. His literary critical study, 'The truth of poetry', was published in 1969 and his 'Collected poems' in 1984.
Michael Millgate is Professor Emeritus of English, University of Toronto. He is author of 'The Achievement of William Faulkner' and 'Thomas Hardy: A Biography'.
The educationalist Sir Michael Sadler (1861-1943) was successively Secretary of the Oxford University Extension Delegacy, 1885-95; Director of the Office of Special Enquiries and Reports (Board of Education), 1895-1903; part-time professor of the history and administration of education at Manchester University, 1903-11; Vice-Chancellor of the University of Leeds, 1911-23; and Master of University College, Oxford, 1923-34. See the biographies by Michael Sadleir 'Michael Ernest Sadler (Sir Michael Sadler, K.C.S.I.),1861-1943: a memoir by his son', 1949, and by Lynda Grier 'Achievement in education: the work of Michael Ernest Sadler, 1885-1935' (1952).
Contains works dating from 1596 to the present day. Its classification follows that of the Modern History loan collection which it complements. Works on the modern history of the British Isles (mainly England, with smaller sections on Scotland, Wales and Ireland) form the largest single element of the collection, and the coverage of this subject includes works on British antiquities, the local history of counties, cities and towns, and constitutional history and historical sources. A second major part of the collection consists of works on the history of France. There are also smaller sections within the collection dealing with the history of Spain and Portugal, Italy, Germany and Austria, and other European (and non-European) countries, as well as general European history. Finally, works on ecclesiastical history form a third substantial part of the collection.
The former Modern Language Association was founded in 1892 to promote the study and teaching of modern languages. It merged with other language associations in 1990 to form the new Association for Language Learning.
Mortimer Collins (1827-1876) was a man of letters. For details of his life and work, see the 'Dictionary of National Biography'.
Dr Murray Mitchell worked for the British Geological Survey, specialising in the study of fossils found in Carboniferous limestone. Following his retirement he formed an honorary association with the Department of Earch Sciences at the University of Leeds.
Most of the works date from the 19th century onwards. The vast majority of the works are musical scores, with only a relatively small part of the collection consisting of interpretative criticism of music or composers, such as Haydn, Mozart, Handel and Wagner. The works dating from earlier centuries focus more on theoretical aspects of the subject, with a 17th-century musical textbook, and two early works dedicated to the study of the violin. Subjects include opera scores, including vocal scores, songs, oratorio scores, folk music, choruses, cantatas and programmes. The collection also contains a number of periodicals, including a run of 'The Musical Times'.
Contains many items from the library of W T Freemantle, from whom Lord Brotherton purchased numerous books. A special feature of the collection is the group of Mendelssohn manuscripts and letters which are described elsewhere. Among the printed works there are very many scores (mostly 19th century), representing a great many composers, and much song music. The composers are too numerous to list, but among those particularly well represented are Beethoven, Handel, Rossini, Mendelssohn and Dibdin. There are also biographies of composers, books on musical theory, and runs of a number of periodicals (eg 'Allgemeine musikalische Zeitung'; 'The Harmonicon'; 'Musical world'). The earliest book shelved with this collection is John Playford's three-volume 'An introduction to the skill of musick...', 1697, but the Incunabula section of the Brotherton Collection boasts a copy of F Gaffori, 'Practica musicae', 1497.
The National Union of Teachers Leeds Association was formed in 1902.
'The New Statesman' is a British weekly periodical representing the political and social views of the left as a counterbalance to the long-established right-wing Spectator (1828-). It was founded in 1913 by members of the Fabian Society, notably Sidney and Beatrice Webb and George Bernard Shaw. Its first editor was Clifford Sharp, although during his absence on military service in 1917-1918 John Collings Squire became its acting editor. Its influence increased during the post-war years, and when Kingsley Martin became editor in 1931 it merged with two competitors, 'The Athenaeum' and 'The Nation', to become known until 1957 as 'The New Statesman and Nation'. By 1945 its weekly circulation reached 70,000, and in its heyday in the mid 1960s circulation exceeded 90,000, so that it was indisputably the leading voice in British political commentary. The periodical has always had a significant literary content and interest in addition to its social and political emphasis, so that many prominent literary figures have over the years become associated with it in its correspondence columns, book reviews, and published poetry.
Zion Old British School, also known as Zion Sunday School, was founded in 1832 as a non-denominational school, serving the Holbeck and New Wortley areas of Leeds. Samuel Smiles was a teacher in its early years.
Newspapers and magazines from the 18th century to the present day. This collection is particularly strong on newspapers from the Yorkshire region, including Leeds Intelligencer, Leeds Mercury, Halifax Courier, Halifax Guardian, Yorkshire Post and Evening Post and the Yorkshire Factory Times. National and foreign newspapers include Les Temps Nouveaux, The Daily News, Private Eye, Illustrated London News, L'Illustration, the Gazette des Lettres, Gil Blas, Picture Post, Parliamentary Spy, and The Sketch
Norah Evelyn Smallwood, the publisher, was born on 30 December 1909 in Little Kingshill, Buckinghamshire and died on 11 October 1984 in Westminster Hospital, London. She was associated with Chatto & Windus from 1936 until her retirement in 1982. In 1973 she was awarded the OBE, and in 1981 she received an honorary D.Litt. from Leeds University. For fuller details of her life and achievements see the 'Dictionary of National Biography'.
(John) Norman Cameron, the poet and translator, was born in 1905 in India and educated at Fettes and Oriel College, Oxford, where he read Classics. He published poems in 'The Fettesian' and 'Oxford Poetry', as well as 'New Verse'. During the 1930s he worked for some years in the Colonial Service in Nigeria, then as an advertising copy-writer in London. His only original collection of poetry to be published during his lifetime, 'The Winter House', appeared in 1935. He was also a notable translator, of Rimbaud and Villon and much French prose, including 'Candide', 'Cousin Pons', and Stendhal's letters. During the Second World War he became a propagandist, notably in Italy. His 'Collected Poems', with an introduction by his close friend Robert Graves, did not appear until 1957, four years after his death in 1953, and his 'Complete Poems' did not appear until 1985.
The North Biddick colliery was originally opened sometime before 1710.
The Northern House publishing venture was established by Andrew Gurr and Jon Silkin in the Department of English Literature at Leeds in 1963. At Gurr's suggestion, the Chair of English Literature, A. Norman Jeffares, had agreed to provide funding for the acquisition of a hand printing press for the use of bibliography students. Gurr acquired an old double demy Albion hand press, typefaces and other equipment for just over £250, and the press was set up in the basement of the University gym, at that time underneath the Students' Union.
Works, mostly in the Norwegian language, cover a wide area of subjects connected with Norway, including history, laws, geography and topography, folklore, literature, art and archaeology, language and biography. The collection contains works that deal with Norwegian architecture, Norwegian numismatics and Norwegian politics. Authors include Henrik Ibsen, Bjørnstjerne Bjørnson and Knut Hamsun. While the works span the period from 1778 to the present day, the majority date from the late 19th century.
Principally from the library of Mary Cowden Clarke (1809-1898), daughter of the music publisher Joseph Novello. They reflect her scholarly interest in Shakespeare and her friendship with Dickens, Leigh Hunt and many other contemporary English literary authors. The associated manuscript collections have strong musical as well as literary interest.
Books, pamphlets and periodicals published between 1672 and 1992, with a large proportion of the works dating from the 19th and early 20th centuries. The majority of the books are in French. Most of this section consists of works collected by Adar Mitrecey, and presented to the Library through Sir James Baillie. Additions have been made to the collection through bequests and gifts. Subjects include witchcraft, prophecy, science, aesthetics, religions, philosophy, astronomy and astrology, hypnotism, numerology, graphology, freemasonry, spiritualism and demonology.
Most of the titles date from the second half of the 18th century or first half of the 19th century. Of particular interest are the multi-volume reports of the Commissioners for Parliamentary Boundaries (1832) and Municipal Corporations (1837), with their large fold-out maps of towns and cities, and the Report of the Lords of the Committee of Council concerning the Trade in Slaves (1789), with accompanying minutes of evidence taken before the Committee, and further papers subsequently submitted to it.
Opera North is England's national opera company in the North and one of Europe's leading arts organisations. The company tours throughout Europe.
Oscar Wilde, autograph letters and manuscripts, including the manuscript of his play 'The Duchess of Padua', with some related material
Oscar O'Flahertie Wills Wilde (1854-1900), the wit and dramatist. For fuller details of his life and achievements see the 'Dictionary of National Biography'.
Oswald Ashton Wentworth Dilke was Professor of Latin at the University of Leeds between 1967 and 1980.
Parkwood Mills Company, of Longwood, near Huddersfield, were commission spinners, twisters, warpers, weavers and menders, but by 1887, according to their Articles of Association, they were dyers, millers and finishers. They incorporated John Broadbent and Sons, who were woollen manufacturers, and Longwood Finishing Company, who were scourers, millers, dyers, finishers and London shrinkers.
George Patrick Meredith (1904-1978) was Professor of Psychology in the University of Leeds between 1949 and 1969.
Paul Barbier was Professor of French Language and Literature at the University of Leeds, 1903-1938.
Paul (Edward) Dehn (1912-1976), the poet and author of screenplays and documentaries. For fuller details of his life and achievements see 'Who was who', Vol.7.
Paul Mills, the poet, playwright and critic, was born in Cheshire in 1948 and educated at Sir John Deane's Grammar School, Northwich, and Edinburgh University. For several years following 1974 he taught English in a Birmingham Comprehensive School; he then held Writer's Fellowships at Manchester University and Christ's Hospital, Horsham (1976-1978), before becaming the last Gregory Fellow in Poetry at Leeds University. He and his family lived in California during the 1980s and toured around the Western United States. After his return to England he worked as a Lecturer in the School of Literature Studies at the College of Ripon and York St. John, York. His literary output has included several published collections of poetry, starting with 'North Carriageway' (1976), several plays, and critical works. Two of his plays have been performed, at the Royal National Theatre and at West Yorkshire Playhouse, and, in 1999, he was the winner of the Poetry Business Competition. Paul Mills's own website includes information on his work and a biography.
Paul Muldoon, the poet, was born in Portadown, County Armagh, Northern Ireland in 1951. He graduated from Queen's University Belfast, where Seamus Heaney was his tutor, and worked as a radio and television producer for BBC Belfast before moving to the United States in 1986, where he became director of the Creative Writing Program at Princeton University in 1990. He has published many collections of poetry, and was the winner of the Irish Times 1997 Irish Literature Prize for Poetry. For fuller details of his life and achievements see 'Who's who'.
Paul Roubiczek, the philosopher, publisher and journalist, was born in Prague, Czechoslovakia, in 1898. He served as a subaltern in the Austrian army during the First World War, but later became a pacifist. After the war he studied philosophy in Berlin, and then worked as a publisher and writer in Berlin, Paris, Vienna and Prague. He escaped from the Nazis at the outbreak of the Second World War, and moved with his wife to Cambridge. He gave German supervisions in various Cambridge colleges, and was employed by the German department of the University from 1961 to 1965. He lectured in philosophy for the University of Cambridge Board of Extra-Mural Studies, and in 1959 began a popular series of public lectures, entitled 'Philosophy, science and religion'. He was elected a Fellow of Clare College. In 1956 he had been granted the honorary degree of Master of Arts. Roubiczek died at Gmund in Bavaria in 1972.
