Skip to main content

Meet the teams

Learning Development Team and Skills@Library

Our service

The Learning Development Team provides the Skills@Library service for taught students at the University of Leeds. Based in Laidlaw Library, the team offers a range of ways to improve academic skills: through online resources, workshops and one to one support. The service operates throughout the academic year.

See a sample of the services and support Skills@Library offer students and staff.

How we can help

The Skills@Library service is offered to undergraduates and taught postgraduates (Masters courses). The support topics cover a full range of academic skills, including writing essays, delivering presentations, revision, critical thinking, academic writing, note taking, maths and searching for the right information.

Contact the Learning Development Team to make an appointment, book onto a workshop, send feedback or to make an enquiry.

Our Learning Advisors

The Learning Development Team also works with academic and teaching staff to provide in-curriculum academic skills support. This includes providing lectures and workshops to support particular programmes of study.

Amy Allhouse – English; History; Medieval Studies; PRHS; IDEA – s.h.hsu@leeds.ac.uk
Natalie Bedford – LUBS – n.r.bedford@leeds.ac.uk
Sunny Dhillon – Chemistry; Mathematics; Physics; Food Science – d.s.dhillon@leeds.ac.uk
Kasia Drozdziak – Earth & Environment; Geography, Transport Studies – k.a.drozdziak@leeds.ac.uk
Anika Easy – Computing; Engineering (Chemical, Civil, Electrical and Mechanical)  – a.easy@leeds.ac.uk
Jiani Liu – Languages, Cultures & Societies – j.h.liu@leeds.ac.uk
Rachel Myers – Biological Sciences – r.a.myers@leeds.ac.uk
Angela Newton – Social Sciences – a.j.newton@leeds.ac.uk
Simon Robinson – Dentistry; Healthcare; Psychology – s.d.robinson@leeds.ac.uk
Michelle Schneider – Design; Fine Art; Media & Comms; Music; PCI – m.r.schneider@leeds.ac.uk
Emily Wheeler – Medicine – e.wheeler@leeds.ac.uk

Our Mathematics & Statistics Support Advisors

Anja Komatar – Mathematics – a.komatar@leeds.ac.uk
Rizwan Nawaz – Statistics – n.r.nawaz@leeds.ac.uk