Leeds University Library

Get ahead with Flying Start

Published Thursday 15 September 2016

Flying start

Workshops and resources for new students

Studying at university for the first time can be a challenge for new students.  The skills needed can be very different from school or college.

Skills@Library's Flying Start resource is available to help you study effectively and independently.

Flying Start features videos and tips from Leeds students - a valuable source of practical advice on coping with the first year. 

Free, 30 minute workshops will also be available in the first few weeks of term.

Topics, dates and times of the 'Flying Start to...' workshops are listed below. All the sessions take place in the Laidlaw Library teaching rooms on the first floor.

There's no need to book these, just turn up - we'd love to see you!

Tuesday 20 September
12.15pm
Flying Start to... referencing

Wednesday 21 September
12.15pm
Flying Start to... making the most of your lectures

Thursday 22 September
12.15pm
Flying Start to... managing your time in Semester 1

Monday 26 September
12.15pm
Flying Start to... referencing 

Tuesday 27 September
12.15pm
Flying Start to... referencing

Wednesday 28 September
12.15pm
Flying Start to... managing your time in Semester 1

Thursday 29 September
12.15pm
Flying Start to... making the most of your lectures

Friday 30 September
12.15pm
Flying Start to... referencing

Tuesday 4 October
12.15pm
Flying Start to... making the most of your lectures

Wednesday 5 October
12.15pm
Flying Start to... referencing

Thursday 6 October
12.15pm
Flying Start to... managing your time in Semester 1