The collection concerns members of the Pearson family from the early nineteenth century almost to the present, and, in particular, wider branches of it, namely, the Clarges and the Hawkes.
Founded in 1966, the Pennine Poets is a group of acclaimed and widely published writers who meet for creative workshops, stage readings and festivals, and produce a journal, 'Pennine Platform'. For many years the group was based in Heckmondwike, Yorkshire and are currently based in Wakefield.
Percy Fry Kendall, letters from various correspondents together with some other documents, all mainly on geological topics, 1886-1932
Percy Fry Kendall was born in Clerkenwell, London, in 1856. He studied at the Royal School of Mines in the early 1880s, and Huxley probably encouraged his interest in the biological aspects of geology. He moved to Manchester in 1885 where he enjoyed a Bishop Berkeley fellowship at Owen's College. After a few years as an assistant lecturer both there and at Stockport Technical College, he was appointed lecturer in geology at the Yorkshire College, Leeds, in 1892. Upon the College becoming the University of Leeds in 1904, he was promoted professor and held the chair until his retirement in 1922. He subsequently settled at Frinton-on-Sea, and died in 1936. His two main contributions to geology were his investigation of the glacial lakes of the Cleveland area of Yorkshire, and his postulation of the extent of the East Midlands concealed coalfield. He was awarded the Lyell Medal of the Geological Society in 1909 and was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society in 1924.
Peter Dale, materials relating to the composition and publication of 'Da Capo: a sequence of poems [by] Dale, with Back for somehow on: an essay on Da Capo [by] Philip Hoy' (London, 1997).
Peter (John) Dale, the poet, translator, interviewer, and editor, was born on 21 August 1938 and educated at Strode's School, Egham, Surrey, and St Peter's College, Oxford. He was Head of English at Hinchley Wood Comprehensive School, Surrey, for twenty-one years, and for a similar period shared the editing of 'Agenda' with William Cookson. His published poetry includes 'The storms' (1968) and 'Da Capo' (1997), his translations 'The seasons of Cankam' (1974) and 'Dante: The divine comedy' (1996 onwards), and his literary-critical work, 'An introduction to rhyme' (1998). Philip Hoy was born in 1952 and educated at Glastonbury High School in Surrey, and the Universities of York and Leeds. He has taught philosophy for many years both in the United Kingdom and overseas.
Peter Lichtenfels was born in Germany in 1949, but from early childhood lived in English- or French-speaking countries. He was educated in Quebec and Ontario, where he obtained a degree in drama from Queen's University, Kingston. The major part of his professional theatrical career has taken place in Britain. From 1975 to 1979 he was a trainee and then associate director at the Traverse Theatre, Edinburgh, and was its Artistic Director from 1981 to 1985. From 1986 to 1990 he was Artistic Director of the Haymarket Theatre in Leicester.
Peter Redgrove, poet, novelist, and dramatist, was born at Kingston upon Thames, Surrey on 2 January 1932. He attended Taunton School, and went on to read Natural Sciences at Queens College, Cambridge. During his time in Cambridge, he founded the student literary magazine Delta, which published early works by Ted Hughes and ran for some 20 years. He also became involved in 'The Group,' a cluster of poets brought together under the aegis of Philip Hobsbaum. From 1962 to 1965 was the sixth poet to become a Gregory Fellow at Leeds.
Peter Scott Rushforth, novelist, was born on 15 February 1945 in Gateshead, County Durham but brought up in Leeds, where he went to Cockburn High School; he then took an English degree at Hull University. After a Dip Ed at Nottingham University, he taught for four years at Huddersfield New College before taking up a post at Friends' School in Great Ayton, North Yorkshire. His first novel was 'Kindergarten', published in 1979 (Winner of the 1980 Hawthornden Prize), followed twenty-six years later by 'Pinkerton's Sister'. He died at Blakey Ridge, North Yorkshire on 25 September 2005, and his final completed work, 'A Dead Language', was published posthumously in 2006. He had worked on drafts for further novels in a sequence provisionally entitled 'The Malady of Thought', which were in various stages of completion at the time of his death.
Philip Marie Constant Bancroft O'Connor, Irish memoirist and poet, was born on 8 September 1916 in Leighton Buzzard, Buckinghamshire, but spent part of a disturbed childhood in France. He has described his unconventional upbringing and early bohemian life-style in his autobiography, 'Memoirs of a Public Baby' (London, 1958). As well as his collections of verse, 'Selected Poems 1936-1966' (London, 1968) and 'Arias of Water' (London, 1981), O'Connor's varied corpus of work includes sociology ('Vagrancy', Harmondsworth, 1963), personal reminiscence ('The Lower View', London, 1960), and an autobiographical novel, 'Steiner's Tour', (Paris, 1960). His work was first published in 'New Verse' during the 1930s. He was twice married, had at least nine children, and died on 29 May 1998.
Works published between 1602 and 1953. Subjects include Aristotle, political science, ethics, aesthetics, logic, John Locke, philosophy, psychology and Immanuel Kant. The collection also contains works on women, love, emotions, contentment, Epicurus and earthquakes. The collection is strong in such subjects as politics and the philosophy of science.
Phoenix Dance Company was formed in 1981 by David Hamilton (Artistic Director), Donald Edwards and Vilmore James, three young men who had their enthusiasm for dance sparked by the tuition they received at Harehills Middle School, particularly from teachers John Auty at Intake High School and Nadine Senior who went on to found the Northern School of Contemporary Dance.
Initially, the three members of Phoenix performed work created within the company, mainly in educational settings, however their fresh approach to contemporary dance won them support amongst audiences and critics and they quickly built a following beyond their home city. In 1987, Neville Campbell joined Phoenix as Artistic Director. This appointment marked a major expansion of the company and its repertoire as under Campbell’s direction, the company employed female dancers for the first time and increased to a company of ten. In the same year Phoenix moved out of Chapeltown and established a permanent base at Yorkshire Dance in Leeds city centre.
Margaret Morris took over as Artistic Director in 1991 and under her the company began to expand its overseas touring. Following Margaret Morris, Thea Nerissa Barnes became Artistic Director in 1997 and under her leadership the company set about preserving its heritage by establishing the company’s first archive. Darshan Singh Bhuller took over as Artistic Director in 2002 and immediately began reshaping, beginning with rebranding the company Phoenix Dance Theatre. Under his direction the company moved into larger scale venues and refocused itself as a multi-cultural company. He commissioned eight new works from established and young choreographers, sourced two existing pieces for company revivals and personally choreographed three new pieces, as well as restaging two of his previous works, including the full-length Planted Seeds.
Sharon Watson was appointed as Artistic Director in May 2009. Under her Phoenix has re- introduced diverse mixed programmes of work by established and up and coming choreographers, including classic pieces from the company’s extensive repertoire, and the company has refocused its ambitions, aiming to be the leading middle scale dance company of the UK. In October 2010 Phoenix moved into purpose-built new premises in the Quarry Hill area of Leeds alongside Northern Ballet. With the company having just celebrated 30 years of outstanding dance, the world class facilities of this new home give Phoenix Dance Theatre the platform to continue producing work of the highest quality in the future.
The majority of books and periodicals were published between 1800 and 1850, though the earliest title is dated 1775, Joseph Priestley's 'The history and present state of electricity'. Ten periodicals are represented in the collection, some being present in long runs. Subjects include general treatises, heat, light and vision, electricity and mechanics.
Pierce Egan, the younger (1814-1880), novelist. For further details of his life, see the 'Dictionary of National Biography'.
Piers Paul Read, the third son of the poet and art critic Sir Herbert Read, was born in 1941, raised in North Yorkshire and educated by Benedictine monks at Ampleforth College. After reading history at St Johns, Cambridge, he spent two years in Germany and from 1963-64 was Artist in Residence at the Ford Foundation in West Berlin. On his return to London, Read took a job as a sub-editor on 'The Times Literary Supplement' and shared a flat in Pimlico with Tom Stoppard and Derek Marlowe, whom he had met in Berlin.
His first novel, 'Game in Heaven with Tussy Marx' (1966) was described by The Times as one of the most arresting British novels to have appeared in recent years. 'The Junkers' (1968) won the Geoffrey Faber Memorial Prize while Read's third novel, 'Monk Dawson' (1969), won the Hawthornden Prize and the Somerset Maugham Award. More recent novels include 'The Free Frenchman' (1986), set in France during the Second World War; 'A Season in the West' (1988, winner of the James Tait Black Award); 'On the Third Day' (1990) and 'A Patriot in Berlin' (1995), a political thriller. His latest novel is 'Alice in Exile' (2001), the story of a young Englishwoman caught up in the Russian Revolution.
In 1974 Read wrote his first work of reportage, 'Alive: The Story of the Andes Survivors', which won the Thomas More medal for Catholic literature and has sold five million copies world-wide. A film of 'Alive' was made in 1992, directed by Frank Marshall and starring Ethan Hawke. Other works of non-fiction include 'Ablaze: The Story of Chernobyl' (1993), a history of the crusading military order, 'The Templars' (1999), 'Alec Guinness: The Authorised Biography', and a first volume of autobiography, 'In My Youth'. Piers Paul Read has also written a number of radio and television plays, and several of his novels have been adapted for cinema, television and radio.
Piers Paul Read is a Fellow and Member of the Council of the Royal Society of Literature and a member of the Council of the Society of Authors. He was Harkness Fellow, Commonwealth Fund, New York (1967-68), a member of the Council of the Institute of Contemporary Arts (1971-75), a member of the Literature Panel at the Arts Council (1975-77), and Adjunct Professor of Writing, Columbia University (1980). From 1992-97 he was Chairman of the Catholic Writers'Guild.
The archive of Piers Paul Read comprises manuscripts and typescripts for his novels, plays and non-fiction; extensive correspondence; interview tapes, research notes, press-cuttings and other papers. The correspondence, in particular, gives an absorbing and wide-ranging view not only of the literary world, but also of British Catholic circles and the challenges Catholicism faces in modern times. There are tapes and files relating to Read's biography of Alec Guinness and to 'Alive', series of letters from Herbert and Margaret Read, and retained copies and originals of Piers Paul Read's own letters.
During the period 1970-77 the Poem of the Month Club issued an unpublished poem by one of its members each month. The first 1000 copies of each poem were signed personally by hand.
Minor poetry written around the time of the First World War. The great majority of the poems were published during the actual war years, though not all the poetry has a war theme. The earliest work is dated 1907, the latest 1935. The collection was compiled by Lord Brotherton and is no longer added to; it is complemented by other Special Collections poetry holdings.
Poetry and Audience, typescript and manuscript drafts of poems by various authors originally published in 'Poery and Audence'
The student literary magazine Poetry and Audience was founded by student Ralph Maud in 1953, and is one of the longest running poetry magazines in the United Kingdom. Despite its humble origins as a cyclostyled, one-penny, student journal produced approximately once a week during term time, it quickly developed an international reputation and has published some of the most distinguished poets of the late twentieth century. Many of the earlier contributors were Gregory Fellows in Poetry.
The Poetry Room in the Department of English Literature (later the School of English) at the University of Leeds openned in December 1962. From its earliest days, the Poetry Room was engaged in a programme of recording poets reading from their own works as well as exchanging recordings of poets with the British Council's Recorded Sound Section and the Poetry Room at Harvard University. Geoffrey Hill was the first Director of the Poetry Room, holding the post from 1962 until 1968. The Poetry Room closed ca. 1990.
Although published between 1775 and 1998, the bulk of the collection dates from the late 19th to the early 20th century. The older works focus on issues such as forms of government. Subjects include socialism, representative government, anarchism, poor laws (England) and works on contemporary political figures. The modern works also deal with, amongst other themes, the United Nations, the British Civil Service, and the European Community. This collection also contains a small selection of Labour Party Bulletins, dating from the middle of the 20th century.
Most of the items were published between the early-to-mid-17th century and the middle of the 18th century. As well as covering political philosophy and the political and constitutional issues and events of the period, the collection also contains many works on questions of trade, commercial policy and economic theory, and on political aspects of religious controversies.
The books are mainly in the Portuguese language, and the dates of publication span the period from 1645 to 1982. The collection contains many works of Portuguese literature, as well as literature translated into Portuguese.
Works dating from the late 18th century to the present which are distinguished by their fine printing. They are classified according to their publisher. The subjects covered in this collection are incidental, but range from modern editions of the Book of Common Prayer, to literature and history. The vast majority of the collection dates from the 20th century. The collection contains publications from around one hundred presses, including Fanfrolico Press, Fleece Press, High House Press, Mandrake Press and Quince Tree Press.
The Queen Square Gallery was founded by Sarah Gilchrist in 1964. Gilchrist continued as the director of the gallery until her retirement in 1978, after which date the gallery continued under different management. The gallery moved to new premises in Park Square in 1968.
R.V. Marriner Limited, of Greengate Mills, Keighley, were worsted spinners and manufacturers, established ca. 1784 as Watson Blakey Smith and Greenwood, cotton spinners, then later as William Marriner, 1784-1808, B. and W. Marriner, 1808-1888, Marriner Son and Naylor, 1888-1908, and finally R.V. Marriner Limited, 1908. By the late nineteenth century they were concentrating on the production of knitting wools.
Lascelles Abercrombie M.A. was born in 1881, and was the sixth son of William Abercrombie of Cheshire. He was educated at Malvern College, and at the Victoria University, Manchester; his education was chiefly scientific. He soon became well-known as a poet and a man of letters. From 1919-22 he was Lecturer in Poetry at the University of Liverpool, leaving there to become the Professor of English Literature at the University of Leeds, where he stayed until 1929 when he left to take up a professorship at the University of London.
Ralph Miliband, a notable political theorist, Marxist and socialist, was born in Brussels of Polish Jewish parents in 1924. By the time he was 15, he was a member of the radical-socialist Jewish youth organisation, Hashomer Hatzair, and he had already read the Communist Manifesto. Yet, in retrospect he thought he had not been particularly politically conscious in his youth. In May 1940, when he was 16, Miliband fled Brussels with his father to England, as Hitler’s army was invading Belgium. In England he changed his name from Adolphe to Ralph. He continued his education in London, and was admitted to the London School of Economics in 1941. Between June 1943 and January 1946 Miliband did war service at the Royal Navy. Then in 1947 he graduated with first-class honours from the Department of Government at the LSE. In 1949 he was appointed Assistant Lecturer in Political Science at the LSE. He obtained a doctorate for a thesis entitled "Popular thought in the French Revolution, 1789-1794” from the University of London in 1956. Miliband subsequently became a Senior Lecturer at the LSE, and continued teaching there until 1972. During his teaching career he mainly taught modern political thought, social and political theory and a graduate course in political sociology. In 1972 he was appointed Professor of Politics and Head of the Department of Politics at the University of Leeds, a position which he kept until 1978, although for the academic session 1977-1978 he worked as a Visiting Professor at the Brandeis University in Massachusetts. After leaving the University of Leeds, he lectured at Brandeis University during autumn semesters, and continued to do research in London for the rest of the year. He also gave several guest lectures at universities in Europe and North America. During his own studies at the LSE, Miliband had been immensely influenced by Harold Laski, whom he regarded as "a great teacher of politics”. As a teacher Miliband expected serious work and debate from his students, was known to be "an absolutely brilliant orator” and his lectures were always exceptionally popular.
After 1956, following the publication of The Reasoner within the British Communist Party by Edward Thompson and John Saville, Miliband became directly involved in the British New Left movement. In Thompson and Saville he found true political allies with whom to advance the socialist project. In 1964 Miliband and Saville founded the Socialist Register, an annual collection of important scholarly articles in socialism (an offshoot of the New Left Review). He continued editing the Register with Saville, and for the final ten years with Leo Panitch, for 30 years until his death in 1994. The criterion for articles included in the Register, as he sets out in a letter to John Saville (SR/7), was "interest, excellence of argument, and the degree to which an essay pushes things forward”. His first book Parliamentary Socialism (1961), a strong critique of the Labour Party with a historical account since 1900, proved enormously influential. His other major works include The State in Capitalist Society (1969), Marxism and Politics (1977), Capitalist Democracy in Britain (1982), Class Power and State Power (1983), Divided Societies: Class Struggle in Contemporary Capitalism (1989) and Socialism for a Sceptical Age (1994). Miliband’s contributions to Marxist scholarship can be summed up as one of the tributes at his death described him as "the leading Marxist political scientist in the English-speaking world”. He incorporated other approaches to his Marxist theorisation to make it accessible to non-Marxist intellectual community. In 1961 Miliband married Marion Kozak, and they had two sons, David and Edward. See the biography by Michael Newman Ralph Miliband and the politics of the New Left and the entry in the Oxford Dictionary of National Biography.
(John) Rayner Heppenstall (1911-1981), the novelist, poet, critic, BBC producer, and criminal historian, was born in Lockwood, Huddersfield, on 27 July 1911 and educated at Huddersfield College and Leeds University, where he graduated in Modern Languages in 1932, and obtained a Diploma in Education in 1933. After a brief period teaching in Dagenham, he moved to London to start a career as a freelance writer and critic. Here he met many other writers and wrote most of his published poetry before the outbreak of the Second World War. After war service in Yorkshire and Northern Ireland, he joined the BBC as a features writer and drama producer, mainly for the Third Programme. Most of his novels were written during this period. In 1967 he became a freelance writer again and moved with his wife, Margaret, to Deal, Kent in 1974. Here he translated from French, wrote further novels, and developed an interest in criminal history. He died on 23 May 1981. His journal, which he had kept for many years, was edited after his death by Jonathan Goodman and published as 'The Master Eccentric' in 1986.
Reg Carr (b. 1946) was Leeds University Librarian and Dean of Information Strategy, 1986-1996.
Professor Reginald Dawson Preston, the biophysicist, was born in Leeds on 21 July 1908. He spent all of his academic career at Leeds University apart from a one-year Rockefeller Foundation fellowship at Cornell University. He graduated from Leeds with first class honours in Physics before taking a Ph.D. in the Department of Botany. He was then appointed Assistant Lecturer and Demonstrator in the latter department in 1935, was promoted to Lecturer in 1938, to Reader in Plant Biophysics in 1948, and to Professor of Plant Biophysics in 1962. In the early years of his career, he had collaborated with Professor W.T. Astbury and, following Astbury's death, the Plant Biophysics group of Preston was joined with the Biomolecular Structure group of Astbury to form the Astbury Department of Biophysics, with Preston as its first head. He was recognised as an international authority on the molecular structure of plant cell walls and other physical aspects of plant physiology and was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society in 1954. As a widely-respected elder statesman, Preston was always in demand to chair committees both within the University and elsewhere. He chaired the University Library committee and was president of the Leeds Philosophical and Literary Society. Preston retired from the university in 1973 and died on 3 May 2000 at the age of 91.
Reginald Francis Brown was Professor of Spanish at the University of Leeds, 1953-1975.
Review [The Review] magazine, correspondence and literary papers associated with the magazine including material relating to its symposium 'The State of Poetry'.
'The Review' was one of the most successful British literary 'little magazines' devoted to poetry and enjoyed a ten-year period of publication from 1962 to 1972, edited by the poet Ian Hamilton. Its focus was contemporary English and American poetry. It was succeeded in 1974 by 'The New Review'.
Richard Whiddington was born in London and educated at the William Ellis School, Highgate and St John's College, Cambridge where he read for the Natural Sciences Tripos specialising in physics. He began research at the Cavendish Laboratory, Cambridge in 1908 and was appointed Demonstrator there the following year. He was elected to a Fellowship at St John's College in 1911. During the First World War he worked at the Royal Aircraft Establishment, Farnborough on radio telegraphy and telephony research and design. After the war he moved to Leeds University as Cavendish Professor of Physics, 1919-1951. He was seconded to government service for the whole of the Second World War, working with the Admiralty Scientific Service on the development of radar equipment for the Navy and then for the Ministry of Supply as Deputy Director of Scientific Research. His successor as Cavendish Professor was E.C. Stoner. He was elected FRS in 1926.
The present Ripon Cathedral is the fourth ecclesiastical building to occupy the site, the first having been founded by St. Wilfred in 672. The minster became a cathedral in 1836, when the the diocese of Ripon (which covered an area from Leeds to Teesside) was created.
The library of Ripon Cathedral contains many rare and valuable early printed books including a number of incunabula. The books naturally focus on religious matters and include liturgies, Bibles, service books, doctrinal texts, discussions of the Old and New Testaments and religious philosophy.
The present Ripon Cathedral is the fourth ecclesiastical building to occupy the site, the first having been founded by St. Wilfred in 672. The minster became a cathedral in 1836, when the the diocese of Ripon (which covered an area from Leeds to Teesside) was created.
RJC Dance was founded in 1993 by three of the original members of Phoenix Dance Theatre, David (Leo) Hamilton, Donald Edwards, and Edward Lynch. RJC Dance's work comes from a Black British perspective, and is committed to developing and promoting a new Black British choreographic language, this can be seen in its title: 'R' which stands for Reggae, 'J' for Jazz and 'C' originally for 'Calypso' but then changed to become the contemporary dance influence. Each area was developed and nurtured by the personal dance styles of the artists involved with the company including Sigourney Robinson, Joe Williams, De Napoli Clarke and current director, Kathy Williams.
RJC Dance has a truly broad appeal to a diverse audience both culturally and socially. Reggae, Jazz and Contemporary dance styles influence the company's choreographic approach which fuses social dance forms with contemporary dance techniques. The result is a universal dance language that is familiar, entertaining and hugely accessible. Since 1993 the company has created dance works which have influenced a generation of young choreographers and dance practitioners. A professional dance company that toured nationally and internationally from its base at The Northern School of Contemporary Dance (NSCD) in Chapeltown in 2003.
RJC’s performances are about communication, with distinctive dance works created from a Black British perspective, expressing and celebrating the multicultural society in which we live. The Company’s work has a real aesthetic as it pivots on historical, cultural and social dance forms fused with contemporary dance techniques. RJC is distinguished by its combination of exciting, technically accomplished dancers who are rigorous and inspiring teachers.
From 2006 RJC Dance moved to the Mandela Centre in Chapeltown, Leeds and the company now is committed to developing its extensive programme of education and community outreach work, and a creative method that integrates performance by young people in productions. RJC’s youth dance company Shahck-Out Too! is highly acclaimed for producing work of great artistic quality and dynamic energy.
Robert Aspin Freeman, fl.1875-1940, was a linguist and writer on languages, with particular interests in Icelandic and Egyptian languages and scripts.
Robert Browning (1782-1866), a clerk in the Bank of England, and the father of Robert Browning, the poet and dramatist.
Robert Clough (Keighley) Limited, of Grove Mills, Keighley, were worsted spinners and manufacturers, established in 1800.
Robert Jowitt and Sons Limited, of 153 Sunbridge Road, Bradford, were wool merchants, top makers, wool combers, wool scourers, carbonisers and fell mongers, established in 1776.
Robert Kitson was the son of G.H. Kitson of Elmet Hall, Roundhay, Leeds. The Kitson family business was locomotive engineering, but Robert Kitson became an artist (mainly in the medium of watercolour), exhibiting regularly at the Leeds Fine Arts Club, the Royal Academy, and the Society of British Artists. He was a pupil and friend of Alfred East, R.A., and it was through East that he met Sir Frank Brangwyn and became his friend and patron, commissioning a number of works, most notably the mosaic cycle for the apse of St. Aidan's Church in Roundhay. For health reasons, Kitson settled in Sicily and designed his own villa, the Casa Cuseni in Taormina, which he was forced to abandon after the outbreak of the Second World War. He returned there shortly before his death in 1947.
Robert Louis Stevenson (1850-1894), author and traveller, was the son of Thomas Stevenson of Edinburgh and entered Edinburgh University in 1867 as the pupil of Fleeming Jenkin. After abandoning the study of engineering and law he began to travel widely. Though very ill he wrote stories and essays, and in 1880 married Mrs Osbourne. He established his position as an author with 'The strange case of Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde' and 'Kidnapped' in 1886. After further travels in the Pacific he died suddenly from a brain haemorrhage and was buried on Mount Vaea. For a full assessment of his life and work see the 'Dictionary of National Biography'.
Robert Nichols (1893-1944), the poet and playwright. For fuller details of his life and achievements see the 'Oxford Dictionary of National Biography'.
Robert Southey (1774-1843), poet and man of letters, was expelled from Westminster School for a protest against flogging, but proceeded in 1792 to Balliol College, Oxford, where he pursued his studies without interference and began 'Joan of Arc'. He was visited there by Coleridge and converted by him to unitarianism and pantisocracy. He was twice married, first to Edith Fricker, who died in 1837, then in 1839 to Caroline Bowles. After visiting Spain and Portugal he settled at Keswick, where he remained and wrote extensively. He became poet laureate in 1813 and was friendly with Wordsworth. For a full assessment of his life and work see the 'Dictionary of National Biography'.
Robert Spence was born in South Shields and educated at local schools and Durham University where he began his research career on oxidation reactions. After three years as a Commonwealth Fund Fellow at Princeton University, 1928-1931, he was appointed Lecturer in Physical Chemistry at Leeds University. He served during the Second World War as Chemical Warfare Adviser to the RAF. In July 1945 he joined the atomic research team in Montreal to lay the foundations for plutonium and fission product separation processes, becoming team leader in January 1946, playing an important part in the design of a chemical separation plant for the UK atomic energy programme and preparing staff and buildings for the opening of the research division at Harwell. Spence was head of the Chemistry Division from 1946, and was appointed Chief Chemist in 1948, Deputy Director in 1960 and Director, 1964-1968. In 1968 Spence accepted an invitation from the University of Kent at Canterbury to go there as Professor of Applied Chemistry and Master of Keynes College, retiring in 1973. He was elected FRS in 1959.
Robin Skelton (1925-1997) was a British born academic, writer, poet and anthologist. He was born in Yorkshire and studied at the University of Leeds. He was an authority on Irish literature.
The poet, author and broadcaster Rodney Pybus was born in Newcastle upon Tyne in 1938. After studying at Gonville and Caius College, Cambridge, he worked in the 1960s and 1970s in the north-east of England as a newspaper journalist and television writer and producer, specialising in documentary films and arts and education programmes. He was a lecturer in Mass Communication at Macquarie University, Sydney, from 1976 to 1979. On his return to the UK, he spent several years as literature officer for Cumbria, before moving to Suffolk in 1983. He has won a number of awards for his poetry, including the Poetry Society's Alice Hunt Bartlett Prize for his first collection, 'In Memoriam Milena' (1973); and has held various writing fellowships and residencies during his career through the Arts Council and other organisations. He has also been associated with the literary magazine 'Stand', both as a contributor and editor, since the mid-1960s.
Roger H.P. Senhouse, the publisher, translator and bibliophile, was born in 1899. In his early twenties he became known in London literary circles as a member of the Bloomsbury group. In 1936 he was the co-founder of the firm of Secker and Warburg, and applied his wide knowledge of literature mainly to the presentation of foreign authors. His translations were chiefly from French literature, notably the works of André Gide and of Colette. He owned a fine personal library at Rye. He died in 1970.
The books, published between 1774 and 1847, are primarily in French, and are examples of Romance literature. Subjects include troubadours, Provence and Provencal poetry.
Angus McKay Fraser, born at Maxwelltown in Dumfries on 10 March 1928, was the son of a prison officer. He was educated at Falkirk High School and Glasgow University, where he read Modern Languages. After spending his National Service in the Royal Artillery in France, he became a paratrooper in the Territorial Army and by 1966 had risen to the rank of major. His career in the Civil Service began in 1953 at Customs and Excise, and in the 1960s and 1970s he was involved in the negotiations for British entry into the EEC In 1981 he was appointed First Civil Service Commissioner, and then served as Chairman of Customs and Excise from 1983 to 1987. From 1988, until his retirement in 1992, he was Efficiency Adviser to the Prime Minister. He received a CBE in 1981 and a knighthood in 1985. While still at school he had developed an interest in the books of George Borrow and he became the leading British authority on Borrow and the history of the gypsies. He published numerous articles in academic journals and edited several collections of Borrow's letters. In 1992, his major work 'The Gypsies' was published. At his death in June 2001, he was president of the George Borrow Society, which he had been instrumental in founding in 1991.
One of the outstanding resources in the United Kingdom for the study of Gypsies and Travellers. Originally assembled by Lord Brotherton's niece-in-law, Dorothy Una Ratcliffe (Mrs McGrigor Phillips), and presented to the Library in 1950, the Collection is still actively developed. Its major strength is in the classic British and other European works of Romany scholarship of the 19th and early 20th centuries, although more recent works in many languages are comprehensively collected. These are complemented by less specialised accounts of Gypsy life, biographies of Gypsies, travel works with Gypsy reference and literary works dealing with Gypsy subjects (such as the works of George Borrow) dating from the Renaissance to the 20th century. Rare items include texts in Russian and Moravian Romany. A varied collection of music, letters, manuscripts, play-bills, pictures, engravings and other objects relating to the Gypsy culture supports the printed material.
Ronald Blythe, pre-publication text of anthology 'Each returning day : the pleasure of diaries', with a related letter
Ronald Blythe (1922-), the British writer, lives in north-east Essex. His writings include works of fiction, such as 'A treasonable growth', 1960, social history, such as 'The age of illusion', 1963, edited anthologies, such as 'Aldeburgh anthology', 1972, and this present work 'Each returning day: the pleasure of diaries', 1989 (also published in the same year as 'The Penguin book of diaries', and in America as 'The pleasures of diaries').
(Arthur Annesley) Ronald Firbank (1886-1926), the novelist. For fuller details of his life and achievements see the 'Oxford Dictionary of National Biography'.
Rosamund Marriott Watson (1863-1911) was a poet who sometimes wrote under the pseudonym Graham R. Tomson.
Dante Gabriel Rossetti (1828-1882), painter and poet, founded the pre-Raphaelite school of painting. For a fuller account and assessment of the lives and achievements of various members of the Rossetti Family see the 'Dictionary of National Biography' under their respective names.
Roy (Broadbent) Fuller (1912-1991), the poet, was born in Failsworth, Lancashire, educated at Blackpool High School, and later qualified as a solicitor. He joined the Woolwich Equitable Building Society in 1938 and became one of its directors in 1969. He was legal adviser to and vice-president of the Building Societies Association, and at one time a governor of the BBC. His lectures as Oxford Professor of Poetry (1968-1973) were published under the titles 'Owls and artificers' (London, 1971) and 'Professors and gods' (London, 1974). He received the CBE and the Queen's Gold Medal for Poetry in 1970, and was chairman of both the Literature Panel of the Arts Council and the Poetry Book Society. Besides numerous volumes of poetry, Fuller also published eight novels, eight children's books, and three volumes of memoirs.
The Royal Commisssion on the Distribution of Income and Wealth was set up by the Labour Government in 1974 under the chairmanship of Lord Diamond and its findings were published during the following years up to 1980.
For fuller details of the life and achievements of Rudyard Kipling (1865-1936), the writer and poet, see the 'Oxford Dictionary of National Biography'.
Russell Mortimer (1914-2004), librarian, member of the Society of Friends, and Quaker historian, spent almost all of his professional life in the service of Leeds University Library, which he first joined in 1938 and from where he retired (as Senior Sub-Librarian) in 1979. He researched and published on the history of Quakers in Bristol (from where he graduated BA and MA), but his greatest energies went into preserving and studying the surviving archives of Friends in Yorkshire. What are now known as the Carlton Hill [Leeds] and Clifford Street [York] archives make up the bulk of the very extensive collection of Yorkshire Quaker archives now held in Special Collections at Leeds University Library. Russell Mortimer devoted his retirement to organising these archives and seeing to their indexing. He was for many years one of the editors of the 'Journal of the Friends' Historical Society'. Together with his wife Jean he published an edition of 'Leeds Friends' Minute Book, 1692-1712' (1980).
Ruthven Campbell Todd, Scottish poet, writer and expert on Blake, was born in 1914 and educated at Fettes College, Edinburgh. After a period of uncertainty, he decided to enter the literary world, supporting a young family with his earnings as an advertiser's copy-writer and writer of poetry and fiction. A conscientious objector, he continued thus in various localities during the war. Other novels and books of poems followed until he left England for good in 1947 for the United States and then, in 1958, Mallorca, where he died in 1978.
S. Tempest and Company, of 57 Park Lane, Bradford, were manufacturers of gym frocks, blouses, dresses and ladies overalls, established in 1906 at Laisteridge Lane.
The safe collection is an artifical gathering of rare printed books and individual manuscripts.
Samuel Cockcroft and Company Limited, of Barkerend Mills, Bradford, were worsted spinners, established in 1852.
Works which date from the early 18th century up to the present day, dealing with many different aspects of Scandinavian language, literature, and culture. Some of the countries represented in this collection include Norway, Denmark, Sweden and Iceland. This spread of countries is reflected in the variety of languages in the collection, most of the works being in either Danish, Swedish, Norwegian, English or German. Subjects include Norse mythology, German language dictionaries, folklore, works on individual Scandinavian authors (particularly Hans Christian Andersen), runes and runic inscription, Scandinavian antiquities, Danish language dictionaries, Scandinavian history and philology. This collection also contains a small number of works on subjects such as Scandinavian agriculture, Danish law, and more modern works on aspects of Scandinavian history such as the Vikings. This collection contains periodicals, such as 'Scandinavian Review', and 'Aländsk Odling'.
The School Natural Science Society was originally founded as the School Nature Study Union in 1903 by Miss K.M. Hall and the Rev. Claude Hinscliff to encourage the study of biology and nature in schools. Its name and constitution were amended in 1963. Its executive committee met several times every year until it ceased to function in 1994. The Society published the journal 'Natural Science in Schools', which was originally entitled 'School Nature Study Journal'.
Includes musical scores of Franz Schubert and a wide range of works about him dating from the mid-19th century to the present. It has been generously assembled for the Library by the Schubert Institute (UK) and is founded on the personal library of the Schubert scholar Maurice Brown. Brown's Schubert-related correspondence and other manuscripts are also present.
Works from the period 1600 to 1750, covering a wide variety of early scientific subjects, including zoology, astronomy, medicine, religion and science, physics, mathematics, chemistry and natural history. This collection also contains early works on magnetism, monsters, and melancholy. The collection contains works on notable scientific figures, such as Galen and Isaac Newton, and the philosopher René Descartes.
Books and journals dating from the 16th century onwards, covering many different aspects of the sciences. The subjects covered range from general works on the major types of science, such as chemistry, physics and botany, to works which deal with much more specific subjects such as occultism, inventions, works on civilisations, beer, and horses. The periodicals held within this collection include copies of 'Memoirs of Science and the Arts', 'Scientific Memoirs', and 'Communications to the Board of Agriculture', all dating from the late 18th century.
Works of science fiction, published from 1899 onwards. The collection, which illustrates the history and development of the science fiction genre, is particularly notable for its science fiction magazines. Authors include Brian Aldiss, Isaac Asimov, James Blish, Ray Bradbury, Edgar Rice Burroughs, Arthur C Clarke, Robert Heinlein, Anne McCaffrey and Michael Moorcock.
19th-century volumes relating to various aspects of science, most notably natural history and philosophy. It features several multi-volume works - Humboldt's 'Cosmos', John Playfair's 'Works', Polehampton's 'Gallery of nature and art' and d'Orbigny's 'Dictionnaire universel d'histoire naturelle'.
Later science books complement the Brotherton Collection's section of Early science books: it covers the 18th, 19th and 20th centuries, though the majority of the books were published in the 19th century. A number of subjects are represented, but only natural history is covered in any substantial way. There are, in particular, editions of works by Darwin, Buffon and Waterton, and there is a particular emphasis on ornithology.
This artificial collection reflect individual and small groups of scrapbooks, programmes, press cuttings and autograph books accessioned in Special Collections. Similar material will be commonplace within larger named archive collections.
Seamus Heaney, typescript of an interview by John Haffenden, and an annotated copy of 'Station Island'.
Seamus Heaney, the Northern Irish Catholic poet, was born in Mossbawn, County Derry, in 1939 and educated at St Columb's College and Queen's University, Belfast, to which he returned after a few years schoolteaching as a lecturer in 1965. That same year he married Marie Devlin, and in 1966 published his first book of poems, 'Death of a Naturalist'. After two more collections and a year in California, he became a full-time writer in the Irish Republic. In 1984 he was appointed Boyleston Professor of Rhetoric and Oratory at Harvard, and in 1989 he became Professor of Poetry at Oxford. In 1995 he was awarded the Nobel Prize in Literature.
Sean O'Casey (1880-1964), the Irish dramatist and author. For fuller details of his life and achievements see the 'Dictionary of National Biography'.
This artificial collection reflects individual and small groups of manuscript sermons accessioned in Special Collections. Semons can also be found in larger named archival and printed book collections.
Works on shorthand and the practice of shorthand which date from between 1696 and 1957. The texts are principally in English, though there are also some examples of the practice of French shorthand.
Siegfried Loraine Sassoon (1886-1967), the poet and prose-writer. For fuller details of his life and achievements see the 'Dictionary of National Biography'.
Simon Armitage was born in Huddersfield, West Yorkshire on 26 May 1963. He was educated at Portsmouth Polytechnic (BA Hons, 1984) and the Victoria University of Manchester, where he took a certificate of qualification in social work. He went on to work as a probation officer in Oldham, and later as the poetry editor for Chatto & Windus in London.
Simon Armitage's first full-length collection of poetry, 'Zoom!', was published in 1989 by Bloodaxe Books. Since this time he has published some 13 volumes of poetry including 'Killing Time' (1999; written during his residency as Millennium Poet) and most recently, 'Out of the Blue' (2008). He has received numerous awards for his poetry, including the Eric Gregory Awards (1988), the Sunday Times Young Writer of the Year Award (1993) and one of the first Forward Prizes for Poetry.
As well as writing poetry, Simon Armitage has written for radio, television, film and theatre. These include commissions from the West Yorkshire Playhouse ('Mister Heracles') and the BBC ('The Odyssey'), and a number of "docu-musical" films with Brian Hill of Century Films, including 'Saturday Night' and 'Feltham Sings'. His first novel, 'Little Green Man', was published in 2001; he has since written a second novel and has also published two volumes of memoirs ('All Points North' (1998) and 'Gig'(2008)). Simon Armitage has taught at the University of Leeds and the Iowa Writers' Workshop, and has worked as a creative writing tutor for the Arvon Foundation. He is currently a senior lecturer at the Writing School at Manchester Metropolitan University.
Sir Andrew Agnew (1793-1849) was born at Kinsale, Ireland, as the seventh baronet of Lochnaw, and educated partly privately and partly at the University of Edinburgh. In 1830 he became M.P. for Wigtonshire and in 1832 took charge of the then growing Sabbath movement through the 'Lord's Day Society'. On several occasions he introduced a bill in parliament which would have prohibited all open labour on Sunday, excepting works of necessity and mercy, but it never passed through committee and was eventually dropped entirely when Sir Andrew failed to be re-elected to parliament in 1837. He continued to advocate his cause in a private capacity and engaged in many of the other religious and philanthropic movements of the time until his premature death in 1849 of scarlet fever.
The Leeds Directory for 1817 contains an entry for Skelton & Wells, wine merchants, at premises in Albion Street in Leeds. In 1860 Thomas Casson bought the business from Frank Richardson & Co, and Skelton & Wells are named as their predecessors. Later owners of the business included John Lupton & Son (in Gascoigne Street) and Cairns & Hickey (in Blenheim Terrace).
Works cover a variety of subjects connected with Russia. The printed works date from 1736 up until 1995, but the majority of the books date from the early 20th century. The earlier works mostly cover aspects of Russian language. The collection contains early examples of polyglot dictionaries, English to Russian dictionaries, and a Russian to German phrasebook. The later works, dating from the late 19th century and 20th century, focus more on Russia's political situation, and on Russian literature, particularly the writings of Tolstoy.
Small School, literary papers and correspondence concerning the publication of the poetry anthology 'Learning by Heart', edited by Satish Kumar, together with a copy of the published work
The Small School was founded in 1982 in Hartland, Devon, by Satish Kumar, an Indian peace campaigner and former Jain monk, admirer of Gandhi and Bertrand Russell. In 1973 Kumar had settled in England and, the following year, had been asked to become editor of the periodical 'Resurgence', which advocated the ideas of the economist E.F. Schumacher. After Schumacher's death, Kumar established the Movement for Education on a Human Scale and Schumacher College. These projects, as well as the Small School, represented Kumar's ideal for real autonomy and local control in education. Since then the 'small school' has been replicated in many parts of Britain. They are secondary schools for children aged 11-16 which bring into their curricula ecological and spiritual values. Kumar has also written numerous books on ecological and philosophical subjects, besides his autobiography, 'Path without Destination' (1999), and has been the subject of a biography by the editor of 'Green Review' (South Korea), Jong-Chul Kim, 'Satish Kumar and his Life of Reverence'. Kumar has been honoured for his work with Honorary Doctorates in Education from the University of Plymouth in 2000 and in Literature from the University of Lancaster in July 2001, and with the Jamnalal Bajaj International Award for Promoting Gandhian Values Abroad in November 2001.
Works relating to British social policy from the late 19th to the early 20th century. The collection focuses particularly on the conditions of the British working class during the 19th century. Other works in the collection deal more generally with the British economic condition, including health surveys, cemeteries and sanitation.
The Society for the Study of Theology was founded in 1952 and its principal activity has been an annual conference. Each conference has usually taken a theme of current interest to theologians.
Society of Friends Peace Committee related papers and other peace movements collected by Joseph Sturge
Joseph Sturge was the son of Joseph Sturge, the prominent Quaker philanthropist, abolitionist and social reformer. He pursued many of the same causes as his father.
Works dating mainly from the early 19th century, though the overall span of dates ranges from 1753 through to modern times. Subjects include poverty, population, prisons, the working class, crime and vital statistics. In addition, some political and religious subjects are covered.
Sophie Hannah (neé Geras), poet and novelist, was born in 1971 in Manchester. She was educated at the University of Manchester and published her first book of poems, 'The Hero and the Girl Next Door', at the age of 24. She has since published five collections of poetry, as well as five internationally bestselling psychological thrillers - 'Little Face', 'Hurting Distance', 'The Point of Rescue', 'The Other Half Lives' and 'A Room Swept White'.
The South Bank Show is a television arts magazine show, produced by ITV between 1978 and 2010 which brought both high art and popular culture to a mass audience. The South Bank Show was conceived, written and presented by former BBC arts broadcaster Lord Melvyn Bragg, Chancellor of the University of Leeds.
Works of literature published from the 17th to the 19th centuries. 19th century works are particularly well represented, and include some minor novels not readily available elsewhere. Among the 17th and 18th century works are very early editions of works by Lope de Vega, Góngora, Quevedo, Calderón, Tirso de Molina and many others. There is an interesting selection of editions of 'Don Quijote', including a Dutch translation of 1657 and some 19th century English translations by Jarvis with fine coloured illustrations. The earliest work in the collection is the 1541, very rare, first edition of the 'Crónica de España' edited by Florián de Ocampo (other early editions of the Chronicle are in the Brotherton Collection). The collection is complemented by Spanish works in other sections of Special Collections: the Brotherton Collection Foreign section, 16th-18th centuries, includes some early editions of Spanish literary texts, and the literature section of the Brotherton Collection has a good number of early translations of well-known Spanish literary works (a dozen 17th and 18th century translations of Quevedo, for example).
Books date from the middle of the 18th century up to 1972. The journals in this collection include several issues of 'The Sporting Calendar' and various editions of a journal listing horse races in England and Wales, both of these titles dating from the middle of the 18th century. Subjects include sport dictionaries, fishing, cricket and card games.
Stamps, including postage stamps and revenue-stamps, and stamp catalogues, collected by William Denison Roebuck
William Denison Roebuck (1851-1919) was a distinguished amateur naturalist, who was a founder member of the Leeds Shell Club in 1876. This society evolved into the Conchological Society of Great Britain and Ireland and the Yorkshire Conchological Society, which affiliated to the Yorkshire Naturalists Union. An obituary notice by J.W. Taylor appeared in the 'Journal of conchology', vol.16, 1919, pp.37-39
Stan Barstow, the Yorkshire novelist and playwright, was born in 1928 in the West Riding of Yorkshire as the only son of a coal miner. He attended Ossett Grammar School and left at sixteen to join a local engineering firm. He started writing in the 1950s, and had some short stories broadcast by the BBC. His first published work was the short story 'The Search for Tommy Flynn' in 1957. An unpublished novel in 1956 was followed by 'A Kind of Loving' in 1960. This was a major success, and was made into a film. Since then he has been a full time writer, his output including eleven novels, three books of short stories, TV and radio scripts, and plays. His autobiography, 'In My Own Good Time', was published in October 2001. His books have been translated into several languages, and are widely read in schools. He is an honorary MA of the Open University.
The Stancliffe Family owned property in Yorkshire (notably Sion House at Thirsk) and in Macclesfield.
For information on Stand magazine see: http://www.leeds.ac.uk/library/spcoll/leedspoetry/stand.htm.
Stanley Martin was an alumnus of the University of Leeds who became very interested in The Troubles in Northern Ireland. Over several decades he collected books and newspaper cuttings about the conflict and made his own notes about people and events on both sides.
Stephen Chaplin, artist and art historian, studied at the Slade School and the Courtauld Institute of Art. He taught at the Leeds College of Art from 1961 to 1966, and at the University of Leeds from 1966 to 1991. After moving to London, he became Archivist to the Slade in 1993 and published 'A Slade School of Fine Art archive reader' in 1998.
The Strong Room books collection takes its name from the secure room where these early, often rare and valuable, books were originally kept. The collection is divided into two parts, one for books printed in England, the other (about three-quarters of the total) for books printed abroad. The earliest book in the collection is dated 1474, the latest 1885. There are 18 incunabula, and well over half the books were printed before 1600. There is range both of subjects and languages. Theology and spirituality feature strongly, and there are 49 Bibles including several polyglot ones. History, literature, natural history, geography and travel, and dictionaries are also well represented. About half the books are in Latin, some 260 in English, some 130 in Italian and some 84 in French, while fewer are in Ancient Greek, Hebrew, Spanish and German.
The great majority of the books are in Swedish and were published after 1900. The earliest book in the collection dates from 1755, and some 36 were published between 1800 and 1850. Included are some 130 academic dissertations in Swedish, covering various subjects, especially Swedish language. The collection continues to be developed, including language, literature, history and bibliography.
Sydney Matthewman, small press poetry by or associated with Matthewman or published by the Swan Press.
Sydney Matthewman (1902-?), poet and printer, established the Swan Press in Leeds in the 1920s. He later moved it to London. The Swan Press published poets from Yorkshire and the north of England.
T.B. Duncan was Lord Mayor of Leeds, from 1919-1920.
T. Berry (Bradford) Limited, of 80 Grattan Road, Bradford, were wool, noils and waste dealers, established in 1905.
T. J. Wise, the book collector and forger. For details of his life and activities in the book trade, see the 'Oxford Dictionary of National Biography'.
19th century publications whose subject matter is chiefly the manufacture of cotton and wool.
Dating from between 1759 and 1996, with the majority of the works dating from the early 20th century. Subjects include actors, theatrical producers and directors, drama technique, French theatre and theatre management. While the collection principally deals with theatre, it also contains some works on film and motion pictures.
The earliest item in the collection was published in 1670, but the majority of the works date from the early 18th century onwards. Subjects include English sermons, Bible criticism and interpretation, apologetics, Catholicism and Unitarianism. There are also works on Buddhism, mysticism and gnosticism.
Thomas Askren, of Hough-on-the-Hill, Lincolnshire, owned Crow Trees Farm and, later, Elder Tree Farm in the parish of Hatfield, near Doncaster, south Yorkshire
Thomas Benson Pease was born in Darlington in 1782 and came to Leeds in 1802. He was a stuff merchant and principal of Aldam, Pease & Co. (later Pease, Heaton & Co.). Elected to the Council in 1836, he became an alderman in 1841. He owned property in Sheepscar, to the north of the centre of Leeds. He was a member of the Society of Friends, and died on 23 May 1846.
Thomas Eliel Fenwick Blackburn (1916-1977), the English writer, was born in Cumbria. A graduate of Durham University in 1940 and a pacifist, after the war he taught at Marylebone Grammar School, then at two London colleges until his retirement at 60. He made his reputation as a poet during the 1950s, and was a Gregory Fellow at Leeds University in 1956 and 1957. He published 12 collections of poetry, 1 volume of verse translations (with others), 5 anthologies, 3 volumes of criticism, a novel, 'Feast for the Wolf', 1971, and an autobiography, 'A Clip of Steel', 1969. He was a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature.
Thomas Boyd (Leeds) Limited, of Stonebridge Mills, Wortley, Leeds, and Victoria Mills, Holbeck, were millers, finishers, waterproofers and embossers, established in 1873.
Thomas De Quincey (1785-1859), the son of a Manchester merchant, was educated at Oxford where it is believed that his life-long addiction to opium began. He was acquainted with key Romantic writers including Coleridge and Wordsworth. In 1817 he married Peggy Simpson, a farmer's daughter with whom he had 3 daughters and 5 sons. He wrote principally for periodicals, including The London Magazine, Blackwood's and The Quarterly. His best-known work, 'Confessions of an Opium Eater', was originally serialised in 'The London Magazine' in 1821.
Thomas Hield and Sons Limited, of 25 Wellington Road, Dewsbury, were yarn merchants and exporters, established in 1881.
Thomas Kibble Hervey (1799-1859), the poet and critic. For fuller details of his life and achievements see the 'Dictionary of National Biography'.
Thomas Moult (1885-1974), the English poet, novelist, literary critic and President of the Poetry Society, 1952-1961. For fuller details of his life and achievements see 'Who was who', Vol.7.
General Thomas Perronet Thompson (1783-1869) was a politician and reformer. His father was Thomas Thompson, a merchant and banker of Hull. His mother, Philothea Perronet Briggs, was related to Vincent Perronet, a Methodist and close friend of John Wesley. Thomas Perronet Thompson served both in the navy and the army, and was in 1808 the first governor of Sierra Leone. On his return to England in 1822 he turned to politics and supported the Anti-Corn-Law League and free trade. His interests were extremely wide, including natural history, geometry, and music, as well as politics and economics. For seven years he owned the 'Westminster review'. At the Great Exhibition of 1851 he showed an enharmonic organ constructed according to his musical theories. In June 1836 he entered Parliament as the member for Hull and only finally gave up his seat in 1859 after fighting for his policies whether in or out of Parliament. He married Anne Elizabeth [Nancy] Barker from York and had three sons and a daughter, all of whom had distinguished careers.
Thomas Vincent Benn (20 April 1903-25 April 1997) graduated from Leeds University with an honours degree in French and English Language and Literature in 1923. He went on to be awarded a Ph.D. in 1925. In 1926 he was appointed Assistant Lecturer in the French Department and was promoted to Senior Lecturer in 1952. He served on several standing committees, including the Library, Masterships, Examinations, and Academic Planning, and was Sub-Dean of Arts (1950-55). He officially retired in 1968, but remained active in the affairs of the French Department afterwards, particularly in the administration of the French Students Subscription Library, which he had been involved in establishing in 1928/29.
Educational works used in the teaching of classics in the 19th and 20th centuries. Although most of the works themselves are in either Latin or Ancient Greek, the collection also contains some translations and critical works in English. Subjects include classical literature, Greek drama, Latin poetry, ancient philosophy, Greek and Roman history. These books form the collection of W B Thompson, who worked in the University of Leeds Department of Education.
The Times Literary Supplement was founded in 1902 as a supplement to the Times (London). It is a British scholarly weekly review, principally of newly published books, and is important for the completeness of its coverage. The poet Ian Hamilton was its Fiction and Poetry Editor from 1965 to 1973.
J. R. R. Tolkien and Eric Valentine Gordon met when the latter joined the English department at the University of Leeds in 1922. Tolkien found a friend as well as a colleague in Gordon, as both shared a love of studying medieval philology. The two men worked together on an edition of 'Sir Gawain and the Green Knight' (1925), which was the standard text for many years. They also collaborated on articles, book chapters and a broadcast for BBC radio. Tolkien and Gordon set up a Viking Club for Leeds undergraduates who could join them in medieval wordplay and versification. When Tolkien went to the University of Oxford, Gordon maintained the club and Tolkien continued to send drafts of songs for it. Their collaboration and friendship was maintained through the exchange of letters and academic proofs. Tolkien and Gordon and their respective families also saw each other socially. Gordon died prematurely in 1938 aged 42 which affected his friend deeply. Afterwards Tolkien continued to write to the Gordon family, particularly to Gordon's widow, Ida. She was an ex-student and philology student who had married Gordon in 1930. They had four children the eldest of whom is Bridget MacKenzie.
Tom (Thomas Neilson) Paulin, the poet, critic and playwright, was born in Leeds on 25 January 1949, brought up in Belfast, and educated at Hull University and Lincoln College, Oxford. He lectured in English at the University of Nottingham from 1972 until 1989, and was Reader in Poetry there from 1989 until 1994, when he moved to become G.M. Young Lecturer in English at Hertford College, Oxford. For fuller details of his life and achievements see 'Who's who'.
Tony Harrison was born in Beeston, South Leeds on 30 April 1937. He was an early beneficiary of the 1944 Butler Education Act, and aged 11, won a scholarship to Leeds Grammar School. Despite his thirst for knowledge, he found the tension between his working class background and grammar school education quite hard to come to terms with, and has written about it extensively in his poetry.
Leeds University was familiar to Harrison during his school days, the Grammar School at that time being situated very close to the campus. In 1955, he became an undergraduate in the Classics Department, but soon came into contact with students in the Department of English Literature, including James Simmons and Wole Soyinka, through his interests in poetry and the theatre. Early in his student days, Harrison started to submit poems to Poetry and Audience; his first published poem, 'When Shall I Tune My 'Doric Reed,' appeared in the magazine in January 1957.
Works on European and Mediterranean travel in the period 1600 to 1750. Many of the works are descriptions of individual countries (including Russia, Europe, Middle East, Turkey, Italy and Spain), by English travellers. Other works deal with aspects of the history of certain countries (there are, for example, a number of works on slavery) or with specific cities, such as Paris or Rome.
P.W. Price was Senior Assistant Secretary, Council and External Affairs, of the Open University.
The University Archive was set up in 1977 to preserve the records of the University of Leeds and its predecessor bodies the Yorkshire College of Science, Yorkshire College and Leeds Medical School.
Contains printed material published by the University of Leeds and many of its constituent departments, services and other related bodies. It includes Annual Reports and Calendars of the University, and of its predecessor, the Yorkshire College; publications of staff and student societies; Court, Council and Senate minutes; departmental journals, bulletins and newsletters; prospectuses; examination question papers; publications and other material relating to Leeds University students' union; a large Personalia section, containing news cuttings about individual members of staff and books written by them; and much else besides. The Collection complements the archival material held in the Leeds University Archive.
Victor Kenna was awarded the degree of D.Litt. by the University of Leeds in 1961. He published extensively on Cretan and Minoan culture.
Vernon Scannell was born John Vernon Bain on 23 January 1922 in Spilsbury, Lincolnshire. He left school aged 14 to work in an accounting firm; and enlisted in the Army in 1940, aged 18, following the outbreak of the Second World War. During the war he saw action in the Middle East and France, and was seriously wounded near Caen (Normandy) in 1944. He spent the remainder of the war recovering. Shortly after the announcement of VE-Day Scannell deserted, disillusioned and brutalised by army life; it was at this point that he changed his name to Vernon Scannell. He became a casual student at Leeds University in the late 1940s following a chance meeting with Bonamy Dobrée in a city centre pub. His time in Leeds was a great influence on the development of his poetry. He became a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature, and free-lance author, poet, and broadcaster. Scannell died in November 2007.
Field Marshal Alan Francis Brooke, 1st Viscount Alanbrooke, was a senior commander in the British Army. He was the Chief of the Imperial General Staff during the Second World War, and was promoted to Field Marshal in 1944. As chairman of the Chiefs of Staff Committee, Brooke was the foremost military adviser to Prime Minister Winston Churchill, and in the role of co-ordinator of the British military efforts was an important contributor to the Allies' victory in 1945. After retiring from the army he served as Lord High Constable of England during the coronation of Queen Elizabeth II in 1953. Sir Arthur Wynne Morgan Bryant was a widely popular British historian and columnist for the Illustrated London News. He was the author of 'The Turn of the Tide' (1957) and its sequel 'Triumph in the West' (1959), both of which drew on Brooke's war diaries and autobiographical notes. In 1951 the Royal Regiment of Artillery commissioned Bryant to write an official full-length biography of Brooke and appointed Mrs Marian C. Long to collect and prepare research material. In 1954 Bryant agreed with Brooke that, as well as writing the biography for the Royal Regiment after Brooke's death, he would also write a study of World War Two based on Brooke's diaries and memoirs for immediate publication. He originally envisaged writing just one volume, 'The Turn of the Tide', on the first half of the war, but soon decided that he would like to write a second volume, 'Triumph in the West', to cover the remaining years. The Royal Regiment of Artillery gave Bryant permission to use the material already collected by Mrs Long for the official biography, while she continued her research work, but concentrating on material relating to Brooke's service in World War Two. The family also lent him Brooke's diaries and Chief of the Imperial General Staff semi-official files.
W. and E. Crowther Limited, of Crimble and Brook Mills, Slaithwaite, near Huddersfield, were woollen manufacturers, established in 1872.
W.G. Curtis Morgan, literary papers and publications with some letters and personal and financial items
William Gordon Curtis Morgan, the Welsh writer, novelist, and playwright, was born on 18 May 1892 at Talybont, near Aberystwyth, and educated at Llandovery College (1903-1911) and Queen's College, Oxford (1911-1914). During the First World War he was commissioned in the South Wales Borderers in February 1915 and served in France. In 1918 he transferred to the Indian Army and spent four years in India, returning home afterwards on a three month's journey via China, Japan, and North America. In the 1920s he had two novels published, 'A Frontier Romance' (1926) and 'Not This Man but Barabbas' (1929). Throughout the 1930s he ran a 'Private Tutor's Boarding Establishment' specialising in teaching English to students from overseas. During the Second World War he served in the Royal Air Force, after which he had another novel published, namely, 'An Oxford Romance' (1947), and a play,'The Blind Spot', produced by a repertory company. He published his autobiography, 'My Life Through Six Reigns', in 1983, and took his Oxford M.A. Degree Certificate from Queen's College, Oxford, in March 1987. He also wrote journal articles on life in a public school and at Oxford, besides further unpublished plays and novels, and some political, social, and economic articles of a British patriotic nature. Morgan lived in Llandovery from 1946 until his death.
W.H. Hudson, autograph manuscript by Morley Roberts for his book on Hudson, together with a manuscript notebook
Morley Roberts (1857-1942), the novelist and journalist, published a biography of William Henry Hudson (1841-1922), the naturalist and writer, in 1924. For fuller details of Robert's life and achievements see 'Who was who', Vol.4.
Walt Whitman (1819-1892) was an American poet. For a full account of his life and work see 'Chambers Biographical Dictionary'; there are also numerous critical and biographical studies.
Walter Pater, the author and aesthete. For fuller details of his life and achievements see the 'Oxford Dictionary of National Biography'.
Walter Savage Landor (1775-1864), the English poet and prose writer, was a classical enthusiast who had a turbulent career in several European countries and died in Florence. For fuller details see the 'Dictionary of National Biography'.
Sir Walter Scott (1771-1832), the Scottish novelist. For a full account of his life and work see the 'Dictionary of National Biography'.
Wang Fanxi (1907-2002) was a leading Chinese Trotskyist revolutionary. He moved to Leeds in 1975.
Printed books and pamphlets mostly published immediately before and during the Second World War, along with some works published during the First World War. Many of the works deal with specific military campaigns of the Second World War naval operations and propaganda.
Wayne (Vincent) Brown, the poet and writer, was born on 18 July 1944 in Port of Spain, Trinidad, and educated at St Mary's College, Port of Spain, the University of the West Indies, Kingston, Jamaica, and the University of Toronto. He held a Gregory Fellowship in Poetry at the University of Leeds in 1975-1976. He won the Jamaican Independence Festival Poetry Prize in 1968, and his collection of poetry entitled 'On the coast' won the Commonwealth Prize for Poetry in 1972. He is equally well-known for his biography of Edna Manley (1975), his edition of Derek Walcott's poetry, and his collection of stories, 'The child of the sea' (1990). His other writings include 'Landscape with Heron', 'Voyages', and 'Bearing witness: the best of the Observer Arts Magazine 2000'. In 1968 he married Megan Hopkyn-Rees, a Yorkshire art student; she has become a renowned Caribbean interior decorator. Edna Manley (née Swithenbank) (1900-1987), the sculptor and founder of the Jamaica School of Arts whose biography he wrote, was married to Norman Washington Manley (1893-1969), an Oxford graduate in Law who was Prime Minister of Jamaica, 1959-1962, and a national hero as the founder of the moderately socialist People's National Party. Their son, Michael Norman Manley (1924-1997), was also Prime Minister of Jamaica, 1972-1980 and 1989-1992.
The Wentworths were one of the most prominent land-owning families in Yorkshire. Sir Thomas Wentworth of Wentworth Woodhouse married Beatrice Woodrove of Woolley, near Wakefield in ca.1514, but a branch of the family was established at Woolley in 1599, when Michael Wentworth purchased an estate from Francis Woodruffe (or Woodrove), whose family had owned land there since the fourteenth century. Woolley Hall is a Jacobean building, dating from 1635, with many later alterations. The surrounding landscape park is largely unchanged since 1800, and includes wooded pleasure grounds.
Alexander Bradshaw (Alec) Clegg, 1909-1986, was Chief Education Officer of the West Riding of Yorkshire from 1945 until his retirement in 1974. He was knighted in 1974 for his services to education.
West Yorkshire and Lindsey Regional Examining Board for the Certificate of Secondary Education (Airedale, Claro, Ripon and Wharfedale area), 1963-1982
The West Yorkshire and Lindsey Regional Examining Board was one of the twelve regionally operated boards set up in England to administer the Certificate of Secondary Education, introduced in 1965. This Board and the East Anglian Board favoured a school based syllabus, designed and examined locally, but with external moderation. From 1986 the Yorkshire and Humberside Examinations Board assumed responsibility for the newly-introduced General Certificate of Secondary Education.
The West Yorkshire Coalowners' Association was formed in February 1890, in the expectation that collective negotiation would strengthen the colliery owners' position in relation to the rapid growth of the Yorkshire Miners' Association.
Following a campaign begun in 1964, the Leeds Playhouse opened in 1970 in premises loaned to the Leeds Theatre Trust by the University of Leeds. The Company moved to the permanent site of the West Yorkshire Playhouse at Quarry Hill in 1990.
A collection of English county atlases and maps published between 1579 and 1901, formed by Dr Harold Whitaker, who presented it to the Library in 1939. Road books are a strong feature of the collection, which also includes a number of European and world atlases and maps.
Martha Ann Whitfield (1865-1924), known as Marthann, and Anne Whitfield, afterwards Hook (1886-1981), were the daughters of Emma and Joseph Bateson Whitfield of Brackendale, Thackley. There were two brothers, Alfred and Joshua, and another sister, Ada, who married Fred Barker. Marthann and Annie bought the bakery in Town Lane in about 1920 and eventually sold the business to their nephew, Frank Whitfield, son of Joshua. Marthann died of influenza in 1924, while Annie, who in 1928, at the age of 42, had married William Hardaker Hook, remained in Idle until her death in 1981, aged 95.
Wilfred Rowland Childe (1890-1952), the English Catholic poet and lecturer in English literature at the University of Leeds from 1922 until his death. For fuller details of his life and achievements, see 'Who was who', Vol.5.
Wilfrid Wilson Gibson (1878-1962), the English poet. For a fuller account of his life and achievements see the 'Dictionary of National Biography'. His sister, Elizabeth Gibson (later Mrs T.K. Cheyne) (1869-1931), wrote eighteen books, mainly of poetry, which were published between 1899 and 1914. For a fuller account of her life and achievements see 'Who was who', Vol. 3.
William Dunn Foster (1864-1955), better known as 'Will Foster', was a Yorkshire poet and playwright.
In 'Bulmer's Directory/Gazetteer' for 1890, William Abel Wood is described as a major landowner and listed as the owner of Green Farm in the township of Lillings Ambo. He is also included as the Councillor for the Sutton-in-the-Forest division of the North Riding.
William Ackroyd Limited, were worsted spinners of Otley Mills, Otley, West Yorkshire, established in 1815.
William and Jonn Clarkson Limited, of Smale Well Mill, Pudsey, were woollen cloth manufacturers, established ca. 1850. Jonn Clarkson was in business on his own in the 1840s.
William Barwell Turner was a botanist and expert on the Desmidieae. He became President of the Leeds Naturalists' Club in 1881.
William Black, the novelist. For fuller details of his life and achievements see the 'Oxford Dictionary of National Biography'.
Books and periodicals relating to William Blake, the English Romantic poet, painter and engraver, including those collected by the poetical critic. The texts themselves date from between 1791 and 1995, and contain both editions of Blake's poetry and engravings, and critical works. Subjects include Henry Fuseli, painter, and Samuel Palmer, painter. In addition to this named collection concerned with William Blake, the Special Collections English Collection also contains many works by and about this author, and letters and papers of Ruthven Todd relating to his studies of William Blake,
William Boyd (1952-), the British novelist, was born in Ghana, but now lives in London. His novels include 'A good man in Africa', 1981, 'An ice cream war', 1982, 'Stars and bars', 1984, 'School ties', 1985, 'Brazzaville beach', 1990, 'The blue afternoon', 1993, 'The dream lover', 1995, 'Armadillo', 1998, and 'A haunting', 2000.
William Bunting Crump, antiquarian, published a number of books and articles on the history and topography of West Yorkshire, with particular reference to the Huddersfield and Halifax areas.
William Butler Yeats, letters to Elkin Mathews, together with some correspondence of other members of the Yeats family, typescripts of two short stories composed by Lily Yeats, and miscellaneous other material
William Butler Yeats, the Irish poet and playwright, was born on 13 June 1865 in Dublin and died on 28 January 1939 at Roquebrune, near Monaco. Jack Butler Yeats, the Irish painter and writer, his younger brother, was born on 29 August 1871 in London and died on 28 March 1957 in Dublin. For fuller details of their lives and achievements see the 'Dictionary of National Biography'. John Butler Yeats (1839-1922), the painter, was their father. For fuller details of his life and achievements see 'Who was who', Vol.2. Mary Cottenham Yeats was Jack's wife. Elizabeth Corbet Yeats and Lily Yeats, the sisters of W.B. and J.B. Yeats, were the founders of the Dun Emer (later known as the Cuala) Industries, at Dundrum, Co. Dublin. Here Elizabeth Corbet Yeats established a private press, where many of W.B. Yeats' books were published. Elkin Mathews and John Lane (1854-1925) were both publishers. For fuller details of John Lane's life and achievements see the 'Dictionary of National Biography'.
William Clayfied (1772-1837) was a businessman, wine merchant and amateur botanist based in Bristol. He travelled widely, had extensive literary and scientific interests, and was associated with the circle of Thomas Beddoes and Sir Humphry Davy. He was also a founder member of the Pneumatic Institution of Bristol, started by Beddoes in 1798.
William Guy Shepherd, the poet and translator, was born in 1935 and read English at Jesus College, Cambridge. He has worked in the electronics industry and lives in north London. He specialises as a translator of classical Latin love poetry, and some of his own poems have been published in London by the Many Press, which was founded by John Welch in 1975.
William Gaskill was born in Shipley in 1930. After experience in amateur and repertory productions and for Granada television, he began directing at the Royal Court Theatre in 1957. He worked with the Royal Shakespeare Company and was a founder-director of the National Theatre, before succeeding George Devine as Artistic Director of the English Stage Company in 1965. He was a founder of the Joint Stock Company, and from 1983 began working as a freelance director and theatre teacher. He is especially associated with productions of Restoration comedy and the work of Bertolt Brecht.
William Hanson and Company Limited, of Haley Mills, Halifax, were cotton spinners, doublers and warp manufacturers.
Sir (William) Linton Andrews was born in Hull in 1886 and was educated at Hull Grammar School and Christ's Hospital. From school he entered journalism and worked on a number of provincial newspapers, including the Sheffield Telegraph, before the First World War. He served on the Western Front with the Black Watch during the war. Afterwards he was a sub-editor on the Daily Mail and in 1923 was appointed editor of the Leeds Mercury. He remained with the Mercury until 1939 when it was decided, partly as an economy measure, to amalgamate with the Yorkshire Post. Arthur Mann, editor of the Post, retired and Sir Linton succeeded him as editor of the Yorkshire Post under whose title the two newspapers were combined. He served as editor until 1960 and during the later years of his editorship he took a leading part in the affairs of his profession's organisations. He was president of the Guild of British Newspaper Editors in 1952-1953 and was a founder member of the Press Council, and its chairman from 1955 to 1959. He was knighted in 1954. Sir Linton was a member of the court and council of the University of Leeds from 1943 to 1959, and the University awarded him an honorary LLD. in 1955. Although he retired from the editorship of The Yorkshire Post in 1960, he remained on its board of directors until 1968. He died on 27 September 1972; an obituary and photograph appeared in The Times on 29 September 1972 (p16).
William Lupton and Company Limited, of Whitehall Mills, Leeds, were woollen and worsted manufacturers and traders, established as such in 1773, but trading in various goods, particularly cloth, before this date.
William Makepeace Thackeray (1811-1863), the novelist, best-known for his 'Vanity Fair', 1847-1848. For full details of his life and work see the 'Dictionary of National Biography'.
William Norman Illingworth, educationalist, letters and papers relating to his early career as a teacher in Leeds and Birkenhead, 1923-1929
William Norman Illingworth read history at the University of Leeds, graduating in 1922, followed by a postgraduate diploma in education. He took his MA in 1925 and subsequently taught in a number of schools before becoming headmaster of Durham City Senior School in 1932. In 1947 he resigned and founded his own school, the Sangreal School, Durham, which he ran until 1971.
William Price Turner, autograph manuscript drafts for the poem 'Train of thought' with a signed typescript of the final version and some correspondence
William Price Turner, the poet, editor, and critic, was born in York on 14 August 1927. He was a Gregory Fellow in Poetry at Leeds University 1960-1962 and won the Scottish Arts Council Publication Award in 1970.
William Rhodes Limited, of Birkenshaw and Carlton Cross Mills, Leeds, were flock manufacturers, established ca. 1830.
William Thomas Astbury was born at Longton, Stoke-on-Trent and educated at Longton High School and Jesus College, Cambridge, 1917, 1919-1921. He became a Demonstrator in Physics at University College, London, and worked there as assistant to Sir William Bragg, 1921-1923, and at the Royal Institution, London, 1923-1928. In 1922 he married Frances Gould. He was appointed Lecturer, 1928-1937, and then Reader, 1937-1945, in Textile Physics at Leeds University, where he became the first Professor of Biomolecular Structure at Leeds, 1945-1961. His work, mainly supported by the Rockefeller Foundation, was primarily on the structure of biological tissues and proteins, using X-ray diffraction analysis and electron microscopy. At one time Astbury's laboratory at Leeds was at the forefront of electron microscopy studies in Britain, and he was credited with the invention of the term 'molecular biology'. Astbury served on the editorial boards of many journals (including, from its inception, 'Biochimica et Biophysica Acta') and was a founder member of the Electron Microscopy Group of the Institute of Physics. He was a consultant to several industrial firms, such as British Celanese, Courtaulds and Imperial Chemical Industries. He was elected FRS in 1940 (Croonian Lecture 1945).
William Trevor is the pseudonym of William Trevor Cox, the short story writer, novelist, and playwright, who was born on 24 May 1928 in Mitchelstown, County Cork, Ireland. For fuller details of his life and achievements see 'Who's who'.
Sir William Watson (1858-1935) was a Yorkshire poet. For a full account of his life and work see 'Who was who', Vol.3, 1929-1940.
William Willans and Company Limited, of Dundas Street, Huddersfield, were wool merchants, established in 1825-26.
William Wordsworth, correspondence between Thomas Hutchinson, William Hale White, and others concerning Wordsworth
Thomas Hutchinson, fl. 1910, of Dublin, was a literary critic who specialised in William Wordsworth's poetry.
Wole (Oluwole Akinwande) Soyinka, the Nigerian writer, was born in Ijebu Isara, Nigeria, on 13 July 1934 and educated at Abeokuta Grammar School and Government College, Ibadan; then at University College, Ibadan (1952-1954) and Leeds University (1954-1957), where he graduated in English. In 1986 he was awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature. For fuller details of his life and achievements see Who's who.
Workshop Theatre productions, photographs, programmes and an acting text of Etherege's The Man of Mode
The University of Leeds Workshop Theatre, which is closely linked with the School of English, started life in 1960 as the drama lecture room, and was transformed into the Workshop Theatre in 1967 by a new building programme. In 1981 it was given extra rented space in the Emmanuel Institute, allowing the creation of the Studio, extended technical facilities, and general teaching space, together with administrative offices. 1988 saw further developments with the creation of a permanent Chair in Drama and Theatre Studies, and the addition of a third playing area, 'The Other Space'. In 2000 the University purchased the Emmanuel Institute and redeveloped it for the Theatre, which reopened there in 2002. Since 1966 the Workshop Theatre has staged hundreds of productions of plays from all over the world, including many written locally.
Consists of assorted calendars, court and city registers, almanacs, atlases, diaries, and army lists, mostly published between the mid-18th and mid-19th centuries, with a few earlier and later works. It also includes various Post Office county directories, mostly published in the 1870s-1880s, but in the case of the London directories extending into the early 20th century.
One of two large Special Collections sections covering many aspects of Yorkshire history, topography, scientific and natural history, and society. The classification scheme of the collection is as follows: Section A covers Yorkshire as a whole, and sections B, C and D cover the North, East and West Ridings as a whole, with a few sub-divisions for the different districts. Section H covers particular towns, among which Leeds and York feature most prominently (nearly a third of the whole Collection is devoted to Leeds), though by no means exclusively. Among the handful of pre-17th century works is 'Scarborough-spaw' by Robert Wittie, dated 1667; the later works span the years 1750 to the present decade. The collection includes a good number of periodicals and series, among which are publications of the Thoresby Society.
Yorkshire Association of Students of the Institution of Civil Engineers, correspondence together with some related documents, 1914-1915
The Yorkshire Association of Students of the Institution of Civil Engineers used to hold lecture meetings on premises belonging to the Leeds Philosophical and Literary Society. This collection was found amongst the LPLS papers deposited in the Library in 1975.
St Paul's Gallery was opened in 1979 as a continuation of Park Street Gallery, using the same premises on St Paul's Street, Leeds. From 1984 the Gallery shared Stowe House, Bishopgate Street, with studio space provided by Leeds Art Space Society. St Paul's Gallery closed in 1987. Yorkshire Contemporary Art Group was formed in 1984 to devise and administer art projects in Yorkshire and Humberside, and to develop opportunities for artists. YCAG was a co-operation between St Paul's Gallery, Yorkshire Printmakers Ltd. and Leeds Art Space Society.
The Yorkshire Geological Society, was founded in 1837, and its first President, from 1837-1858, was the Earl of Fitzwilliam. It is an internationally recognised scientific organisation with an interest in all aspects of geology, with particular reference ro the North of England and surrounding areas.
The Yorkshire Land and Warping Company had a registered office at Thorne near York between about 1875 and 1947.
The Yorkshire Naturalists Union was formed in the mid-nineteenth century as a federation of natural history societies and individual naturalists, from across the county. Its first president was Henry Clifton Sorby.
Works dating from the 19th century to the early 20th century. Subjects include insects, moths and butterflies, shells and shellfish, birds, anatomy and physiology. A periodical also contained within this collection is the 'Memoirs of the Wernerian Natural History Society' (1808-1837). The collection also contains 40 volumes of Sir William Jardine's 19th century 'The Naturalist's Library', which is divided into four main sections: Ornithology, Mammalia, Entomology and Ichthyology.